Winter: Psychopathology

Addresses two steadily developing fields: psychological treatments of psychosis and psycho-social causes of psychosis (e.g. drug abuse, child abuse and neglect, urban living, poverty, rape, war trauma, discrimination, etc.). The journal’s audience are practitioners and researchers with an interest in psychosis. The journal’s unique focus and multi-disciplinary approach renders it attractive to: psychiatrists, social workers, psychotherapists and counsellors, and other allied professionals.

seeks to publish articles on the methods and applications related to the psychological assessment of psychopathology, maladaptive personality, and normative personality processes. JPA strives to publish cutting edge research, which can occur in a number of contexts and settings, including clinical/consulting, counseling, neuropsychological, forensic, health, social/community, multicultural, developmental/educational, industrial/organizational, and screening of candidates for public safety positions. The journal is interested in receiving manuscripts that consider development and validation of new assessment processes and tests, as well as advance the clinical utility and ecological validity of personality assessment in clinical and nonclinical populations.

Schizophrenia is a serious mental illness. The main treatment of schizophrenia is antipsychotic medications. Meanwhile, psychosocial treatment can be incorporated to improve the efficacy of treatment, including cognitive behavioral therapy, cognitive remediation therapy, family therapy, psychoeducation, social skill training, and vocational rehabilitation. This study aimed to summarize the efficacy of various psychosocial interventions for schizophrenia through a literature review.

Sixty-six Australian adults, living with schizophrenia completed a novel online survey with six sections: Demographic characteristics; Disease history; Quality-of-life; Patient support programs; Discrete Choice Experiment, and Best-Worst Scaling exercise. Participants indicated that they preferred to be involved in treatment decisions with their doctor. Recent hospitalization influenced the relative importance of treatment attributes, with effectiveness on hearing voices being the most important treatment attribute.

This literature review from 2019 provides summary of findings from research on art therapy interventions in the context of mental illness treatment. The review specifically engages with research on art therapy as applied to treatment of schizophrenia.

National guidance recommends that clinicians consider the offer of arts therapies including art therapy to people diagnosed with schizophrenia. However, because schizophrenia is a heterogeneous condition and this recommendation is based on population-level evidence, it may be difficult to meaningfully apply locally. Whilst art therapy is inextricably linked with ‘psychosis’ and receives clinical support, those charged with implementing guidance, developing and delivering services need to know more about art therapy, specifically what changes, how and for whom. We used grounded theory methods to address these questions from the perspective of art therapists. The data demonstrate richness and diversity in practice and therapists’ abiding belief in its inherent value

Art therapy has been recommended as a treatment for people with psychosis. However, little is known about the availability, organization or delivery of art therapy within NHS settings. This article aims to describe the availability, structure and content of art therapy for people with schizophrenia provided by NHS services in England. A survey of art therapists working in a randomly selected sample of half of all mental health Trusts in England.

This article aims to evaluate the clinical effectiveness of group art therapy for people with schizophrenia and to test whether any benefits exceed those of an active control treatment.
A three arm, rater blinded, pragmatic, randomised controlled trial was utilized.
Participants were 417 people aged 18 or over, who had a diagnosis of schizophrenia and provided written informed consent to take part in the study. Participants were randomised to 12
months of weekly group art therapy plus standard care, 12 months of weekly activity groups plus standard care, or standard care alone.

This article reports on the experiences of participants (individuals diagnosed with schizophrenia spectrum disorder) allocated to art therapy in a randomised trial of art therapy. By tracing the pathways and reported outcomes, the authors demonstrate that although relatively few ‘engaged’, those who did attributed personally valued changes, including improvements in self-esteem, social confidence and sense of agency, to participation. For some the experience was life changing. Our findings support therapists' views that art therapy can contribute to personal recovery and that outcomes are related to participants' investment in the therapeutic process. They thus shed light on the challenges of meaningfully assessing psychotherapy, which is an inherently interactive process using randomised trials, and highlight the importance of integrating process evaluations if ‘outcomes’ are to inform clinical care.

Art Therapy has been promoted as a means of helping people who may find it difficult to express themselves verbally engage in psychological treatment. Group Art Therapy has been widely used as an adjunctive treatment for people with schizophrenia but there have been few attempts to examine its effects, and cost effectiveness has not been examined. The MATISSE study was a foundational effort toward revealing potential efficacy for the intervention. It aimed to evaluate the clinical and cost effectiveness of group Art Therapy for people with schizophrenia.

Another foundational work, this early case study is often referred to in more contemporary literature.

Leading researchers address conceptual and technical issues in schizophrenia and suggest novel strategies for advancing research and treatment.Despite major advances in methodology and thousands of published studies every year, treatment outcomes in schizophrenia have not improved over the last fifty years. Moreover, we still lack strategies for prevention and we do not yet understand how the interaction of genetic, developmental, and environmental factors contribute to the disorder. In this book, leading researchers consider conceptual and technical obstacles to progress in understanding schizophrenia and suggest novel strategies for advancing research and treatment.

Additional research since the second edition of this guideline has expanded knowledge of the effective and evidence-based interventions available to help reduce the mortality, morbidity, and significant psychosocial and health consequences of this important psychiatric condition.The American Psychiatric Association Practice Guideline for the Treatment of Patients With Schizophrenia seeks to reduce the substantial psychosocial and public health consequences for the individuals affected by schizophrenia. The guideline focuses specifically on evidence-based pharmacological and nonpharmacological treatments for schizophrenia and includes statements related to assessment and treatment planning, which are an integral part of patient-centered care.

This journal features articles specifically related to the treatment and recovery issues of substance use disorders with a focus on alcohol. The journal highlights new and innovative approaches to treatment and recovery, describing clinical problems and solutions, and detailing practical, unique approaches to intervention, therapy, and recovery.

This journal collects experimental and field studies of anxiety dimensions and stress and coping processes, and also with related topics such as the antecedents and consequences of stress exposure and its concomitant emotional states. Its articles contribute to the understanding of the relationship between psychological and physiological processes during stressful and anxious states, as well as their links to coping and resilience.

Click to navigate directly to AATA's searchable database of peer reviewed articles, contemporary art therapy research, and editorials.

Click to navigate directly to CATA's searchable database of peer reviewed articles, contemporary art therapy research, and editorials.

This journal is an open access and peer-reviewed journal that takes an innovative, broad, multidisciplinary perspective. The journal publishes research focusing on the breadth of subject domains that encompass mental health including the broad fields of psychiatry, psychology, counselling and psychotherapy. Sections are topic-based and bring together work from multiple perspectives of the disciplines and professions involved.

This is an internationally respected, peer-reviewed journal for clinicians, prevention specialists, and researchers in the field of eating disorders. Founded in 1993, EDJTP specializes in bridging the gap between science and practice with a focus on empirically sound, clinically applicable research. EDJTP takes a fundamentally practical, humanistic, compassionate view of clients and their presenting problems. The journal specifically publishes contributions that facilitate, inform, and assess efficacy of prevention and clinical treatment approaches and interventions.

Click to navigate directly to BAAT's searchable database of peer reviewed articles, contemporary art therapy research, and editorials.

This resource presents original research, and prevention and treatment strategies for dealing with symptoms and disorders related to the psychological effects of trauma. The journal examines intervention models directed toward the individual, family, and community; new theoretical models and approaches; and public policy proposals and innovations. With a multidisciplinary approach that draws input from the psychological, medical, social work, sociological, public health, and legal fields, the journal features research, intervention approaches and evidence-based programs, theoretical articles, specific review articles, brief reports and case studies, and commentaries on current and/or controversial topics.

The Journal of Couple & Relationship Therapy promotes a better understanding of what contributes to healthy adult relationships and how therapy facilitates the process. Experts address key treatment issues for all types of adult relationships. Articles explore couple therapy from the perspectives of theory, research, and practice, as well as issues related to the supervision and personal growth of clinicians. Special thematic issues address a single topic for the entire issue, allowing a more significant focus on that particular topic. A recent thematic issue studied clinical concerns with interracial couples.

The co-occurrence of mental health and substance use disorders, or “dual diagnosis,” is one of the quintessential issues in behavioral health. Why do such high rates of co-occurrence exist? What does it tell us about risk profiles? How do these linked disorders affect people, their families, and the communities in which they live? What are the natural paths to recovery? What specific treatments are most helpful and how can new ones be developed? This international journal seeks to address these questions.

This journal is an international forum for the latest research in the mental health field. Reaching over 65 countries, the journal reports on the best in evidence-based practice around the world and provides a channel of communication between the many disciplines involved in mental health research and practice. The journal encourages multi-disciplinary research and welcomes contributions that have involved the users of mental health services. It not only reflects current good practice but also aims to influence policy by reporting on innovations that challenge traditional ways of working.

This book retraces the foundations of classical phenomenological psychopathology and integrates them with modern ideas drawn from anthropology, cognitive neuroscience, computational science, and evolutionary biology to synthesize a comprehensive framework and provide fresh insights. This book explores how the scientific concepts of ‘information and representation' can be used to understand subjective mental phenomena and integrate them in empathic clinical dialogues during interactions with patients. It explores key issues in clinical psychopathology coherently and systematically, illustrates advanced topics in an accessible manner using clinical case examples, metaphors and clarifying diagrams, and directly links advanced conceptual frameworks with pragmatic skills in the clinical dialogue process.

Mental health and substance use disorders affect approximately 20 percent of Americans and are associated with significant morbidity and mortality. Although a wide range of evidence-based psychosocial interventions are currently in use, most consumers of mental health care find it difficult to know whether they are receiving high-quality care. Although the current evidence base for the effects of psychosocial interventions is sizable, subsequent steps in the process of bringing a psychosocial intervention into routine clinical care are less well defined. Psychosocial Interventions for Mental and Substance Use Disorders details the reasons for the gap between what is known to be effective and current practice and offers recommendations for how best to address this gap by applying a framework that can be used to establish standards for psychosocial interventions. The framework described in Psychosocial Interventions for Mental and Substance Use Disorders can be used to chart a path toward the ultimate goal of improving the outcomes.

Although ten years old, this sweeping introduction to various methods of treating mental illnesses might be a great place to start initial research.

A practical book for clinicians who are interested in evaluating and treating eating disorders in children and adults, Pocket Guide for the Assessment and Treatment of Eating Disorders, provides expert guidance in a succinct and accessible format.

Addressing autistic, homeless, and despondent children on the one hand, and greedy, betrayed, and angry children on the other, the book attempts to integrate developmental deficits, intrapsychic conflicts, and constitutional givens in evolving a deeper understanding of both severe and milder psychopathology. Ample clinical illustrations are provided and technical interventions pertinent to each of these situations are carefully fleshed out.