Quimby Memorial Library: Research Assistance: RESEARCH ASSISTANCE

RESEARCHING THROUGH QML: HOW WE CAN HELP

Quimby Memorial Library supports the research efforts of SWC students, faculty, and alumni, by providing access to databases of peer reviewed academic literature, curating resources on research methodology, processes, and ethics, and offering one-on-one help with librarians skilled in seeking out resources, aiding in search term formulation, and reaching for academic standards in research.

These pages offer information, support, and resources, to assist in key phases of the research process.

GETTING STARTED

In academics, the term "knowledge" refers to information that is accepted as being reflective and predictive of reality, based on evidence that is persuasive. That evidence is produced through the process of research, wherein proven methods of discovery are honestly and transparently applied. When evidence suggests that a claim is likely true or an intervention is likely effective, that new "knowledge" is presented by the researcher(s) to the greater academic community, where it is subject to review and where the methods used to derive it can be repeated in subsequent research designs. Research is a scientifically rigorous, communal, and often long process, but it all begins with an individual's curiosity and/or desire to help others.

But how do we turn curiosity or desire into a viable research question? Collected here are tools and supportive resources to assist in the conceptualization of your research focus and the earliest stages of research study design.

DEVELOPING A RESEARCH QUESTION

Inquiries, which ultimately shape and guide a research study, begin as informal, natural curiosities, born from our experiences, observations, frustrations, and passions. "What would happen if...?" "Is there a better way of doing this?" and "Why does this seem to be the case?" etc. To determine if such a naturally occurring inquiry will be suitable for research, compare it to these attributes of an effective research question (adapted from Hissong, Lape, & Bailey, 2015):

1. It rests on a rationale, addressing the question “How will this study contribute to knowledge of my field?”

2. It is relevant, important, and/or significant to the field, addressing the questions “Who cares?” and “So what?”

3. It can be studied by identifying specific variables that address questions of purpose, such as cause and effect, discovery of meaning, or in-depth understanding of a specific condition or perspective.

4. It is feasible or “doable,” meaning that it is manageable in scope and can be conducted with available resources, expertise, and skills.

5. It is appropriate and can be conducted with available access to participants, addressing such questions as whose participation is appropriate, where the study can take place, and how consent can be obtained.

6. It is ethical, meaning that it can be conducted within the standards of care that protect participants from harm or undue risk.

This video presents a detailed example of how to refine your curiosity into a question that meets the above criteria.

BEGINNING WITH A STATEMENT, RATHER THAN A QUESTION

Sometimes your curiosity does not take the shape of a question. Sometimes, a collection of interests or intersecting focuses form your initial inspiration for discovery. You can frame such interests/focuses in a way that sets up a trajectory for research by plugging them into the following structure:

“I want to study __________ in order to ____________ because ________________ .”

Inserting an initial idea, interest, or passion into this structure will guide you in developing a statement that reflects focus, motivation, and expectation. Take your time and be sure to populate these fields honestly and in a way that articulates what you are concerned with where you would like to go from here. The statement you end up with can be adapted as a research question, a hypothesis, or statement of the purpose of an eventual research study.

CONCEPT MAPPING

Once you have identified and refined your focus into one that will lend itself to the development of a structured, researchable inquiry, an important next step is to identify the concepts that make up your inquiry and the relationships between them. Identifying interconnected concepts that construct your curiosity, motivations, and intentions, sets up your research focus for the continued scrutiny and refinement it will undergo throughout the research process. An effective tool for this identification is concept mapping. The brief tutorial below demonstrates this tool and its value to the early stages of research.

	MIND MAPPING (University of Arizona)
	This interactive site is an excellent method for digging into concept mapping - referred to here as "Mind Mapping".

RESEARCHING THROUGH DATABASES

QML provides two key databases for researching academic literature:

Taylor & Francis Online provides access to greater than 5 million articles from peer reviewed journals. Beginning your research process by entering keywords in T&F will allow you to:

try out and refine your keywords;
find synonyms and related terms, which can open additional avenues for resource discovery;
get an initial sense of how much literature exists on your topic and determine whether broadening or narrowing your topic might yield more relevant results;
perceive gaps in the existing literature, which represent opportunities for new knowledge creation, via your novel research idea;
access the most contemporary peer reviewed literature on your topic

EBSCOhost provides access to greater than 200,000 ebooks, including contemporary literature on art therapy and counseling practice, theory, and research. Feeding your keywords into EBSCO will allow you to:

refine your keywords
find synonyms and related terms for searching
access books which collect contemporary research findings and offer practical/professional applications of knowledge
consult sources which present, discuss, and compare peer reviewed literature, in language that is often more spacious and readable and less technical than that of academic articles

FORMULATING KEYWORDS

On the Getting Started tab, we discussed developing a research question and assessing the researchability of that question. Now in order to explore how published academic literature addresses and contextualizes your research question, you will need to break the question down into keywords. Effective keywords define the main concepts present in your question. Here's an example of how to distill a research question into keywords suitable for searching a database:

Question:

Is bibliotherapy an effective approach toward treating adolescent clients with depression?

Keywords:

bibliotherapy, adolescents, depression

In the above example, keywords define the parameters of the question by addressing:

what? (what you want to learn about; the variable you would like to apply: bibliotherapy)

who? (to whom would you like to introduce that variable? what population provides specific context for the what? adolescents)

why? (why apply this variable to this population? what problem provides motivation for the application and/or means for measuring effectiveness? depression)

When you have arrived at keywords, which you feel define your inquiries parameters and provide the specifics necessary to retrieve relevant results, you are ready to enter those keywords into a database search field. The video below can help you get started with that step:

REFINING KEYWORDS

If your keywords are not returning the volume or quality of relevant results that you were expecting, it could be because you are utilizing keywords which reflect outdated terminology or perhaps terms which are used in popular discourse but not used in professional and/or academic contexts. In this case, your next step will be define synonyms and/or related terms, which will open additional channels toward discovery and connect you with a greater volume and variety of relevant resources. This video will introduce you to methods for using database functions to assist in finding synonyms for and terms related to your initial keywords

VIDEO TUTORIAL PENDING

	HOW TO GENERATE SEARCH TERMS (University of Texas Libraries)
	Want a hand defining and organizing related terms before bringing them to database searched? This interactive tool, provided by University of Texas Libraries, is a great option.

MORE TIPS FOR FINDING USEFUL RESOURCES

Let's say you have defined your keywords through concept mapping, and refined your language by locating and adapting related terms and synonyms, however, results returned to your searches continue to be scarce. The likely reason for the small number of results is that your research topic is novel and has not been directly explored in academic literature. In the early stages of research, where it's so important to examine what studies have already been conducted and what potentialities they've defined, encountering a deficit of material to dive into can be frustrating. However, you shouldn't perceive it as a dead end or a signal to abandon your focus. Here are a few tips for getting over the stumbling block of scant literature on your topic:

Explore reference sections. If your search returns a small number of results (let's say only two articles are returned, which look relevant and useful to your research), one thing you can do is look to the reference sections, at the end of those articles. Every academic article will end with a comprehensive list of all pre-existing literature that the authors utilized in compiling a base of knowledge on their research topic, supporting their hypotheses, etc. These references will often include a wealth of material that could be directly relevant to your topic but which did not turn up in your initial database search. This brief video will demonstrate how to find additional literature through this method and what your next steps will be:
Explore secondary sources. In general academic writing, the primary source (which describes the process and methodology behind producing evidence for or against a hypothesis, usually written by the researcher(s) who executed that process) is considered the best source to apply to your literature review. However, if such primary sources on your desired topic are scant, consider taking a step back and exploring secondary sources, which may present useful summaries and applications of original research and provide windows through which primary sources might be identified. For example:
- Ebooks often synthesize arguments around academic research and/or apply new knowledge to clinical or practical environments. Ebooks are a great resource for introducing oneself to new knowledge, as they are usually written in more plainspoken language than are academic papers. Just be sure that any ebook you consult is directly engaging with academic sources and providing citations in text and in references sections, at the end of each chapter.
- Newspapers, magazines, and websites are similarly useful for discovering primary research in practical, readable, and understandable formats, as they often report on the findings of original research. Once again, look for citations pointing to primary sources. In all cases of secondary resource engagement, it is best practice to find, review, and ultimately cite the primary source in your own academic writing.
Explore other platforms. While QML aims to provide article and ebook databases, which offer an abundance of useful resources, we encourage you to explore the wider world of information, to ensure they are uncovering all material related to your topic or inquiry. The following places are recommended for searching sources beyond our curated digital databases.
- Google Scholar is a window into academic papers hosted on a multitude of databases. If a PDF of an article's full text is hosted freely online, Google Scholar will helpfully provide a link. When it does not, though, you can always send a citation or URL for any article to librarians at QML, and we will track down the full text for you.
- ResearchGate is a website which collects records of and key information about academic papers. Occasionally the full text of an article is posted on ResearchGate, even when it is not though, ResearchGate helpfully provides bibliographies of related research and an option to directly request access to full texts from authors.
- QML's Catalog is another solid resource for discovering syntheses of contemporary research and leads on primary sources. Like our digital holdings, our physical collections are thoughtfully curated to include items that focus on academic literature, current theory and trends, and practical/clinical applications of knowledge. If you find a book in our library that meets your research needs, contact us at askthelibrary@swc.edu to discuss access options. We accommodate remote students by mailing items and scanning key sections and chapters to PDF.

EVALUATING RESOURCES

How can we determine a resource's sincerity and utility? How can we determine if the information put forward by a resource is valid? Determining validity of your potential sources is a crucial early step in the research process. After all, you can't build meaningful, useful new knowledge, unless you are starting from a foundation of honesty and transparency. But how can we make such determinations without personally repeating every method, testing every claim?

This page will offer tips for discerning whether a resource is suitable for your academic research, based on the following criteria: currency, authority, accuracy, and transparency. Also included is information on evaluating websites and a video which aims to clarify the process of peer review and its importance to academic research. Click below to jump to:

Currency
Authority
Transparency
Evaluating Websites
Peer Review
The CRAAP Test

CURRENCY

When first encountering a resource, via a QML database or anywhere else, it's important to note the date of publication. Recently published material will be more useful for your research, because:

It represents better than earlier resources a contemporary state of the knowledge on your topic of interest
It engages with and builds from earlier research and assists us in understanding what knowledge from earlier research remains evident and relevant and which is outdated.
Its concepts, foci, research designs, sampling (when applicable), and findings are presented through contemporary cultural, social, and political contexts, and thus its knowledge is more applicable to practice and subsequent research, within those same contexts.

To determine the currency of a resource:

Refer to the resource's citation: the year of publication will appear in parentheses just after the authors' names.

Devine, S. (2023). Therapeutic impact of public art exhibits during COVID-19. Art Therapy: Journal of the American Art Therapy Association, 40(1). 50-54. https://doi.org/10.1080/07421656.2022.2131359

Consult the resource's database record (the screen that displays information about the resource and links you to its full text). The date of publication for an article in Taylor & Francis, for instance, will usually be between the volume and issue numbers of its containing journal, as seen here:

Just be careful: often a date of online publication will be prominently displayed in an article's database record, and this date will vary from the actual date of the article's writing and publication. If you see the words "published online" accompanying a date, disregard that date and look to other publication information.

Look to the resource itself. The PDF of an article, for instance, will include publication data at the top or bottom of its first page.

Use a database filter to return only contemporary results. Want to bypass all of this citation, record, and resource scrutiny? Simply filter the results of your search by date range, to ensure you are reviewing only current literature. This brief tutorial will show you how:

Additional Notes on Currency:

What qualifies as "contemporary" in research literature?

The answer to this question varies, based on the subject area, among other factors. Generally social science research places particular importance on material published within the last five years, due the relatively quick pace at which research is built upon and knowledge created in that field. The best practice is to consult the instructor who assigned your research project. They will offer date parameters specific to the assignment's focus.

What if I want to use an older resource?

Even in social science research, plenty of 10, 20, and 30 year old resources remain valuable for their contributions. Some texts are considered foundational, as they introduced important new knowledge, which facilitated and continues to facilitate further research. Such resources can be beneficial to engage with in your writing. Just be sure to review assignment guidelines and consult with your instructor, to confirm that you will meet the paper's source requirements.

Want to see what recently published texts engage with and build upon an earlier/foundational resource? Here's a trick:

AUTHORITY

A quick and easy indicator of a resource's likely utility for your research is the evident authority of its author(s). In this context, authority refers to the discernible credentials and qualifications of the author(s) and the institutional support that facilitated their research.

To determine the authority of a resource's author:

Consult the resource itself: On the title page of most academic articles, the author's credentials are listed right after their names. A current, popular method for displaying author credentials and qualifications is pictured in the below example, where lowercase letters act like footnotes, linking to fully listed credentials a little lower on the page:

Another method for determining an author's qualification is to view their full credits and credentials, by clicking on their Orcid ID in Taylor & Francis. Here's how to do that:

Additional notes on authority:

Can't somebody do good research without formal education, fancy credentials, and institutional affiliation?

Yes. The absences of letters following a name, a long bibliography of pre-published works, and/or institutional affiliation do not automatically disqualify a researcher's work from academic review. However, these criteria serve as effective shortcuts for determining authority, and in their absence, it may take additional research to begin making this determination. For example, when affiliation with an accredited institution of higher learning is listed, we know that that the research study's methods and findings passed a standardized review process by an institutional review board (IRB). When no such affiliation is listed, we must actively search for evidence that similar qualified external guidance was utilized and academic rigors applied.

TRANSPARENCY

Regardless of the evident authority of its authors and the contemporaneousness of its publication, you must ultimately read and review critically a research study, to determine its usefulness to your own research, the validity of its methods, and the truthfulness of its claims. Transparency is the most important quality to identify in your critical reading of a resource. The concept of transparency in research applies to:

METHODOLOGY: Is the process that the researcher employs in testing the hypothesis or addressing the research question clearly and thoroughly described? Are formal research methods applied? Is enough information about the process shared to facilitate its replication by subsequent researchers?
LITERATURE REVIEW: A valid research study will always refer extensively to pre-existing research and literature on its research topic, in order to establish the contemporary consensus of knowledge that contextualizes its own research and/or evidence specific gaps in knowledge, which its own research seeks to address. When evaluating a resource...
- First confirm that previously published literature has been engaged with. A quick look at the references page at the end of an article or chapter will show you how many sources were consulted and give you data on their currency as well as on the journals in which they appear.
- Next note the type of resources referenced. Review the citations provided in the references section. If you are seeing a healthy majority of research papers, published in academic journals, then chances are good that the authors were rigorous in doing their preliminary research and the study they subsequently executed was well-informed. A prevalence of less scholarly sources in the references section (e.g. websites and blog posts; magazines and news outlet, which are more likely to be relating research findings secondhand and with less transparency and context, or even books, which may or may not describe peer reviewed research), should be seen as a red flag.
LIMITATIONS and CONFLICTS OF INTEREST: Any adequately transparent academic paper will detail the limitations of its methods, scope, design, etc. and clearly express any conflicts of interest that might be interpreted as influencing a study's focus or findings. If no conflicts of interest are noted, it's usually safe to assume that none exist. If no limitations are identified, however, this should be viewed as a red flag. All research efforts have their limits. Transparency about what those limits are must be expressed in tandem with findings, to help subsequent researchers understand how limitations could have affected results and what to consider specifically when conducting similar research.

EVALUATING WEBSITES

Websites are a convenient and free way to access information and a platform that empowers traditionally disenfranchised voices to share their ideas broadly. It's no secret, however, that the internet is fraught with bias, agenda, disinformation, and counterfeit facts, identities, and affiliations. When a website is presenting material that you would like to use in your research, consider the following criteria in evaluating the website, before you begin citing it.

How accurate is this website?

Is there a bibliography or a reference list?
Does the content make sense and match other sources that you have looked at?

Look at the authority of the website:

Who is the author?
- A reputable organization?
- An easily identifiable individual who has written more on this topic?
- Is the author affiliated with an academic institution?
What is the URL?
- A .com (commercial) site can be published by anyone
- A .edu or .gov site indicates affiliation with an institution whose internal standards and modes of accountability are discoverable.

What is the context of the writing?

Is the author writing for personal or political reasons?
Are the arguments balanced?
Is there an evidence of a bias?

How current is the website?

Are the web documents dated?
When was the site last updated?
Look at the date of the items listed on the reference list, how old are they?
Are the links on the page broken?

What is the design like?

Is it professional looking and easy to navigate?

PEER REVIEW

(Under Construction)

The CRAAP Test

The CRAAP Test
The CRAAP test contains a series of questions that will help you determine if a sources is trustworthy and appropriate for academic research. CRAAP is an acronym for Currency, Relevance, Authority, Accuracy, and Purpose. By employing the CRAAP test at the onset of resource evaluation, you can avoid sinking time into engagement with unreliable information. Click to access a PDF of the CRAAP test.

RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

Methodology in research refers to the mechanisms employed toward producing evidence for the accuracy/inaccuracy of a hypothesis or the efficacy/inefficacy of an intervention. While there is a multitude of methods, which can be used to test test hypotheses and explore curiosities, these methods are usually broken down into two categories: quantitative and qualitative.

QUANTITATIVE METHODS
Characteristics	Collects data that is numeric or can be assigned numeric values Uses empirical methods to investigate a hypothesis, a possible correlation, or a research question Analyzes data through statistical tests Efficient for producing data that can be confidently generalized to greater populations Objectivity is idealized Efforts are made to eliminate researcher bias
Types of Inquiries Addressed	Inquiries which can be addressed with numeric data: How many...? What percentage...? What is the difference between...? What is the measurement of effectiveness...?	Seeking evidence of correlation and cause and effect relationships: What percentage of people who do one thing also do this other thing? What measurable effect, if any, will this therapeutic intervention have on clients with depression?
Types of Quantitative Research	Descriptive (used to describe/quantify variables, to collect data on the existing status of things. Example: How many New Mexico residents smoke?) Correlation (seeks to evidence relation of variables to each other. Example: How many clients reporting symptoms of depression also report insomnia?) Quasi-Experimental (aims to demonstrate a cause/effect relationship between variables, without manipulating variables. Example: Two communities are similar in population, demographics, economics, education, culture, and diet, but one is experiencing hight levels of substance abuse. Given all the similarities, any variable identified between the communities could evidently correlate to the other variable of substance abuse.) Experimental (in which one variable is manipulated in a controlled environment, to assess causal relationships between that variable and other variables being observed. Example: Stress is monitored via measurement of cortisol levels in one group of participants who are subjected to an art therapy intervention and compared to cortisol levels measured in another group not subjected to such an intervention.)
Tools	Likert Scales Questionnaires and surveys with numeric responses Elements of experimentation (control group, experimental group...) Software for statistical analysis

QUALITATIVE METHODS
Characteristics	Collects data concerned with meaning and meaning-making Subjectivity is embraced (the researcher is the instrument of inquiry), but bias is accounted for via maximal transparency (the researcher's background, experience, etc. are laid bare within discussion of the research design) Collects data that cannot be quantified or for which quantification is not helpful
Types of Inquiries Addressed	Inquiries concerned with meaning: What is the experience of individuals within this refugee group? How do people within a certain cultural context regard sex?	Inquiries into the structures of human experience and commonalities/generalizations detectable in that experience: How do people find romantic partnership, in the interconnected world of social media? How does an art-based assessment process influence whether clients will commit to therapy?
Types of Quantitative Research	Case Study (systematic analysis of a particular individual or entity, to make sense of all aspects of it. Example: a thorough analysis of a client's therapeutic experience and trajectory, via progress notes and researcher/therapist observations) Ethnography (inquiry into a culture or group, via immersive field study. Example: What accounts for the conviction espoused by online proponents of flat earth theory?) Phenomenology (systematic inquiry into the essence of a phenomenon (experience, object, event, disorder, etc. Example: What components of individuals' experiences of Stockholm Syndrome are universal?)
Tools	Interviews Questionnaires and surveys focus groups client/progress notes

When determining what method of research you need to employ, let your inquiry guide your methodology. Ask yourself:

Am I concerned with statistics or meanings?
Do I want to produce data that can be generalized to greater populations?
Am I looking for evidence of a cause/effect relationship between variables?
Am I looking to better understand a certain cultural response to an issue or idea?

An honest look at your own curiosity and its fundamental elements and goals will lead to the right methodology for your research.

QML RESOURCES ON RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

Collected below are searchable journals, articles, and ebooks available to students and faculty of Southwestern College, via QML's databases.

You can retrieve credentials for accessing articles and journals from Taylor & Francis and ebooks from EBSCOhost by clicking here.

Need more information, instructions for access, or tips on databases use? Click here to learn more about Taylor & Francis and here to learn more about EBSCOhost.

JOURNALS

International Journal of Social Research Methodology by Taylor & Francis
Publication Date: 1998 - Current
This searchable journal features high quality methodological discussions which typically draw on a mix of academic and practice-based research in professional and service settings, and those considering the relationship between the two.
The journal platforms on-going and emerging methodological debates across a range of approaches, both qualitative and quantitative and engages with philosophical, theoretical, ethical, political and practical issues, in the social sciences.
Qualitative Research in Psychology by Taylor & Francis
Publication Date: 2004 - Current
This searchable journal is a leading forum for qualitative researchers in all areas of psychology and features innovative and pioneering work that moves the field forward. The journal has published state-of-the-art debates on specific research approaches, methods and analytic techniques and the role of qualitative research in specific fields such as psychosocial studies and feminist psychology.

ARTICLES

On the importance of the dynamics of humour and comedy for constructionism and reflexivity in social science research methodology by Sharon Lockyer & Simon Weaver
Publication Date: 2022
This article examines the importance of humour and comedy as valuable tools in qualitative social science research methodology. It makes the original contribution of utilizing humour and comedy theory, and critical understandings of both their macro and micro mechanisms and functions, to argue that humour and comedy can accommodate, and indeed, expedite, social science research methodology in relation to two key principles: constructionism and reflexivity.
The Better to Break and Bleed With: Research, Violence, and Trauma by Ariana Markowitz
Publication Date: 2021
This article is part of the small but growing methodology literature on emotion and trauma in social science research, particularly in relation to studying violence. I argue that, on top of shame around mental health in general and a reluctance to turn our gaze toward ourselves amidst the distress and suffering of our research participants, the weight of positivism in academia, even on those researchers who rebuke the paradigm, silences our ability to engage with what we see, hear, do, and feel as we gather information. Breaking this silence, rather than being unscientific or self-indulgent, promotes clarity in the theories,concepts, and methods we develop to make sense of violence as a social phenomenon.
Indigenous research methodology – weaving a research interface by Ryder, C., et al.
Publication Date: 2019
‘Research at the interface’ has been discussed as an Indigenous research methodology for researchers to contextualise and inform their research practices, between Indigenous and Western systems of knowledge. In this article we address the significance of ‘research at the interface’ for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander research, as an exciting opportunity for innovation to ensure strength, self-determination and resilience for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities engaged in research. We also introduce weaving a methodology for ‘research at the interface’ as a process for conceptualising Indigenous and quantitative research methodologies at the interface.
Digital story grammar: a quantitative methodology for narrative analysis by Andrade, S. B. & Andersen, D.
Publication Date: 2019
This article examines the emerging digital story grammar (DSG), a methodology that combines narrative theory and computerized text analysis. The methodology offers new ways of identifying patterns in narrative identity work and examining how these patterns relate to social structures such as gender and social class.
The article provides an overview of the method and demonstrates its potential by applying it to interviews with young people from the Timescapes Qualitative Longitudinal Data Archive and addressing four research questions: Who are in the young people’s stories (characters)? What are their narratives about (domains of experiences)? When do they taking place (temporality)? How are the narratives told (sense of agency)? Among other findings, we observed that young people with middle-class backgrounds convey a stronger sense of agency than their working-class peers, and we show how this correlates with the ways in which they navigate school-to-work trajectories.
Interaction of quantitative and qualitative methodology in mixed methods research: integration and/or combination by Matović, N. & Ovesni, K.
Publication Date: 2021
The interaction of quantitative and qualitative methodology in the mixed methods research (MMR) is analysed in a context of distinctions of the meanings between the terms typically used for description, combination, and integration. The interaction in the phases that precede the results, and their interpretation is considered. As an indicator of the quality of interaction, the identification of the two groups of procedures in the practice is used: procedures taken from quantitative and qualitative methodology and MMR-specific procedures. In total, 65 mixed methods articles (21 journals, 12 years) have been analysed. Results suggested that interactions that induce integration of quantitative and qualitative methodologies are more prevalent at the level of determination of the purpose and MMR model, than as a part of the research questions, and especially as a part of the research method. The findings are discussed in the context of the description and the possibility of improving the quality of interaction of the mentioned methodologies in MMR.

EBOOKS

Supporting Research in Counselling and Psychotherapy: Qualitative, Quantitative, and Mixed Methods Research by Sofie Bager-Charleson; Alistair McBeath
ISBN: 9783031139413
Publication Date: 2023
This textbook aims to support counsellors, psychotherapists, and counselling psychologists to develop a creative research-informed practice. Following from the authors' earlier title Enjoying Research, the book covers qualitative, quantitative, pluralistic, and mixed methods approaches with a special focus on diversity, researcher support and innovative methods. The book explores research during critical stages like question formulation, data gathering, ethics, analysis, and presentation of the findings. It mixes theory with illustrative real-life, 'how-to-do-it'-examples and reader activities. International experts contribute with examples ranging from arts-based ‘decolonising' research to creative use of outcome- and survey-based approaches – with a shared interest in dialogues between ‘scientific' and ‘aesthetic' (or intuitive, embodied) means of knowing. This is essential reading for anyone looking for a book that combines self-awareness with analytical and practical skills in counselling and psychotherapy related research.
Interactional Studies of Qualitative Research Interviews by Kathryn Roulston (Editor)
ISBN: 9789027202222
Publication Date: 2019-03-25
This edited collection unpacks the interactional dynamics of qualitative research interviews from studies conducted in education, second language acquisition, applied linguistics and disability studies from scholars in the UK, USA, Italy, Portugal and Korea. These studies explore the interactional details of how the identities of researchers and their participants matter for the generation of interview data, as well as the kinds of discursive resources and social actions that occur in tandem with the production of data for research projects. Given the widespread use of qualitative interviews for social research, this book provides a robust contribution to what Tim Rapley has called the “social studies of interviewing.” This book is relevant to audiences across disciplines who use the interview as a primary research method.
New Directions in Theorizing Qualitative Research by Denzin, N. K. & Salvo, J.
ISBN: 9781975501761
Publication Date: 2020-03-03
This volume on arts-based research explores the transformative power of arts for qualitative inquiry and beyond. The chapters address multiple approaches from within arts-based research and suggest that art can be mobilized to reorient the political, especially when we find the political aim straying from its proper target of truth and justice. Artistic representation is never an end in itself, for the goal is to change the way we think about people and their lives. Arts-based research makes the world visible in new and different ways, in ways ordinary scholarly writing does not allow. The Arts develops a utopian idea of belonging, illustrating how moments of history, biography, culture, politics and lived experience come together in the aesthetic. Ultimately, the content of the book examines how artistic insights resonate in arts-based research, something that not only gives us criteria for assessing the quality of ethical engagement in arts-based research practice, but also provides a conceptual framework for living more just lives through art.
Rocking Qualitative Social Science by Ashley T. Rubin
ISBN: 9781503611399
Publication Date: 2021-08-03
Unlike other athletes, the rock climber tends to disregard established norms of style and technique, doing whatever she needs to do to get to the next foothold. This figure provides an apt analogy for the scholar at the center of this unique book. In Rocking Qualitative Social Science, Ashley Rubin provides an entertaining treatise, corrective vision, and rigorously informative guidebook for qualitative research methods that have long been dismissed in deference to traditional scientific methods. Recognizing the steep challenges facing many, especially junior, social science scholars who struggle to adapt their research models to narrowly defined notions of'right,'Rubin argues that properly nourished qualitative research can generate important, creative, and even paradigm-shifting insights. This book is designed to help people conduct good qualitative research, talk about their research, and evaluate other scholars'work. Drawing on her own experiences in research and life, Rubin provides tools for qualitative scholars, synthesizes the best advice, and addresses the ubiquitous problem of anxiety in academia. Ultimately, this book argues that rigorous research can be anything but rigid.
Research Methods in Indigenous Contexts by Arnold Groh
ISBN: 9783319727745
Publication Date: 2018-02-12
This forward-looking resource offers readers a modern contextual framework for conducting social science research with indigenous peoples. Foundational chapters summarize current UN-based standards for indigenous rights and autonomy, with their implications for research practice. Coverage goes on to detail minimally-invasive data-gathering methods, survey current training and competency issues, and consider the scientist's role in research, particularly as a product of his/her own cultural background. From these guidelines and findings, students and professionals have a robust base for carrying out indigenous research that is valid and reliable as well as respectful and ethical. This book is an important reference benefitting a wide audience, including students and researchers in the social sciences, humanities, and psychology.
The Theoretical Framework in Phenomenological Research: Development and Application by Henrik Gert Larsen; Philip Adu
ISBN: 9780367540524
Publication Date: 2022
The Theoretical Framework in Phenomenological Research: Development and Application is an introduction to phenomenology in which the authors overview its origin, main ideas and core concepts. They show the application and relevancy of phenomenological tenets in practical qualitative research, as well as demonstrate how aligning theory and method enhances research credibility. In this detailed but digestible explanation of phenomenological theories, the authors explore the ideas of the main founders pertaining to the meaning of perceived reality and the meaning of being, and how these founders articulated their methodologies. In doing so, The Theoretical Framework in Phenomenological Research fills the well-documented gap between theory and practice within phenomenology by providing a much-needed bridge between the foundational literature and applied research on the subject, focusing equally on theory and practice. The book includes practical demonstrations on how to create theoretical/conceptual frameworks in applied phenomenological research.
Handbook of Narrative Inquiry: Mapping a Methodology by D. Jean Clandinin
ISBN: 9781412915625
Publication Date: 2006
Composed by international researchers, the Handbook of Narrative Inquiry: Mapping a Methodology is the first comprehensive and interdisciplinary overview of the developing methodology of narrative inquiry. The Handbook outlines the historical development and philosophical underpinnings of narrative inquiry as well as describes different forms of narrative inquiry. This one-of-a-kind volume offers an emerging map of the field and encourages further dialogue, discussion, and experimentation as the field continues to develop. Key Features: Offers coverage of various disciplines and viewpoints from around the world: Leading international contributors draw upon narrative inquiry as conceptualized in Anthropology, Sociology, Psychology, and Philosophy.Illustrates the range of forms of narrative inquiry: Both conceptual and practical in-depth descriptions of narrative inquiry are presented.
Applying Indigenous Research Methods: Storying with Peoples and Communities by Sweeney Windchief (Editor); Timothy San Pedro (Editor)
ISBN: 9781138049062
Publication Date: 2019
Applying Indigenous Research Methods focuses on the question of'How'Indigenous Research Methodologies (IRMs) can be used and taught across Indigenous studies and education. In this collection, Indigenous scholars address the importance of IRMs in their own scholarship, while focusing conversations on the application with others. Each chapter is co-authored to model methods rooted in the sharing of stories to strengthen relationships, such as yarning, storywork, and others. The chapters offer a wealth of specific examples, as told by researchers about their research methods in conversation with other scholars, teachers, and community members. Applying Indigenous Research Methods is an interdisciplinary showcase of the ways IRMs can enhance scholarship in fields including education, Indigenous studies, settler colonial studies, social work, qualitative methodologies, and beyond.

ETHICS

Ethical practices in research and academic writing are not only about fairness but accuracy. Dishonesty in data collection and reporting, failure to adequately credit sources… such approaches serve only to distance one’s scholarly work from truth and thus from usefulness. Aspiring to ethical standards maintains the soul of one’s work and accurately contextualizes its contributions within the wider world of scholarship and scientific knowledge. The following resources will help you define and achieve these standards.

___________________________________

CODES AND POLICIES FOR RESEARCH ETHICS

AATA (2013). Ethical Principles for Art Therapists, Section 9: Responsibility to research participants
ACA (2014) Code of Ethics. Section G, Research and Publication
APA (2016). Ethical Principles of Psychologists and Code of Conduct, Section 8:Research and Publication
APA (2021). Plagiarism and Self-Plagiarism Policy Summary
Singapore Statement on Research Integrity

QML RESOURCES ON RESEARCH ETHICS

Collected below are searchable journals, articles, and ebooks available to students and faculty of Southwestern College, via QML's databases.

You can retrieve credentials for accessing articles and journals from Taylor & Francis and ebooks from EBSCOhost by clicking here.

Need more information, instructions for access, or tips on databases use? Click here to learn more about Taylor & Francis and here to learn more about EBSCOhost.

JOURNALS

Accountability in Research: Ethics, Integrity and Policy by Taylor & Francis
Publication Date: 1989-Current
This searchable journal of academic articles is devoted to the examination and critical analysis of practices and systems for promoting integrity in the conduct of research.
Click the Journal's title to search its 30+ years of content.

ARTICLES

Ethical considerations in social work research by Sobočan, A. M., Bertotti, T., & Strom-Gottfried, K.
Publication Date: 2019
Ethical dilemmas are inherent throughout the research process, from the choice about what to study and how to study it through to analysis and dissemination of findings. Attention to these considerations is especially important for researchers in social work who, by their professional discipline, code of ethics, or research foci are expected to demonstrate particular sensitivity to vulnerable populations, issues of social justice, conflicts of interest, and respect for dignity and privacy. Rooted in three workshops held during ECSWR since 2014, this paper examines the nature of embedded ethical dilemmas, with special attention to the challenges related to the principle of nonmaleficence and to the role of the researcher. In light of illustrative examples, the paper presents recommendations and resources to build ethical awareness and research integrity beyond regulatory compliance.
Person-oriented research ethics: integrating relational and everyday ethics in research by M. Ariel Cascio & Eric Racine
Publication Date: 2018
In order to support researchers in their effort to adopt a broader lens, this article
presents a “person-oriented research ethics ”approach. Five practical guideposts of person-oriented research ethics are identified, as follows: (1) respect for holistic personhood; (2) acknowledgement of lived world; (3) individualization; (4) focus on researcher-participant relationships; and (5) empowerment in decision-making. These guideposts are defined and illustrated with respect to different aspects of the research process (e.g., research design, recruitment, data collection).
Research ethics and epistemic oppression by Ackerly, B. A., Friedman, E.J., Menon, K, & Zalewski, M.
Publication Date: 2020
This editorial (though not descriptive of peer reviewed research) is valuable as a centering discussion of the knowledge politics and practices in formal research, which rely on and perpetuate norms that treat those with power as credible transmitters of objective knowledge and facts, and others as suspicious conveyors of subjective experience and politicized opinions. The article’s authors present values such as scrutiny into institutional ethical review and the thoughtful challenging of epistemic hierarchies, both established and emerging. The article’s prevailing argument that transparency of process and subjection to revision are key to lasting accuracy and social relevance in research, are foundational to ethical understanding.
Ethical transformations: developing ethical competencies for the social professions through action research by Ribers, B.
Publication Date: 2020
A resource for examining the ethical configuration, within action and practitioner-centric research designs, this article explores the dynamic between individual, interpersonal and organizational dimensions of professional ethics. The article advocates that ethical responsibility is not only an individual concern, but equally collective and organizational. The research findings indicate that ethical issues tend to be individualized, whilst the organizational responsibility is not yet fully incorporated in the professional codes of ethics, the educational curriculum, nor in ethical interventions in work practice.

EBOOKS

Conducting Research with Human Participants: An IRB Guide for Students and Faculty by Nathan Richard Durdella
ISBN: 9781544348636
Publication Date: 2022
Conducting Research with Human Participants: An IRB Guide for Students and Faculty by Nathan Durdella is the only guidebook students and faculty will need to navigate the IRB process and secure swift approval of research protocols. This book serves as an advisor to walk researchers through all the details of drafting, submission, and revision of materials for Institutional Review Boards so they can complete their research projects or dissertations faster. This text walks readers through the history of Institutional Review Boards, the contemporary context of ethical research, strategies to effectively draft, submit, and revise an IRB protocol, and guidance on working with an approved protocol in the field. The latest updates to the Common Rule and other regulatory frameworks, including special protections for working with vulnerable groups, are covered throughout the text. Not every research project goes according to plan, so adverse events and reporting receive special coverage. A final chapter on ethical research practices beyond IRB compliance encourages researchers to think through how to exit the field of research and ensure their research benefits the individuals, families, and communities in which they work.
The Ethics of Online Research by Kandy Woodfield (Editor)
ISBN: 9781787144866
Publication Date: 2017-12-15
This volume focuses on the ethics of internet and social networking research exploring the challenges faced by researchers making use of social media and big data in their research. The internet, the world wide web and social media – indeed all forms of online communications – are attractive fields of research across a range of disciplines. They offer opportunities for methodological initiatives and innovations in research and easily accessed, massive amounts of primary and secondary data sources. This collection examines the new challenges posed by data generated online, explores how researchers are addressing those ethical challenges, and provides rich case studies of ethical decision making in the digital age.
Indigenous Research Ethics by Lily George (Editor); Juan Tauri (Editor); Lindsey Te Ata O. Tu MacDonald (Editor)
ISBN: 9781787693906
Publication Date: 2020-10-19
Given the extreme variety of research issues under investigation today and the multi-million-dollar industry surrounding research, it becomes extremely important that we ensure that research involving Indigenous peoples is ethically as well as methodologically relevant, according to the needs and desires of Indigenous peoples themselves. This distinctive volume presents Indigenous research as strong and self-determined with theories, ethics and methodologies arising from within unique cultural contexts.
This book further explores a twenty-first-century challenge for Indigenous people researching with their own people, namely the ethical questions that must be addressed when dealing with Indigenous organizations and tribal corporations that have fought for – and won – power and money. The volume also analyses Indigenous/non-Indigenous research partnerships, outlining how they developed respectful and reciprocal relationships of benefit for all, and argues that these kinds of best practice research guidelines are of value to all research communities.
Introduction to Art Therapy Research by Lynn Kapitan
Call Number: RC489.A7 K355 2018
ISBN: 9781138912854
Publication Date: 2017-08-22
Since the initial publication of Introduction to Art Therapy Research, interest in this field has grown dramatically along with public policy demands for an up-to-date, culturally relevant evidence base on which to practice.
This revised and expanded edition pays particular attention to the field’s unique and compelling questions, most current literature, and emerging trends in research… Part III (directly linked to here) offers up-to-date ethical guidelines and valuable tools for understanding and evaluating research reports, as well as practical guidance for publication in scholarly journals based on the author’s long experience as the editor of the field’s leading scholarly publication. Also included are added coverage on cross-cultural research as well as high quality examples from published, peer-reviewed art therapy research studies that illustrate material throughout the text.

Contact Us

Link not working?
Unsure how to find what you need?

Please reach out to us at askthelibrary@swc.edu.