Quimby Memorial Library: Solution-Focused Brief Therapy: Home

SOLUTION-FOCUSED BRIEF THERAPY

A widely used therapeutic treatment that concentrates on finding solutions in the present and exploring one's hopes for the future in order to find a quick and pragmatic resolution to a problem, Solution-Focused Brief Therapy assumes that with the appropriate coaching and questioning, client's are capable of finding the best solutions.

This guide features QML's resources on the theory and practice of Solution-Focused Brief Therapy. Click a tab above to view ebooks, articles, and books on this approach. While the resources provide a well-rounded survey of our holdings on the topic, they are not comprehensive. Please contact us, if you are not seeing represented here any topics, authors, or specific foci, on which you are seeking information.

You will find links to the information you need to access and effectively use the databases housing this material, at the top of each page in this guide.

EBOOKS

Featured here are some of QML's contemporary ebooks on Solution-Focused Brief Therapy. In addition to these featured items, QML holds additional material on this topic and can access much more, via our interlibrary loan network. If you are not finding what you need here, please email us at askthelibrary@swc.edu.

You can retrieve credentials for accessing ebooks from EBSCOhost, by clicking here.

QML'S EBOOKS DATABASE

Looking for additional information and tips for effectively using QML's ebooks database? Start here.

Creative Ideas for Solution Focused Practice by Judith Milner; Steve Myers
ISBN: 9781785922176
Publication Date: 2017-02-21
Exploring creative ways to implement solution focused practice, this book is packed full of ideas to inspire ways of working with clients which focus on their strengths as a means to finding solutions.Outlining how and why strengths-based interviewing for solutions is effective, the book provides a wealth of different ways to apply key solution focused techniques. With exercises, sample questions and top tips for tricky situations, the authors show how to apply creative methods in a variety of different settings and with different service user groups. Suitable for use with children and adults, this accessible book will offer exciting ideas for those new to solution focused working as well as more experienced practitioners looking for inspiration.
Working with Violence and Confrontation Using Solution-Focused Approaches by Judith Milner; Steve Myers; Andrew Turnell (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9781785920554
Publication Date: 2016-10-21
The book shows how to engage clients in solution talk as opposed to problem talk, set useful goals and help clients to develop new behaviours. It outlines the practice principles and working techniques that make up solution focused practice with physical, emotional and sexual violence. Illustrative case studies and practice activities are provided. This book is suitable for anyone working to help reduce violent behaviour, including social workers, counsellors, therapists, nurses, probation workers and youth offending teams.
Solution-Focused Counseling in Schools by John J. Murphy
ISBN: 9781119814412
Publication Date: 2022-09-20
This book translates the theoretical foundations of solution-focused counseling into a brief, culturally responsive approach for school counselors, psychologists, social workers, and graduate students. As an experienced practitioner and international presenter on this topic, Dr. Murphy has organized the fourth edition to reflect content offered in a comprehensive workshop on solution-focused counseling to further enhance its usefulness and presents a straightforward process for building practical solutions to some of the most challenging cases experienced in school settings. Text features include a variety of real-life examples and dialogues with preschool–12 students, experiential activities and practice exercises, and appendixes with tools and templates for putting solution-focused counseling into immediate action.
Autism and Solution-Focused Practice by Els Mattelin; Hannelore Volckaert; Elaine Cook (Editor)
ISBN: 9781785923289
Publication Date: 2017-06-21
This concise, pragmatic guide explains how the practice of SFBT can be effectively adapted to help clients on the autism spectrum find solutions to their problems, by addressing autism not as a disability but as a different way of thinking. The first section is a helpful introduction to how solution-focused practitioners can gain an understanding of autism by viewing it from a 'different culture' perspective; the second part offers handy rules and tips for applying knowledge respectfully and creating successful conversations with clients.
Using Solution Focused Practice with Adults in Health and Social Care by Judith Milner; Steve Myers
ISBN: 9781785920677
Publication Date: 2017-11-21
This book outlines the basic principles and techniques which can be used to identify people's strengths and abilities to overcome challenges, make their own decisions and achieve their goals. Using case examples of life challenges at every stage of adulthood, including problematic behaviours, trauma, loss and end of life care, it provides stimulating activities and questions that will help professionals develop constructive conversations with service users and help them find the solutions they need.
Solution Focused Therapy with Couples by Elliott Connie
ISBN: 9780826109590
Publication Date: 2012-10-01
In the first book written about solution focused therapy (SFT) with couples, author Elliott Connie describes how his use of SFT made working with couples a pleasure rather than a burden. The solution focused approach is one that facilitates cooperation between partners in the creation of an agreed-upon future, rather than merely focusing on the problems that have come to define the relationship. Beginning with a clear explanation of the assumptions and tenets required for the practice of SFT, this book presents a step-by-step breakdown of exactly how to conduct solution building sessions with couples. Each chapter focuses on a different part of the therapeutic process and includes sample dialogues, techniques, and vignettes drawn from the authorís own extensive practice.
Solution Focused Therapy for the Helping Professions by Barry Winbolt
ISBN: 9781843109709
Publication Date: 2010-12-15
This accessible guide to Solution Focused Brief Therapy (SFBT), an effective therapeutic approach which focuses on strengths and achievements, provides a practical introduction to what SFBT is and how to use it with clients.Barry Winbolt leads the reader through the principles, techniques and steps involved in the approach, including forming a productive working relationship with the client, using questions creatively, the effective use of language, and working collaboratively with the client in finding solutions. Case studies are included to demonstrate the ideas and techniques presented.
Solution Focused Narrative Therapy by Linda Metcalf
ISBN: 9780826131768
Publication Date: 2017-04-01
This groundbreaking book is the first to provide a comprehensive model for effectively blending the two main postmodern brief therapy approaches: solution-focused and narrative therapies. It harnesses the power of both models—the strengths-based, problem-solving approach of SFT and the value-honoring and re-descriptive approach of Narrative Therapy--to offer brief, effective help to clients that builds on their strengths and abilities to envision and craft preferred outcomes.
Doing What Works in Brief Therapy by Ellen K. Quick
ISBN: 9780123741752
Publication Date: 2008-03-11
This text integrates strategic and solution focused therapy and includes guidelines for tailoring technique and interventions to client characteristics and preferences. With clinically rich examples throughout, this book offers applications for couples, including indications for individual or conjoint sessions.

ARTICLES

This bibliography features peer reviewed, searchable journals and academic articles, reporting on contemporary research on and clinical application of Solution-Focused Brief Therapy. In addition to what is featured here, QML holds further material on this topic and can access much more, via our interlibrary loan network. If you are not finding what you need here, please email us at askthelibrary@swc.edu.

You can retrieve credentials for accessing articles from Taylor & Francis Online, by clicking here.

QML'S ACADEMIC ARTICLES DATABASE

Looking for information on how to access and effectively use QML's academic articles database? Start here.

The Global Outcomes of Solution-Focused Brief Therapy: A Revision by Marie-Carmen Neipp & Mark Beyebach
Publication Date: 2022
Solution-focused Brief Therapy (SFBT) has generated outcome research worldwide and in a variety of intervention contexts. A systematic literature search yielded 251 published outcome studies on SFBT. SFBT was found superior to control groups or at post-test in almost nine out of every ten studies. Taking only 91 randomized controlled trials (RCTs) into account, SFBT was still found superior in seven out of every ten. Results varied slightly according to intervention type and format, manualization, and components of SFBT. They also varied more according to type of comparator and use of diagnostic criteria. These results widen the evidence base for SFBT.
The Role of the Solution-Focused Brief Therapist in Client-Led Problem Talks by Jung Jin Choi
Publication Date: 2021
A misconception about solution-focused brief therapy (SFBT) is that the therapist does not need to discuss problems. This is partly attributable to the lack of research on the role of therapists in problem talks in SFBT. A case conducted by Insoo Kim Berg was analyzed. The microanalysis of the problem talks led by the clients indicates that Berg both asked problem-oriented questions and used formulations in SFBT ways. The results indicate that an SFBT therapist should be able to engage in a problem talk, as necessary, as a preliminary step forward to a solution talk without expanding the problem talk.
The Solution-Focused Approach to Trauma Therapy by Leoš Zatloukal & Ben Furman
Publication Date: 2021
The possibilities for using solution-focused brief therapy (SFBT) during trauma therapy are presented in this article. First, “trauma” and related constructs used in psychotherapy are defined, as well as some misconceptions about trauma. The second part introduces the basic tenets of SFBT and the adapted “river of integration” model (Siegel, Citation2010), which helps to reflect the various ways SFBT practices are used in trauma therapy. Methods for solution-development in trauma therapy (e.g., work with preferred future, exceptions, personal growth, identity change, and re-connecting) are introduced in the next section. This is followed by methods for change in rigid patterns (e.g., experiential and “bottom-up” work) and for managing overwhelming chaos (coping and playful meaning-making techniques). Case examples are also available to illustrate those methods.
Solution-focused wellness coaching: a mixed methods, longitudinal study with college students by James D. Beauchemin, Sandra D. Facemire, Kipp R. Pietrantonio, Helen T. Yates, & Danya Krueger
Publication Date: 2020
This research study examined the effectiveness of a short-term solution-focused intervention on perceptions of wellness and stress among the college student population. This study utilized a longitudinal, mixed-methods design to assess the impact of a brief (seven-week) intervention on perceived stress and wellness among 52 college students at a large Midwestern University, using the Perceived Stress Scale (PSS) and Five-Factor Wellness Evaluation of Lifestyle (5 F-WEL). The study demonstrates the effectiveness of a solution-focused wellness (SFW) approach in changing perceptions of stress and wellness. Findings provide support for a prevention model in which college students are encouraged to proactively engage in lifestyle activities that enhance their wellness.
A Case Study of Solution-Focused Brief Family Therapy by Jung Jin Choi
Publication Date: 2019
Solution-focused brief therapy (SFBT) was developed as a form of family therapy. Recently, these features have blurred. This case study explores how one therapist interacts with multiple family members in SFBT. The results indicate evidence for efficacy of a circular procedure to ensure that all the family members are involved in the process. The analysis demonstrates the importance of purposeful use of language and the influence of systems theory in SFBT. SFBT provides a useful framework that enables a family therapist to work together with families to help them make the changes they want with their own strengths and resources.
Solution-Focused Brief Therapy With Latinos: A Systematic Review by Karla González Suitt, Cynthia Franklin, & Johnny Kim
Publication Date: 2016
This article reviews all the published and non-published outcome studies that were randomized controlled trials (RCTs) or quasi-experimental designs on solution-focused brief therapy (SFBT) conducted with Latinos within the United States and Latin America. Data search included 18 databases for published articles, three databases for dissertations, and other sources of information. Forty-four studies met the criteria for a full-text review and, of those, six studies met criteria for this systematic review. Studies of SFBT with Latinos were conducted in adult mental health, children and adolescents in school, and couples, revealing positive outcomes on the effects of SFBT on standardized measures and participant goals.
Using Solution-Focused Dramatic Empathy Training to Eliminate Cyber-Bullying by Janet Froeschle Hicks, Brian Le Clair, & Stephan Berry
Publication Date: 2016
Cyber-bullying has become an unfortunate reality suffered by thousands of students and appears to have become part of the landscape of adolescent communication patterns. This article describes the evolving dimensions of teen cyber-bullying that may have escaped the awareness of concerned adults, discusses the changing nature of cyber-bullying, and outlines a group program aimed at reducing aggressive behaviors among youth who cyber-bully others. The program is geared toward middle school students and uses drama, empathy training, and solution-focused brief therapy as part of the intervention. The benefits and rationale for using this program, along with specific program details, are discussed.

BOOKS

Collected here are books on Solution-Focused Brief Therapy from QML's physical collection. Click a link to be taken to the book's page in the library's catalog. From there you can view additional details, check the book's availability, and place a hold. While a wealth of material on Solution-Focused Brief Therapy is featured here, the list is not comprehensive. Please email us, to inquire about additional resources.

Remote students: keep in mind that items in QML's physical collection are accessible to you as well. Contact library staff to have an item sent via mail, request scans of needed chapters/sections, or inquire about alternative methods of accessing these books or any other resources in our library.

Solution-Focused Brief Therapy with Families by Thorana S. Nelson
Call Number: RC480.55 2019
ISBN: 9781138541160
Publication Date: 2018-10-16
describes SFBT from a systemic perspective and provides students, educators, trainers, and practitioners with a clear explanation and rich examples of SFBT and systemic family therapy. Family therapists will learn how SFBT works with families, solution-focused therapists will learn how a systemic understanding of clients and their contexts can enhance their work, and all will learn how to harness the power of each to the service of their clients. The book starts with an exploration of systems, cybernetics, and communication theory basics such as wholeness, recursion, homeostasis, and change. Following this is an introduction to five fundamental family therapy approaches and an overview of Solution-Focused Brief Therapy. Next, the author considers SFBT within a systems paradigm and provides a demonstration of SFBT with families and couples. Each step is explicated with ideas from both SFBTA as well as systems. The final chapter shows how SFBT practices can be applied to a variety of family therapy approaches.
Tools for Effective Therapy with Children and Families by Pamela K. King
Call Number: RJ505.P6 2017
ISBN: 9781138126176
Publication Date: 2017-02-08
This book provides mental health professionals with step-by-step tools and strategies for effective therapeutic outcomes with children and their families. An integration of solution-focused brief therapy and play therapy, this groundbreaking book is uniquely suited to clinicians working with school-aged children and their parents. Tools for Effective Therapy with Children and Families uses clearly articulated and creative play activities to elicit conversations about solutions, successes, and collaborative goals with clients. Session transcripts and technique illustrations throughout the chapters allow clinicians to see the solution-focused approach in action.
Doing Something Different by Thorana S. Nelson (Editor)
Call Number: RC489.S65 D64 2010
ISBN: 9780415879613
Publication Date: 2010-05-19
This book provides those interested in the solution-focused approach with a plethora of ideas for practice, training, and simply enjoying the solution-focused approach and its practice in therapy, consulting, coaching, and training. It contains a varied and rich array of interventions, training ideas, uses with different populations and approaches, and resources written by contributors who represent many countries and viewpoints, and who are well known in the training and practice of the solution-focused approach. Chapters are presented in simple language, as befits the solution-focused approach, and complement the many serious and whimsical sections of the book, which include practice and training ideas, favorite quotes and stories, “outrageous” moments in therapy, and a list of solution-focused songs.
Solution Focused Practice in End-Of-Life and Grief Counseling by Joel Simon
Call Number: RC451.4.T47 S56 2010
ISBN: 0826105807
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
This book presents a general overview of solution focused practice, tools, and methodologies for practitioners. The author also provides real-life vignettes and verbatim transcripts from actual patients in end-of-life or bereavement counseling. This book provides insight into the philosophy and practice of solution focused therapy, as applied to clients with life-limiting conditions and their loved ones. Key topics discussed: the use of language in solution focused practice theory, meaning making, and the role of emotions; tools of solution-building, with questions, troubleshooting guidelines, and tips for evaluating outcomes; the distinction between problem-solving and solution-building; co-constructing goals with clients applying solution focused principles to hospice, grief, and bereavement practice.
Handbook of Solution-Focused Brief Therapy by Thorana S. Nelson (Editor); Frank N. Thomas (Editor)
Call Number: RC489.S65 .H362 2007
ISBN: 9780789023957
Publication Date: 2022-06-24
The Handbook of Solution-Focused Brief Therapy is a unique, comprehensive guide that assists clinicians, regardless of experience level, in learning and applying the concepts of Solution-Focused Brief Therapy (SFBT) to particular situations with clients. Noted experts discuss the therapy practices and various uses for the approach in detail, which focuses on encouraging clients to look at exceptions, times when the problem could have occurred and did not, and goals and future possibilities. A history of the practice model and its interventions is discussed, along with limitations, descriptions of practice strategies, applications to specific client populations, and clinical problems and concerns. This useful resource also includes an illustrative case study that uses the SFBT model.