Quimby Memorial Library: Response Art: Home

RESPONSE ART (Art Therapy - Related Topics)

This guide features QML's resources centering on the role of response art in art therapy and associated ethical implications. Click a tab above to view academic articles and ebooks that engage with this topic. While the resources provide a well-rounded survey of our holdings on the topic, they are not comprehensive. Please contact us, if you are not seeing represented here any topics, authors, or specific foci, on which you are seeking information.

You will find links to the information you need to access and effectively use the databases housing this material, at the top of each page in this guide.

ARTICLES

This bibliography features peer-reviewed academic articles, reporting on contemporary research and theory on response art in art therapy practice. Keep in mind that QML may hold additional material on this topic and can access more, via our interlibrary loan network. If you are not finding what you need here, please email us at askthelibrary@swc.edu.

You can retrieve credentials for accessing articles from Taylor & Francis Online, by clicking here.

QML'S ACADEMIC ARTICLES DATABASE

Looking for information on how to access and effectively use QML's academic articles database? Start here.

Response Art: The Art of the Art Therapist by Barbara J. Fish
Publication Date: 2012
Though ten years old, this foundational text is useful for laying a groundwork for understanding the philosophy and utility of and the considerations surrounding response art.
Response Art in Art Therapy: Historical and Contemporary Overview by Barbara J. Fish
Publication Date: 2019
This article provides an overview of the history of response art, including its origin in clinical work, current uses in art-based supervision (face-to-face and distance), activism, and in art-based research.
Response Art to Develop a Social Justice Stance for Art Therapists by Danielle Chen, Sarah Johns, Lucy Romanik, & Victoria Glasscock
Publication Date: 2022
Four recent art therapy graduates created reflective artwork to process the COVID-19 pandemic and U.S. antiracist demonstrations and protests. This viewpoint describes their arts-based responses and intersubjective meetings to practice reflexive cultural humility. Key discoveries included themes of power and privilege, vulnerability, and moving toward the discomfort of addressing racism. The processes describe how reflective art-making can cultivate creative spaces for difficult conversations, opportunities for mutual reflection, and foundation sharing with the wider art therapy community to practice.
Response art in art therapy practice and research with a focus on reflect piece imagery by Gary Nash
Publication Date: 2019
Post-therapy ‘reflect piece’ imagery is the primary subject of the research described in this paper. The purpose of the research is to examine practitioners' experiences when using art immediately following a session, and how making art in this context, may facilitate the discharge and release of powerful or complex affects and part-processed feelings aroused during their clinical work. Secondly, how developing the themes, gestures and visual motifs systematically between sessions may deepen empathy and attunement, and thirdly, how both forms of visual expression may contribute to the supervisory process.
Consensus for using an arts-based response in art therapy by Dominik Havsteen-Franklin
Publication Date: 2014
This article sets out to describe provisional guidelines for the art therapist using an in-session art response. Art therapists are known to use art materials to respond to patients as part of their clinical work in health care settings. Using several survey and knowledge acquisition techniques, the author elucidates what techniques are being used and then establishes a first set of guidelines, which pull together different ideas and methods and seek clinical consensus on the validity and reliability of each statement based on clinician and service user opinions.

EBOOKS

This bibliography features chapters from two key ebooks in QML's ebooks database, which engage with the topic of response art in art therapy practice. Keep in mind that QML may hold additional material on this topic and can access much more, via our interlibrary loan network. If you are not finding what you need here, please email us at askthelibrary@swc.edu.

You can retrieve credentials for accessing ebooks from EBSCOhost, by clicking here.

QML'S EBOOKS DATABASE

Looking for additional information and tips for effectively using QML's ebooks database? Start here.

Exploring Ethical Dilemmas in Art Therapy by Audrey Di Maria (Editor)
ISBN: 9781138681903
Publication Date: 2019-04-04
The link goes directly to the chapter titled: Is all art making ethical? Dilemmas posed in the making of response art by Australian art therapy trainees, by Patricia Fenner and Libby Byrne. This chapter is a great overview of the role of response art and deep examination of its ethical implications.
Foundations of Art Therapy by Meera Rastogi (Editor); Rachel P. Feldwisch (Editor); Michelle Pate (Editor); Joseph Scarce (Editor)
ISBN: 9780128243084
Publication Date: 2022
Beginning on page 108 of this comprehensive guide to art therapy research, theory, and practice focuses on ethics within the context of cultural dimensions in AT. Response art is discussed intermittently between pages 108 and 114.
Foundations of Art Therapy by Meera Rastogi (Editor); Rachel P. Feldwisch (Editor); Michelle Pate (Editor); Joseph Scarce (Editor)
ISBN: 9780128243084
Publication Date: 2022
Beginning on page 436, art therapist Cynthia Wilson discusses response art in relation to a practitioner's self care efforts. She includes an example of a piece created in effort to process her feelings following a particular session with a client.

Contact Us

Link not working?
Unsure how to find what you need?

Please reach out to us at askthelibrary@swc.edu.

Response Art: Home

Contact Us

How to Place a Hold

How to Access Ebooks

How to Access Ebooks

How to save pages of an ebook

How to find an article's citation

How to find an ebook's citation