Quimby Memorial Library: Professional Ethics in AT/CN: Professional Ethics in AT/CN

PROFESSIONAL ETHICS IN AT/CN

Welcome students of Professional Ethics in Art Therapy/Counseling! This guide is designed to assist you in researching and preparing the academic paper assigned in this course.

As a reminder: Textbooks, articles, and other resources designated as required reading for this course are not hosted on this guide but are uploaded directly to the course site in Populi. Contact us at askthelibrary@swc.edu, with any questions, issues accessing resources, requests for additional resources, and any other support we can offer.

ACADEMIC PAPER: Ethical Decision-Making Using the DO ART model (due week 9)

According to the course syllabus: This 6-to-8-page paper should reflect your best effort in terms of level of thought and reflection, construction of paper, grammar, sentence structure, and spelling, and adhere to APA 7th edition formatting guidelines (including in-text citations and a reference page). The assignment calls for the citation of 2 outside sources and 1 or more relevant ethics codes.

The assignment is to choose 1 client case study from the course syllabus and use the DO ART model by Hauck and Ling to analyze the scenario. Thoughtfully detail the theoretical application of the DO ART model to the chosen case study and include considerations of cultural and historical factors; identity experiences related to factors such as race, class, gender, age, sexuality, ability, language privilege, citizenship; and power differentials between therapist and client. PLEASE CONSULT THE SYLLABUS FOR A COMPLETE ASSIGNMENT DESCRIPTION AND REQUIREMENTS

HOW THE LIBRARY CAN HELP

Collected in this guide are links to searchable journals, where you can find additional sources, related to the DO ART model, ethical decision-making models, and cultural competence in art therapy, as well as links to texts that will help to flesh out your understanding of ethics in art therapy, generate ideas for research, and connect you with narratives of art therapists who have grappled with such ethical dilemmas.

QML'S APA STYLE GUIDE

Need a hand with the APA formatting element of this assignment? Here you will find all the information you need on formatting a title page, reference page, and citations, as well as visual examples, downloadable templates, and more.

ACCESSING DATABASES

Most resources listed here are hosted on QML's ebook and article databases. You can retrieve credentials for accessing articles and journals from Taylor & Francis and ebooks from EBSCOhost, by clicking here.

QML'S ACADEMIC ARTICLES DATABASE

Looking for information on how to access and effectively use QML's academic articles database? Start here.

QML'S EBOOKS DATABASE

Looking for additional information and tips for effectively using QML's ebooks database? Start here.

JOURNALS

Want to search the literature for information on specific dilemmas, elements client identities, or cultural contexts? Searching these journals automatically narrows your search, so that all results returned are in the context of art therapy, thus reducing the effort you need to put into keyword formulation.

Art Therapy: Journal of the American Art Therapy Association by The American Art Therapy Association
Publication Date: 1983-present
Click to navigate directly to AATA's searchable database of peer reviewed articles, contemporary art therapy research, and editorials. An initial search of "Ethics OR Ethical" in this journal returns 388 results.
Canadian Journal of Art Therapy: Research, Practice, and Issues by The Canadian Art Therapy Association
Publication Date: 1985-present
Click to navigate directly to CATA's searchable database of peer reviewed articles, contemporary art therapy research, and editorials. An initial search of "Ethics OR Ethical" in this journal returns 89 results.
International Journal of Art Therapy by British Association of Art Therapists
Publication Date: 1996-present
Click to navigate directly to BAAT's searchable database of peer reviewed articles, contemporary art therapy research, and editorials. An initial search of "Ethics OR Ethical" in this journal returns 152 results.

ARTICLES:

Here are just a few examples of relevant articles that can be located through searching the above journals and throughout the expansive Taylor & Francis Database. These articles may be useful sources in themselves. They references pages, offering citations to the related literature with which they engage may also present useful leads on sources for this assignment.

Applying Art Therapy Directives to Ethical Decision-Making by Jessica M. Hauck &Thomson J. Ling
Publication Date: 2019
From Hauk & Ling, authors of the DO ART model, This article acknowledges the noticeable absence of art making in the model. There has been much literature indicating that art making informed by tenets of art therapy can provide valuable insight into decision-making, and help externalize the thought process, thus including art in the ethical decision-making process allows art therapists to utilize their strengths. This article expands and improves upon the DO ART ethical decision-making model to include art directives that may assist art therapists in more effective decision-making that better honors the traditions and pillars valued by the field.
Evaluating the Use of Ethical Decision-Making Models for Art Therapy by Thomson J. Ling, Jessica M. Hauck, Caitlin J. Doyle, Kristy N. Percario, & Tiffany Henawi
Publication Date: 2019
Another article to which Hauk and Ling are contributors; Although several ethical decision-making methods exist, there is a dearth of research evaluating their use and effectiveness. This study examined graduate student papers by both art therapy and counseling students that applied either the DO ART model (developed for art therapists) or the ABCDE worksheet (for general mental health usage) to case vignettes that were rated on several ethical decision-making criteria: obligations, moral ideals, consequences, and bias. Results suggest the DO ART model is as effective as the ABCDE worksheet; art therapists are as effective as other practitioners in the use of ethical decision-making models.
Volume 34, Issue 3: Ethics, Law, and Cultural Competence in Art Therapy by Savneet Talwar (Ed.)
Publication Date: 2017
This link will take you to an entire issue of Art Therapy: Journal of the American Art Therapy Association, which focuses on ethical dilemma and decision-making and cultural competence in art therapy practice. The issue includes work from authors of diverse backgrounds and professional experience.

EBOOKS:

Though it is not a collection of peer reviewed, academic articles, the following ebook might be a great resource for learning more about specific ethical dilemmas in the field, reading the thoughts and experiences of art therapists who have grappled with these dilemmas, and discovering additional academic research, referred to by these art therapists.

Exploring Ethical Dilemmas in Art Therapy by Audrey Di Maria (Editor)
ISBN: 9781138681903
Publication Date: 2019-04-04
This book presents a global collection of first-person accounts detailing the ethical issues that arise during art therapists'work. Grouped according to themes such as discrimination and inclusion, confidentiality, and scope of practice, chapters by experienced art therapists from 20 different countries explore difficult situations across a variety of practitioner roles, client diagnoses, and cultural contexts. In reflecting upon their own courses of action when faced with these issues, the authors acknowledge missteps as well as successes, allowing readers to learn from their mistakes. Offering a unique presentation centered on diverse vignettes with important lessons and ethical takeaways highlighted throughout, this exciting new volume will be an invaluable resource to all future and current art therapists, as well as to other mental health professionals.

RECOMMENDED READING

AS A REMINDER: All required reading for this course will either be provided in Populi directly, or will have a link to EBSCOhost for textbooks that are available on that platform.

What follows is a list of recommended or related readings from the course syllabus. Note that not all items from the original list may be immediately available. However, please contact the library for additional access options or with any other questions.

Frame, M.W., & Williams, C.B. (2005). A model of ethical decision making from a multicultural perspective. Counseling and Values, 49(3). 165-179. https://swc.populiweb.com/router/folders/253673/show

Moon, B. (2011). Ethical dilemmas of providing pro bono art therapy. Art Therapy: Journal of the American Art Therapy Association, 28(4). 181-184. https://www.tandfonline.com/doi/full/10.1080/07421656.2011.622696

Talwar, S. (2010). An intersectional framework for race, class, gender, and sexuality in art therapy. Art Therapy: Journal of the American Art Therapy Association, 27(1). 11-17. https://www.tandfonline.com/doi/abs/10.1080/07421656.2010.10129567

Contact Us

Link not working?
Unsure how to find what you need?

Please reach out to us at askthelibrary@swc.edu.