Quimby Memorial Library: Trauma and PTSD: Home

TRAUMA AND PTSD

Trauma results from exposure to an incident or series of events that are emotionally disturbing or life-threatening with lasting adverse effects on the individual's functioning and mental, physical, social, or emotional well-being. Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) is a recognized psychiatric disorder that affects approximately 5% of Americans – or more than 13 million people.

There are three main types of trauma: Acute, Chronic, or Complex

Acute trauma results from a single incident.
Chronic trauma is repeated and prolonged such as domestic violence or abuse.
Complex trauma is exposure to varied and multiple traumatic events, often of an invasive, interpersonal nature.

This guide features QML's resources on the skills for treating Trauma and PTSD, both in clinical and wider contexts. Click a tab above to view ebooks, articles, and books on this approach. While the resources provide a well-rounded survey of our holdings on the topic, they are not comprehensive. Please contact us, if you are not seeing represented here any topics, authors, or specific foci, on which you are seeking information.

You will find links to the information you need to access and effectively use the databases housing this material, at the top of each page in this guide.

EBOOKS

Featured here are some of QML's contemporary ebooks on Trauma and PTSD. In addition to these featured items, QML holds additional material on this topic and can access much more, via our interlibrary loan network. If you are not finding what you need here, please email us at askthelibrary@swc.edu.

You can retrieve credentials for accessing ebooks from EBSCOhost, by clicking here.

QML'S EBOOKS DATABASE

Looking for additional information and tips for effectively using QML's ebooks database? Start here.

The Practical Guide for Healing Developmental Trauma by Laurence Heller; Brad J. Kammer
ISBN: 9781623174538
Publication Date: 2022
A practical step-by-step guide and follow-up companion to Healing Developmental Trauma--presenting one of the first comprehensive models for addressing complex post-traumatic stress disorder (C-PTSD)The NeuroAffective Relational Model (NARM) is an integrated mind-body framework that focuses on relational, attachment, developmental, cultural, and intergenerational trauma. NARM helps clients resolve C-PTSD, recover from adverse childhood experiences (ACEs), and facilitate post-traumatic growth.Inspired by cutting-edge trauma-informed research on attachment, developmental psychology, and interpersonal neurobiology, The Practical Guide for Healing Developmental Trauma provides counselors, psychotherapists, psychologists, social workers, and trauma-sensitive helping professionals with the theoretical background and practical skills they need to help clients transform complex trauma.
Trauma : Contemporary Directions in Trauma Theory, Research, and Practice by Jerrold R. Brandell; Shoshana Ringel
ISBN: 9780231548045
Publication Date: 2019
An expanded and revised edition of the first social work text to focus specifically on the theoretical and clinical issues associated with trauma, this comprehensive anthology incorporates the latest research in trauma theory and clinical applications. It presents key developments in the conceptualization of trauma and covers a wide range of clinical treatments.Trauma features coverage of emerging therapeutic modalities and clinical themes, focusing on the experiences of historically disenfranchised, marginalized, oppressed, and vulnerable groups. Clinical chapters discuss populations and themes including cultural and historical trauma among Native Americans, the impact of bullying on children and adolescents, the use of art therapy with traumatically bereaved children, historical and present-day trauma experiences of incarcerated African American women, and the effects of trauma treatment on the therapist. Other chapters examine trauma-related interventions derived from diverse theoretical frameworks, such as cognitive-behavioral theory, attachment theory, mindfulness theory, and psychoanalytic theory.
Disaster Mental Health Counseling: Responding to Trauma in a Multicultural Context by Mark A. Stebnicki
ISBN: 9780826132888
Publication Date: 2016
Focuses on understanding cultural and psychosocial contexts to promote optimal healing for disaster survivorsThis is the first book for mental health professionals working with survivors of mass trauma to focus on the psychosocial and culture contexts in which these disasters occur. It underscores the importance of understanding these environments in order to provide maximally effective mental health interventions for trauma survivors and their communities. Global in scope, the text addresses the foundations of understanding and responding to the mental health needs of individuals and groups healing from traumas created by a wide range of natural and human-made critical events, including acts of terrorism, armed conflict, genocide, and mass violence by individual perpetrators. Designed for professional training in disaster mental health, and meeting CACREP standards, the text promotes the knowledge and skills needed to work with the psychosocial aspects of individual and group adaptation and adjustment to mass traumatic experience.
Trauma Counseling: Theories and Interventions by Lisa Lopez Levers
ISBN: 9780826106834
Publication Date: 2012
Trauma Counseling is a comprehensive, multidisciplinary guide to the theory and treatment of survivors of a broad spectrum of traumatic events, including interpersonal violence, hate crimes, school violence, community violence, natural disasters, and war and terrorism. It is written by a Fulbright scholar who is internationally recognized for her work with traumatized populations in Rwanda, several southern African countries, Russia, and the United States. It also includes the contributions of researchers from the United States, Australia, Africa, and Europe. The book discusses evidence-based trauma assessment and intervention techniques and integrates the latest findings from neuropsychology and psychopharmacology. It focuses on issues of loss and grief, survivorship and disability, genocide, natural disasters, the impact of war on civilians and veterans, and the distinct effects of trauma in early childhood, childhood, and adolescence.
PTSD: A Short History by Allan V. Horwitz
ISBN: 9781421426396
Publication Date: 2018
Post-traumatic stress disorder—and its predecessor diagnoses, including soldier's heart, railroad spine, and shell shock—was recognized as a psychiatric disorder in the latter part of the nineteenth century. The psychic impacts of train crashes, wars, and sexual shocks among children first drew psychiatric attention. Later, enormous numbers of soldiers suffering from battlefield traumas returned from the world wars. It was not until the 1980s that PTSD became a formal diagnosis, in part to recognize the intense psychic suffering of Vietnam War veterans and women with trauma-related personality disorders. PTSD now occupies a dominant place in not only the mental health professions but also major social institutions and mainstream culture, making it the signature mental disorder of the early twenty-first century.
Psychology of Trauma 101 by Lesia M. Ruglass; Kathleen A. Kendall-Tackett
ISBN: 9780826196682
Publication Date: 2014
Our knowledge about the psychological effects of traumatic events has grown dramatically over the past three decades. Psychology of Trauma 101 is a concise, current, and accessible overview of this critical issue, including posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD), its causes, and its physical and mental consequences. Grounded in the most up-to-date research and theories on trauma and its effects, this text not only covers the concepts of what trauma is and the ways in which different kinds of traumas affect people, but also considers how it is diagnosed in the wake of DSM-5 and is treated with both conventional and alternative methods.Richly illustrated with first-person accounts from trauma survivors, this book encompasses theories, diagnosis, and treatment as well as how trauma affects family members and caregivers. It also addresses the variables of gender, race/ethnicity, and culture as they bear on trauma psychology and the potential health consequences of trauma.
Treating Co-Occurring Adolescent PTSD and Addiction by Lisa R. Fortuna; Zayda Vallejo
ISBN: 9781626251335
Publication Date: 2015
Research has shown that, for many teens, trauma can lead to addiction. Now, for the first time ever, two mental health experts offer a powerful, integrative program to effectively treat teens with these co-occurring issues.Trauma and addiction often present side by side. However, up until now, clinicians have lacked the tools needed to treat these two issues together. Based in cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) and mindfulness—two proven-effective therapies for addiction and mental health issues—Treating Co-occurring Adolescent PTSD and Addiction is essential for anyone working with adolescents with addiction and post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD).
Neurobiology of Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder by Leo Sher; Alexander Vilens
ISBN: 9781616688516
Publication Date: 2011
Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) is a common and severe psychiatric disorder precipitated by exposure to a psychologically distressing event. PTSD is associated with significant morbidity and mortality and is characterized by the presence of three distinct, but co-occurring, symptom clusters. Research evidence suggests that PTSD has a neurobiological basis. Current research on the neurobiology of PTSD include the utilization of functional brain imaging; molecular genetic research; the incorporation of cross-system research including neuroendocrine, neurochemical, and neuroimmunological systems. This book examines the neurobiological basis of PTSD and the future research goals in regards to these findings.
Sociometrics: Embodied, Experiential Processes for Relational Trauma Repair by Tian Dayton
ISBN: 9781949481655
Publication Date: 2022
Tian Dayton masterfully integrates principles of group dynamics and psychodrama therapies with insights into bodily states and feelings gained from contemporary neuroscience. Sociometrics infuses therapeutic principles in an intuitive and functional program that shifts the agent of healing from the therapist to the group. We learn that through sociometrics, the threads of healing are woven as the client experiences a reconnection with the inner self and a connection with others.”—Stephen W. Porges, PhD, Distinguished University Scientist, Indiana University; Professor of Psychiatry, University of North Carolina; creator of the Polyvagal TheoryEmbodied, relational processes designed to add experiential therapy into addiction treatment centers, IOPs, and one-to-one or group therapy settings.
Attachment-Focused Family Play Therapy: An Intervention for Children and Adolescents After Trauma by Cathi Spooner
ISBN: 9781138935853
Publication Date: 2020
Attachment-Focused Family Play Therapy presents an essential roadmap for therapists working with traumatized youth. Exploring trauma and attachment through a neurobiological focus, the book lays out a flexible framework for practitioners treating young clients within the context of their family relationships. Chapters demonstrate how techniques of play and expressive therapy can be integrated into work with different developmental stages, while providing the tools needed to fully incorporate the family into the healing process. The book also provides clinical examples and guidance on the ethical decision-making needed to effectively implement attachment work and facilitate positive change. Written in an accessible style, Attachment-Focused Family Play Therapy is an important resource for mental health professionals who work with traumatized children, adolescents, and adults.
Creative Interventions with Traumatized Children by Cathy A. Malchiodi (Editor); Bruce D. Perry (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9781462518166
Publication Date: 2014-10-02
A trusted, comprehensive resource, this volume demonstrates a range of creative approaches for facilitating children's emotional reparation and recovery from trauma. Experts in play, art, music, movement, and drama therapy, as well as bibliotherapy, describe step-by-step strategies for working with children, families, and groups. Rich with case material and artwork, the book is both practical and user-friendly. Specific types of stressful experiences discussed include parental loss, child abuse, family violence, bullying, and mass trauma. New to This Edition: Updated and expanded discussions of trauma and of the neurobiological basis for creative interventions. Chapters on art therapy and EMDR, body maps and dissociation, sandtray play, resiliency-based movement therapy, work with clay, mindfulness, and stress reduction with music therapy. Highlights important developments in knowledge about self-regulation, resilience, and posttraumatic growth.

ARTICLES

This bibliography features peer-reviewed, searchable journals and academic articles, reporting on contemporary research, analysis, and theory related to Trauma and PTSD in a therapeutic context. In addition to what is featured here, QML holds further material on this topic and can access much more, via our interlibrary loan network. If you are not finding what you need here, please email us at askthelibrary@swc.edu.

You can retrieve credentials for accessing articles from Taylor & Francis Online, by clicking here.

QML'S ACADEMIC ARTICLES DATABASE

Looking for information on how to access and effectively use QML's academic articles database? Start here.

JOURNALS

European Journal of Psychotraumatology
Publication Date: 2010 - Present
This journal aims to engage scholars, clinicians and researchers in the vital issues of how to understand, prevent and treat the consequences of stress and trauma, including but not limited to, posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD), depressive disorders, substance abuse, burnout, and neurobiological or physical consequences, using the latest research or clinical experience in these areas. The journal shares ESTSS’ mission to advance and disseminate scientific knowledge about traumatic stress. Papers may address individual events, repeated or chronic (complex) trauma, large-scale disasters, or violence. [OPEN ACCESS RESOURCE]
Journal of Loss and Trauma
Publication Date: 1996 - Present
In one forum, this journal brings together scholarship on personal losses relating to family, health, and aging issues. The journal addresses issues dealing with psychological and physical health and interpersonal losses relative to extended family, community life, and society as a whole. In order to broaden the reader’s perspective on loss and bereavement, the journal defines loss as a major reduction in a person’s resources, whether personal, material, or symbolic, to which the person was emotionally attached. Types of loss covered include: death and dying; dissolution and divorce; loss of employment; life-threatening diseases and long-term disability; loss of possessions; homelessness; recurring and haunting memories; disenfranchisement and stigmatization; losses resulting from war and violence; and aging.
Journal of Child & Adolescent Trauma
Publication Date: 2008 - 2013
This resource presents original research, and prevention and treatment strategies for dealing with symptoms and disorders related to the psychological effects of trauma. The journal examines intervention models directed toward the individual, family, and community; new theoretical models and approaches; and public policy proposals and innovations. With a multidisciplinary approach that draws input from the psychological, medical, social work, sociological, public health, and legal fields, the journal features research, intervention approaches and evidence-based programs, theoretical articles, specific review articles, brief reports and case studies, and commentaries on current and/or controversial topics.

ARTICLES

Intergenerational transmission of trauma: unpacking the effects of parental adverse childhood experiences by Xiafei Wang; Mo Yee Lee; Camille R. Quinn
Publication Date: 2023
Existing research documented the connection between individuals’ childhood trauma exposure and adverse health and behavioural health outcomes. However, less attention has been paid to understanding trauma in an intergenerational context. We conducted regression analyses to examine the associations between parental adverse childhood experiences (ACEs) and their child’s behavioural problems and functioning. Study findings highlighted the need for child behavioural health services to incorporate the screening and treatment of parental ACEs in treatment programmes to break the cycle of intergenerational trauma.
Trauma is a public health issue by Kathryn M. Magruder; Katie A. McLaughlin; Diane L. Elmore Borbon
Publication Date: 2017
Exposure to trauma is pervasive in societies worldwide and is associated with substantial costs to the individual and society, making it a significant global public health concern. We present evidence for trauma as a public health issue by highlighting the role of characteristics operating at multiple levels of influence – individual, relationship, community, and society – as explanatory factors in both the occurrence of trauma and its sequelae. Within the context of this multi-level framework, we highlight targets for prevention of trauma and its downstream consequences and provide examples of where public health approaches to prevention have met with success. Finally, we describe the essential role of public health policies in addressing trauma as a global public health issue, including key challenges for global mental health and next steps for developing and implementing a trauma-informed public health policy agenda.
Fully remote intensive trauma-focused treatment for PTSD and Complex PTSD by H. Bongaerts; E. M. Voorendonk; A. Van Minnen; L. Rozendaal; B.S.D. Telkamp; A. de Jongh
Publication Date: 2022
It is unknown whether remotely delivered intensive trauma-focused therapy not only is an effective treatment for PTSD, but also for Complex PTSD. Testing the hypothesis that a brief, fully remotely administered intensive trauma-focused treatment program for individuals with PTSD and Complex PTSD would be safe, and associated with a significant decline of the corresponding symptoms and diagnostic status. The results support the notion that intensive, trauma-focused treatment is feasible, safe and associated with a large decrease in PTSD and Complex PTSD symptoms, even when it is brief, and applied fully remote.
The impact and long-term effects of childhood trauma by Heather Dye
Publication Date: 2018
This article discusses early childhood trauma and the negative long-term consequences that can cause life-long medical and psychological deficiencies. Early childhood trauma, especially complex trauma, can cause neurobiological changes that impact human development and cause significant changes in brain function. These changes in brain structures are responsible for cognitive and physical functioning. Empirical evidence suggests that childhood trauma is associated with physical, mental, and emotional symptoms that can persist into adulthood. This article examines the impact of trauma exposure; neurologically, physiologically, and psychologically. The long-term consequences of trauma exposure, such as substance abuse, incarceration, and co-occurring psychiatric problems are discussed along with the importance of recognizing protective factors, examining resiliency, and identifying empirically based treatment modalities to help alleviate symptoms of trauma survivors.
Understanding the mental health impacts of COVID-19 through a trauma lens by Meaghan L. O’Donnell; Talya Greene
Publication Date: 2021
This special journal issue presents one of the first studies published on COVID-19. We present 26 qualitative and quantitative studies assessing the prevalence of trauma-related symptoms and psychopathology within specific vulnerable populations such as health-care workers, students, children, and managers, or more broadly at a country level with a diverse set of outcomes including post-traumatic stress, moral injury, grief and post-traumatic growth. Intervention studies focus on whether telehealth delivery of mental health therapy in the pandemic environment was useful and effective.

BOOKS

Collected here are books on Trauma and PTSD from QML's physical collection. Click a link to be taken to the book's page in the library's catalog. From there you can view additional details, check the book's availability, and place a hold. While a wealth of material on Trauma and PTSD are featured here, the list is not comprehensive. Please email us, to inquire about additional resources.

Remote students: keep in mind that items in QML's physical collection are accessible to you as well. Contact library staff to have an item sent via mail, request scans of needed chapters/sections, or inquire about alternative methods of accessing these books or any other resources in our library.

Building Resilience to Trauma: the Trauma and Community Resiliency Models by Elaine Miller-Karas
Call Number: RC455 .M55 2015
ISBN: 9780415820585
Publication Date: 2015
After a traumatic experience, survivors often experience a cascade of physical, emotional, cognitive, behavioral, and spiritual responses that leave them feeling unbalanced and threatened. Building Resilience to Trauma explains these common responses from a biological perspective, reframing the human experience from one of shame and pathology to one of hope and biology. It also presents alternative approaches, the Trauma Resiliency Model (TRM) and the Community Resiliency Model (CRM), which offer concrete and practical skills that resonate with what we know about the biology of trauma.
Trauma, Guilt and Reparation: the Path from Impasse to Development by Heinz Weiss
Call Number: BF175.5.P75 W375 2020
ISBN: 9780367185411
Publication Date: 2019
Identifies the emotional barriers faced by people who have experienced severe trauma, as well as the emergence of reparative processes which pave the way from impasse to development. The book explores the issue of trauma with particular reference to issues of reparation and guilt. Referencing the original work of Klein and others, it examines how feelings of persistent guilt work to foil attempts at reparation, locking trauma deep within the psyche. It provides a theoretical understanding of the interplay between feelings of neediness with those of fear, wrath, shame and guilt, and offers a route for patients to experience the mourning and forgiveness necessary to come to terms with their own trauma.
The Trauma of Everyday Life by Mark Epstein
Call Number: RC552.T7 E67 2014
ISBN: 9780143125747
Publication Date: 2014
Trauma does not just happen to a few unlucky people; it is the bedrock of our psychology. Death and illness touch us all, but even the everyday sufferings of loneliness and fear are traumatic. Epstein uncovers the transformational potential of trauma, revealing how it can be used for the mind’s own development. Western psychology teaches that if we understand the cause of trauma, we might move past it while many drawn to Eastern practices see meditation as a means of rising above, or distancing themselves from, their most difficult emotions. Both, Epstein argues, fail to recognize that trauma is an indivisible part of life and can be used as a lever for growth and an ever deeper understanding of change.
Arts of Healing: Cultural Narratives of Trauma by Arleen Ionescu (Editor); Maria Margaroni (Editor)
Call Number: BF175.5.P75 A78 2020
ISBN: 9781538148266
Publication Date: 2022
This book occurs at the intersection of philosophy, critical theory, psychoanalysis and the visual arts. Each chapter looks at art produced in various traumatogenic cultures: detention centres, post-Holocaust film, autobiography and many more.Other chapters look at the Juarez femicides, the production of collective memory, of makeshift memorials, acts of forgiveness and contemporary forms of trauma. The book proposes new ways of 'thinking trauma', foregrounding the possibility of healing and the task that the critical humanities has to play in this healing. Where is its place in an increasingly terror-haunted world, where personal and collective trauma is as much of an everyday occurrence as it is incomprehensible?
Trauma-Sensitive Mindfulness by David A. Treleaven
Call Number: RC531 .T687 2018
ISBN: 9780393709780
Publication Date: 2018
From elementary schools to psychotherapy offices, mindfulness meditation is an increasingly mainstream practice. At the same time, trauma remains a fact of life: the majority of us will experience a traumatic event in our lifetime, and up to 20% of us will develop posttraumatic stress. This means that anywhere mindfulness is being practiced, someone in the room is likely to be struggling with trauma. At first glance, this appears to be a good thing: trauma creates stress, and mindfulness is a proven tool for reducing it. But the reality is not so simple. Drawing on a decade of research and clinical experience, Treleaven shows that mindfulness meditation―practiced without an awareness of trauma―can exacerbate symptoms of traumatic stress.
Healing Developmental Trauma: How Early Trauma Affects Self-Regulation, Self-Image, and the Capacity for Relationship by Laurence Heller; Aline LaPierre
Call Number: QP 360.H448 2012
ISBN: 1583944893
Publication Date: 2012
Although it may seem that people suffer from an endless number of emotional problems and challenges, Laurence Heller and Aline LaPierre maintain that most of these can be traced to five biologically based organizing principles: the need for connection, attunement, trust, autonomy, and love-sexuality. They describe how early trauma impairs the capacity for connection to self and others and how the ensuing diminished aliveness is the hidden dimension that underlies most psychological and many physiological problems.

Trauma and PTSD: Home

How to Place a Hold