Quimby Memorial Library: Exhibiting Client Artwork (AT Related Topics): Home

EXHIBITING CLIENT ARTWORK (Art Therapy - Related Topics)

This guide features QML's resources centering on the ethical and practical implications of Art Therapy professionals' exhibition of client artwork. Click a tab above to view ebooks (and ebook chapters) and articles on this topic. While the resources provide a well-rounded survey of our holdings on the topic, they are not comprehensive. Please contact us, if you are not seeing represented here any topics, authors, or specific foci, on which you are seeking information.

You will find links to the information you need to access and effectively use the databases housing this material, at the top of each page in this guide.

ARTICLES

This bibliography features peer-reviewed, searchable journals and academic articles, reporting on contemporary research and theory on the exhibition of client artwork. Keep in mind that QML may hold additional material on this topic and can access much more, via our interlibrary loan network. If you are not finding what you need here, please email us at askthelibrary@swc.edu.

You can retrieve credentials for accessing articles from Taylor & Francis Online, by clicking here.

QML'S ACADEMIC ARTICLES DATABASE

Looking for information on how to access and effectively use QML's academic articles database? Start here.

Art Therapy in Prisons Program Exhibition: Implementation and Benefits by Evie Soape, Casey Barlow, Michelle Torrech Pérez, Marissa Hart, David E. Gussak, Anna Schubarth & Cameron Sumner
Publication Date: 2023
The Florida State University (FSU)/Florida Department of Corrections (FDC) Art Therapy in Prisons Program is contractually required to conduct an annual art exhibition of the participants’ work. Originally to be held inside the institutions, it evolved into a single art exhibition at an annual state-wide conference for prison educators. This report demonstrates, through survey data and discussions, that the exhibition and an accompanying experiential in which its attendees and prison inmates contributed provided an opportunity for the participants to feel that they were being seen and heard by those on the outside. In addition, the exhibition provided learning experiences about the program, assuring that there is continuous support, appreciation for the art created, and collaboration to meet the needs of those participating.
Portrait Therapy: Supporting Client Voices of Self-Identity by Susan M. D. Carr
Publication Date: 2020
This study focuses on the benefits to clients that public exhibition of their artwork created in session can yield. The author explains that exhibiting the work of the study's subjects "extended the reach of their fragile voices" and contributed to their meaning-making and sense of empowerment.
Telling My Story in the Gallery: Art Therapy With Females on the Autism Spectrum by Ashley Hartman
Publication Date: 2020
This article does not address the ethics of client art exhibition but provides perspective on the efficacy side of the consideration to exhibit, by offering evidence of gallery exhibition's potential for empowering clients through increased visibility.
The extent of engagement in art making and exhibition by art therapy practitioners and students by Juliet Jue
Publication Date: 2017
This paper seeks to delineate how art therapists define their professional identity, as well as the extent and way that their artist identities are implemented. Participants included art therapy practitioners (N = 59) and art therapy students (N = 181). They participated in a survey, which had been developed to investigate their views on the identity, approaches, necessity of art work, work contents, and exhibitions. In this context, decision-making and methods for exhibiting client artwork is occasionally discussed.
The DO ART Model: An Ethical Decision-Making Model Applicable to Art Therapy by Jessica Hauck & Thomson Ling
Publication Date: 2016
This article introduces the DO ART model, a model that can be used in the practice of art therapy as well as in a range of counseling and therapy practices. The model uses an easy-to-remember mnemonic device and, by applying the model, art therapists can be more confident in taking ethical action when ambiguous dilemmas emerge in their practice. Among the dilemmas to which the authors apply this model is decision-making around exhibition of client art.
Ethics on Exhibit by Randy M. Vick
Publication Date: 2011
This article discusses ethical questions raised by an exhibition of work by an artist with a history of mental illness and the exhibition's relevance to art therapy and “outsider art” discourse on the subject. Considerations for how such an exhibit could be handled had the circumstances included an art therapist and art therapy client are examined. Current ethical practices are discussed along with suggestions for professional involvement of art therapists in public art exhibitions.
Art Therapists Exhibiting Children’s Art: When, Where, and Why by Leslie Knowles
Publication Date: 1996
This is no a peer reviewed study but an editorial, by an art therapist and member of the editorial board for AATA's journal. The piece includes insightful commentary and a sample contract for using child client art.
Art as evidence: Ethical considerations when using client artworks in exhibitions by San Leenstra, Sally Goldstraw, & Bruce Rumbold
Publication Date: 2014
Exhibitions are frequently used to illustrate outcomes of arts therapy programmes, showcase community arts projects, and to gather research data. This article reviews some of the ethical dilemmas that arise in exhibiting client or participant artwork, and argues that attention to shared decision-making within an ethics of care framework is needed to ensure constructive ethical practice.

EBOOKS

This bibliography features some of QML's contemporary ebooks, which address the exhibition of client artwork, in a variety of contexts. Keep in mind that QML may hold additional material on this topic and can access much more, via our interlibrary loan network. If you are not finding what you need here, please email us at askthelibrary@swc.edu.

You can retrieve credentials for accessing ebooks from EBSCOhost, by clicking here.

QML'S EBOOKS DATABASE

Looking for additional information and tips for effectively using QML's ebooks database? Start here.

Art as a Record: Storage and Exhibition of Client Artwork by Amanda Bezold, Jongwon Melissa Choi, and Jenna Park
ISBN: 9781032006710
Publication Date: 2022
This chapter focuses on a variety of ethical issues surrounding client-produced art expressions, including exhibition. Includes many references, which may be leads for additional research.
Exhibition in Art Therapy: Ethical Considerations for Public Display of Client Artwork by Amanda A. Sanabria
Publication Date: 2021
This published thesis explores the role of exhibition in art therapy to critically examine the therapeutic and curatorial approaches to showcasing client work and the ethical implications and concerns that arise when it is publically displayed. The author utilizes a mixed methodology, leaning on auto-ethnographic reflection, historical analysis, one-on-one interviews, and grounded theory.
Art For Sale? Using Client Art for Promotional Purposes by Lisa Raye Garlock
ISBN: 9781138681903
Publication Date: 2019
In this chapter Garlock considers numerous ethical questions around client artwork exhibition, especially in a promotional context.
Ethics, Digital Technology, and Social Media by Cathy Malchiodi, Donald Cutcher, and Kristin Belkofer
ISBN: 9781785927928
Publication Date: 2018
Beginning on page 43 (LINKED DIRECTLY HERE), Malchiodi, Cutcher, and Belkofer offer two “brief hypothetical case examples to consider which highlight some of the ethical questions that arise when client-created art expressions are publicly shared on the Internet, even when permission has been obtained.”
Art Therapy in Chile: The Ethical Challenges and Dilemmas of an Emerging Professional Practice by Pamela Reyes H.
ISBN: 9781138681903
Publication Date: 2019
This chapter includes a first-person narrative account titled MY ETHICAL DILEMMA
How do I weigh the patients’ right to privacy against the institution’s desire to exhibit their art? It is a plainspoken, valuable insight into the ethical question.
‘I Am Not Disordered, I Am Special’: Ethical Issues Faced by Art Therapists in the Evolving World of Children with Special Needs by Laurie Mowry-Hesler
ISBN: 9781138681903
Publication Date: 2019
Beginning on page 158, within this chapter, Mowry-Hesler offers a brief examination of the ethical concerns and benefits of exhibiting art expressions created by clients of the stated population.

Contact Us

Link not working?
Unsure how to find what you need?

Please reach out to us at askthelibrary@swc.edu.

Exhibiting Client Artwork (AT Related Topics): Home

Contact Us

How to Place a Hold

How to Access Ebooks

How to Access Ebooks

How to save pages of an ebook

How to find an article's citation

How to find an ebook's citation