Quimby Memorial Library: Social Justice: Home

SOCIAL JUSTICE

Crethar, H. C. & Ratts, M. J. (2008) explain Social Justice in counseling as representing a multifaceted approach, “in which counselors strive to simultaneously promote human development and the common good through addressing challenges related to both individual and distributive justice. This approach includes empowerment of individuals and groups as well as active confrontation of injustice and inequality in society, both as they impact clientele and in their systemic contexts. In doing so, counselors direct attention to four critical principles that guide their work: equity, access, participation and harmony.”

This guide features QML's resources on the skills related to defining and furthering Social Justice, in counseling and art therapy contexts. Click a tab above to view ebooks, articles, and books on this topic. While the resources provide a well-rounded survey of our holdings on Social Justice in the helping professions, they are not comprehensive. Please contact us, if you are not seeing represented here any topics, authors, or specific foci, on which you are seeking information.

You will find links to the information you need to access and effectively use the databases housing this material, at the top of each page in this guide.

EBOOKS

Featured here are some of QML's contemporary ebooks on Social Justice as it relates to counseling and therapy. In addition to these featured items, QML holds additional material on this topic and can access much more, via our interlibrary loan network. If you are not finding what you need here, please email us at askthelibrary@swc.edu.

You can retrieve credentials for accessing ebooks from EBSCOhost, by clicking here.

QML'S EBOOKS DATABASE

Looking for additional information and tips for effectively using QML's ebooks database? Start here.

Social Justice by Loretta Capeheart; Dragan Milovanovic
ISBN: 9781978806856
Publication Date: 2020-05-15
The second edition of Social Justice: Theories, Issues, and Movements responds to the need for a comprehensive introduction to social justice issues. Theories of social justice are presented in an accessible fashion to encourage engagement of students, activists, and scholars with these important lines of inquiry. Issues are analyzed utilizing various theories for furthering engagement in possibilities. Struggles for justice -- from legal cases to on the ground movements -- are presented for historical context and to inform the way forward.
Facilitating Social Justice, Service Delivery, and Advocacy Through Multicultural Counseling Competencies by Keith B. Wilson; Si-Yi Chao; Travis S. Andrews
ISBN: 9781668461556
Publication Date: 2023-08-18
This book aims to offer both a theoretical framework and the most recent empirical research findings in the area of social variables (e.g., gender, race) as they connect with multicultural counseling competencies. Learning Objective 1: To define and understand how social variables impact the lives of both marginalized groups and those who are not marginalized part of marginalized groups in the United States. Learning Objective 2: To increase knowledge of why it is more challenging to advocate for those who may not look like you do. Learning Objective 3: To increase knowledge about the primary reasons why it is challenging to apply social justice concepts in everyday life. Learning Objective 4: To increase the knowledge and application of how to advocate for marginalized and non-marginalized groups using the Multicultural Counseling Competencies.
Counseling for Social Justice, Third Edition by Courtland C. Lee
ISBN: 9781556203565
Publication Date: 2018-03-15
Thought leaders examine social justice counseling from a global perspective in the latest edition of this pioneering book. Part 1 examines the historical and contemporary context of social justice counseling. Part 2 presents ideas for promoting social justice and challenging oppression and marginalization with individual clients and communities. Topics in this section include perspectives on peace, violence, and conflict; recommendations for global initiatives in school counseling; advocacy for decent work; promoting gender equity; fighting racism; and implementing social action strategies with LGBTQ+ communities, older people, people with disabilities, and undocumented immigrants. Part 3 contains chapters on the role of neuroscience in advancing social justice and infusing social justice perspectives in ethics, research, and counselor training.'This third edition could not come at a better time given the current national and global political climates.
Social Justice Counseling by Rita Chi-Ying Chung; Frederic P. Bemak
ISBN: 9781452263830
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
This influential and foundational text develops a new frontier in multicultural social justice work and is the next step toward alleviating the injustices faced by individuals in society. Addressing issues of social class, race and ethnicity, and more, this book reflects the shift in recent years towards social justice counseling for all mental health professionals. It offers new and unique perspectives supplementing important social justice issues and enhancing the content taught in multicultural courses. The authors are leading authorities on multicultural and social justice counseling and have led the way to create a specialization with a nationally recognized program in multicultural social justice counseling.
Intersectionality in the Arts Psychotherapies by Jessica Collier (Editor); Kairo Maynard (Contribution by); Naomi Rowe (Contribution by); Gillian Datlen (Contribution by); Charlotte Ellston (Contribution by); Noa Yeheskel (Contribution by); Hayley Berman (Contribution by); Sejal Chad (Contribution by); Corrina Eastwood (Editor); Savneet K. Talwar (Foreword by); Eleni Tsolka (Contribution by); Wabriya King (Contribution by); S. J. Langer (Contribution by); Georgina Evans (Contribution by); Sarah Turneaux-Blick (Contribution by); Jaspal Kaur Lotay (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9781787754348
Publication Date: 2022-01-21
This text advocates for contextualising of clinical thinking and experience within a social and political framework that acknowledges the importance of intersectionality. Bringing reflections on their own identity and their professional knowledge to the work, creative therapists address both practical work with clients and the theory behind these therapeutic practices. A call to reflexivity allows the reader to consider their own position as a practitioner. These chapters will challenge and develop thinking on intersectional identities. Beyond the individual, the book demonstrates the need to embed knowledge of intersectionality in the profession at large. Experienced practitioners write from diverse perspectives across the arts psychotherapies, exploring how structures of power, privilege and prejudice influence practice and outcomes.
Culturally Responsive Counseling by Farah A. Ibrahim; Jianna R. Heuer
ISBN: 9783319180564
Publication Date: 2015-09-03
This text gives readers a robust framework and innovative tools for incorporating clients'unique cultural variables in counseling and therapy. Its chapters identify cultural, societal, and worldview-based contexts for understanding clients, from the relatively familiar (ethnicity, gender, age) to the less explored (migration status, social privilege, geographic environment). Diverse cases illustrate how cultural assessments contribute to building the therapeutic relationship and developing interventions that respect client individuality as well as group identity. In these pages, clinicians are offered effective strategies for conducting more relevant and meaningful therapy, resulting in better outcomes for client populations that have traditionally been marginalized and underserved. The appendices include the Scale to Assess Worldview© (Ibrahim & Kahn, 1984), The Acculturation Index© (Ibrahim, 2008), and the Cultural Identity Check List-Revised© (Ibrahim, 2007).Among the topics covered: Cultural identity: components and assessment.Worldview: implications for culturally responsive and ethical practice.Understanding acculturation and its use in counseling and psychotherapy. Social justice variables critical for conducting counseling and psychotherapy.Immigrants: identity development and counseling issues. Designing interventions using the social justice and cultural responsiveness model.
Counseling the Culturally Diverse by Derald Wing Sue; David Sue
ISBN: 9781119084303
Publication Date: 2015-12-14
Chapter 4 of this text (entitled: The Political and Social Justice Implications of Counseling and Psychotherapy) provides an overview of contemporary approaches to addressing social justice issues in counseling.
The Professional Counselor's Desk Reference by Irmo Marini (Editor); Mark A. Stebnicki (Editor)
ISBN: 9780826171818
Publication Date: 2015-08-01
Chapter 89 of this text (entitled: Social Justice and Counseling the Oppressed), is a succinct summary of social justice issues affecting and shaping counseling approaches and theory as well as the tangible health, economic, and psychosocial impact of social injustices on clients.

ARTICLES

This bibliography features peer-reviewed, searchable journals and academic articles, reporting on contemporary research, analysis, and theory related to Social Justice within a therapeutic setting. In addition to what is featured here, QML holds further material on this topic and can access much more, via our interlibrary loan network. If you are not finding what you need here, please email us at askthelibrary@swc.edu.

You can retrieve credentials for accessing articles from Taylor & Francis Online, by clicking here.

QML'S ACADEMIC ARTICLES DATABASE

Looking for information on how to access and effectively use QML's academic articles database? Start here.

Queer Worldmaking in Sex-Positive Art Therapy: Radical Strategies for Individual Healing and Social Transformation by Zachary D. Van Den Berg & Mikey Anderson
Publication Date: 2023
This article explores queer worldmaking through art and offers avenues of inquiry, tools, and radical art-based strategies to embark on a journey toward a more sex-positive queerer world. The authors offer art therapists pathways toward embracing the foundational power of the imagination to accomplish the goal of individual healing and social transformation.
BIPOC Art Therapists: Antiracism Work Through the Virtual Circle by Miki Nishida Goerdt, Ashley Abigail Gruezo Resurreccion, Brandi Taziyah, Rhonda Johnson, Sheila Lorenzo de la Peña, & Tuesdai Johnson
Publication Date: 2022
In the wake of 2020’s racial tension and civil unrest in the United States, Black, Indigenous, and People of Color (BIPOC) art therapists and graduate students found themselves in need of support from like-minded, social justice-oriented peers. A virtual monthly peer support group called the BIPOC Art Therapists’ Circle was formed. A different member selected reading materials to which members created response art. Outcomes of the Circle include: shared experience of oppression; connection and empowerment through art sharing; safety; emotional support and validation; vulnerability and authenticity; widened perspectives; and motivation to advocate outside of circle meetings. The experience of the BIPOC circle confirms its critical importance as a source of support for BIPOC art therapists and students.
Acknowledging the past: trauma informed social justice & dance movement therapy by Tosha Lanette Jorden
Publication Date: 2022
This theoretical paper examines historical traumas and the impact they have on the mental health fields when working within similarities and across difference. This paper also examines racist ideologies in North America and how they are woven into the institutions and interpersonal relationships one can encounter. Traumas that are examined for the purposes of this paper are collective traumas such as Drapetomania, Tuskegee experiment/study, police brutality and the lynch laws. The use of some props in the dance/movement therapy field is examined through the lens of trauma-informed social justice care to prevent harm. There will be a theoretical model for clinicians to use to track their bias, assumptions, power, privilege, and prejudice.
Response Art to Develop a Social Justice Stance for Art Therapists by Danielle Chen, Sarah Johns, Lucy Romanik, &Victoria Glasscock
Publication Date: 2022
Four recent art therapy graduates created reflective artwork to process the COVID-19 pandemic and U.S. antiracist demonstrations and protests. This viewpoint describes their arts-based responses and intersubjective meetings to practice reflexive cultural humility. Key discoveries included themes of power and privilege, vulnerability, and moving toward the discomfort of addressing racism. The processes describe how reflective art-making can cultivate creative spaces for difficult conversations, opportunities for mutual reflection, and foundation sharing with the wider art therapy community to practice.
From social justice to abolition: living up to social work’s grand challenge of eliminating racism by Kristen Brock-Petroshius, Dominique Mikell, Durrell Malik Washington Sr., & Kirk James
Publication Date: 2022
How can social work live up to the 13th Grand Challenge of Eliminating Racism? In this article we argue for the replacement of the predominant social justice paradigm with a framework for anti-racist social work praxis informed by abolitionist principles. The primary aim of anti-racist social work praxis needs to be the building of power in Black, Indigenous, or Brown and poor communities. We define additional praxis principles, including engaging with critical theories, advancing macro-approaches, targeting racism at the source, and developing interventions to eliminate and address the effects of racism. We end by sharing concrete anti-racist praxis tools.
Transforming Power Through Cultural Humility in the Intercultural Contact Zone of Art Therapy by Lynn Kapitan
Publication Date: 2022
This article conceptualizes art therapy as an intercultural contact zone or social ecotone, defined as the liminal space that emerges when two or more habitats overlap. In the unresolved tensions of their interaction, negotiation of power through cultural humility is an ongoing, profoundly ethical process. This premise is illustrated with examples from a high-contrast contact zone the author experienced as an art therapist in collaboration with a social justice-oriented organization serving marginalized communities in their emancipatory goals. The implications of cultural borderlands are discussed as transgressive zones of transformative power and exchange.
Person-centered conceptualization of multiculturalism and social justice in counseling by Alyssa M. Swan & Peggy Ceballos
Publication Date: 2020
In order to incorporate multiculturalism and social justice advocacy into effective and ethical practice, it is critical for person-centered counselors to be able to conceptualize, understand, and serve social justice issues through a person-centered lens. First, this article presents a brief overview of the person-centered dialogue related to multiculturalism and social justice advocacy in counseling. The article then offers a conceptualization of several social justice-related issues impacting clients using person-centered terminology and philosophy in an effort to increase understanding. Lastly, it shares perspectives on how person-centered counselors serve as social justice advocates within and outside of the direct counseling relationship. Multicultural, ethical, and legal considerations are incorporated throughout the discussion.
Sociopolitical Oppression, Trauma, and Healing: Moving Toward a Social Justice Art Therapy Framework by Owen Paul Karcher
Publication Date: 2017
Here Karcher offers an expanded definition of trauma as it relates to social and political oppression, and examines the privileges and assumptions he holds as a therapist. The author provides case examples from clinical practice of client responses to political and societal trauma, ending with suggestions for critical self-reflection for art therapists invested in a social justice framework.
Sexual Justice Is Social Justice: An Activity to Expand Social Work Students Understanding of Sexual Rights and Injustices by George W. Turner, Al Vernacchio, & Brent Satterly
Publication Date: 2018
Social work education could benefit from an explicit educational framework that combines social justice and sexuality: sexual justice. However, there is a paucity of literature in social work discussing this critical issue. This article helps equip social workers to challenge social injustice through a lens of sexuality and builds a conceptual framework by examining sexual justice through pillars of social work: human dignity, community and solidarity, rights and responsibilities, priority for the poor and vulnerable, and peace. An activity providing micro and macro case discussions is presented to help infuse sexual justice into social work programs.
‘At the level of the word: Nurturing justice in therapeutic conversations’ by David Paré
Publication Date: 2019
The issue of social justice and how it unfolds in the lives of persons seeking counselling has been steadily gaining attention in recent times. This development marks a departure from an individualistic perspective that construes problems as functions of personal deficits, thereby overlooking the many social inequities that contribute to the challenges people face. The turn towards social justice manifests primarily in a call for advocacy on behalf of therapy clients. While celebrating these developments, this article suggests that it is not just in interactions outside the consulting room that injustices may be perpetrated. The author invites attention to the ways in which social justice, or the lack thereof, can be understood to unfold within counselling conversations.
Toward an Ethical Application of Intersectionality in Art Therapy by Erin Kuri
Publication Date: 2017
A pertinent aim of art therapy is to support clients facing unprecedented barriers to social justice in a time of political uncertainty, heightened by the impact of neoliberalism and globalization. In this article, Kuri demonstrates the ongoing need to apply an intersectional framework to art therapy practice in a manner that acknowledges power, reflexivity, and the social construction of meaning. Intersectionality is a way to understand how marginalized, intragroup identity differences simultaneously intersect to create and exacerbate experiences of oppression. Kuri offers a critical analysis of epistemological and ontological theories of social justice, ethics, and diversity.
Relational Social Justice Ethics for Art Therapists by Jordan S. Potash
Publication Date: 2019
Relational social justice integrates psychological theories and practices with political and social change paradigms to situate relationships as central to ethical decision making. The core of this approach entails strong assurance of human rights and commitment to dialogue across racial, cultural, social, and political differences. Typical patterns that characterize protesters and opponents as enemies are replaced with both functioning as partners in the quest for social change. Art therapists can employ the relational approach to ethics when engaging with policymakers, colleagues, and clients to challenge injustice and reimagine societal norms.

BOOKS

Collected here are books on Social Justice from QML's physical collection. Click a link to be taken to the book's page in the library's catalog. From there you can view additional details, check the book's availability, and place a hold. While a wealth of material on Social Justice is featured here, the list is not comprehensive. Please email us, to inquire about additional resources.

Remote students: keep in mind that items in QML's physical collection are accessible to you as well. Contact library staff to have an item sent via mail, request scans of needed chapters/sections, or inquire about alternative methods of accessing these books or any other resources in our library.

Enhancing Social Justice, Service Delivery, and Advocacy Through Multicultural Counseling Competencies by Keith B. Wilson; Si-Yi Chao; Travis S. Andrews
Call Number: BF636.7.C76 F33 2023
ISBN: 9781668461563
Publication Date: 2023
Many post-secondary institutions have added courses dealing with diversity-related topics in their curriculum over the last decade. Because many professionals will encounter people with disabilities or underrepresented groups in their daily vocations, either as peers or people seeking services, it is essential to understand the unique challenges these individuals face in society. Facilitating Social Justice, Service Delivery, and Advocacy Through Multicultural Counseling Competencies explores how social variables, intersectionality, and multicultural competencies are connected to one of the essential words in the diversity lexicon: advocacy.
The Wake Up: Closing the Gap Between Good Intentions and Real Change by Michelle Mijung Kim
Call Number: HM831 .K586 2021
ISBN: 9780306847226
Publication Date: 2023
As we become more aware of various social injustices in the world, many of us want to be part of the movement toward positive change. But sometimes our best intentions cause unintended harm, and we fumble. We might feel afraid to say the wrong thing and feel guilt for not doing or knowing enough. Sometimes we might engage in performative allyship rather than thoughtful solidarity, leaving those already marginalized further burdened and exhausted. The feelings of fear, insecurity, inadequacy are all too common among a wide spectrum of changemakers, and they put many at a crossroads between feeling stuck and giving up, or staying grounded to keep going. So how can we go beyond performative allyship to creating real change in ourselves and in the world, together?
Data-Driven DEI by Randal Pinkett
Call Number: HF5549.5.M5 P57 2023
ISBN: 9781119856870
Publication Date: 2023
In Data-Driven DEI: The Tools and Metrics You Need to Measure, Analyze, and Improve Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion, Dr. Randal Pinkett, a renowned diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI) thought leader delivers a practical and evidence-based blueprint to achieving lasting impact with your DEI initiatives. Dr. Pinkett has created a simple, step-by-step process to assess the current state of your DEI, analyze that data to create a personal and organizational action plan, and implement data-driven, science-based, and technology-enabled interventions for greater diversity, equity, and inclusion.
Social Justice, Multicultural Counseling, and Practice by Heesoon Jun
Call Number: BF636.7.C76 J86 2018
ISBN: 3319725130
Publication Date: 2018
This second edition book provides an update to multicultural psychology and counseling research findings, and the DSM-5 in sociopolitical and cultural contexts. It links social psychology with current cognitive science research on implicit learning, ethnocentrism (attribution error, in-group favoritism, and asymmetric perception), automatic information processing, and inappropriate generalization. Chapters discuss the interwoven characteristics of multiple identities of individuals such as race, gender, class, disability, age, religion, region, and sexual orientation. In addition, the book offers concrete strategies to facilitate inner-dialogue and discussion of self-perception and interpersonal relationships.
Art Therapy for Social Justice by Savneet K. Talwar
ISBN: 9781138909069
Publication Date: 2019
Talwar's 2019 book seeks to open a conversation about the cultural turn in art therapy to explore the critical intersection of social change and social justice. By moving the practice of art therapy beyond standard individualized treatment models, the authors promote scholarship and dialogue that opens boundaries; they envision cross disciplinary approaches with a focus on intersectionality through the lens of black feminism, womanism, antiracism, queer theory, disability studies, and cultural theory.
Interrupting Racism by Rebecca Atkins; Alicia Oglesby
Call Number: LB1027.5 .A845 2019
ISBN: 9780815366416
Publication Date: 2018-11-20
This text provides school counselors with a brief overview of racial equity in schools and practical ideas that a school-level practitioner can put into action. The book walks readers through the current state of achievement gap and racial equity in schools and looks at issues around intention, action, white privilege, and implicit bias. Later chapters include interrupting racism case studies and stories from school counselors about incorporating stakeholders into the work of racial equity. Activities, lessons, and action plans promote self-reflection, staff-reflection, and student-reflection and encourage school counselors to drive systemic change for students through advocacy, collaboration, and leadership.
Cultural Humility in Art Therapy by Louvenia Jackson; Melanie Tervalon (Foreword by)
Call Number: RC489.A7 J33 2020
ISBN: 9781785926433
Publication Date: 2020-02-21
Introducing the concept of cultural humility, this guide offers a new perspective to the field of art therapy practice and theory. It explores cultural humility in art therapy research and assessment, clinical and community-based practice, social justice, self-care and pedagogy.The notion of cultural humility addresses the power differential and encourages individuals and institutions to examine privilege within social constructs. It emphasizes self-reflection and the ability of knowing one's self in order to allow the art therapist to appropriately interact with their client, whilst being mindful of their own bias, assumptions and beliefs.
Ecological and Social Healing by Jeanine M. Canty (Editor)
Call Number: GE197 .E26 2017
ISBN: 9781138193666
Publication Date: 2016-08-23
This book is an edited collection of essays by fourteen multicultural women (including a few Anglo women) who are doing work that crosses the boundaries of ecological and social healing. The women are prominent academics, writers and leaders spanning Native American, Indigenous, Asian, African, Latina, Jewish and Multiracial backgrounds. The contributors express a myriad of ways that the relationship between the ecological and social have brought new understanding to their experiences and work in the world. Moreover by working with these edges of awareness, they are identifying new forms of teaching, leading, healing and positive change.
ACA Advocacy Competencies by Manivong J. Ratts; Rebecca Toporek; Judith A. Lewis; American Counseling Association Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: BF636.67 .R38 2010
ISBN: 9781556202933
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Experts discuss how counselors, counselor educators, and students can use the ideals in the ACA Advocacy Competencies with diverse client populations (people of color, clients living in poverty, people with disabilities, LGBTQ individuals, older persons), across various counseling settings (K-12, private practice, colleges and universities, counselor education and supervision), and in multiple specialty areas (group work, career counseling, rehabilitation, substance abuse counseling). Examples in each chapter provide guidance as to when individual empowerment counseling is sufficient or when situations call for advocacy on behalf of clients or their communities within the public arena or political domain. Thought provoking and engaging, this book is an invaluable resource for teaching and course work and a call for all counselors to participate in social justice and systems change.

Social Justice: Home

How to Place a Hold