Quimby Memorial Library: Person-Centered Therapy: Home

PERSON-CENTERED THERAPY

Sometimes referred to as Client-centered therapy or the Rogerian approach (after Carl Rogers, the modality's pioneer) Person-Centered Therapy employs a non-authoritative approach that allows clients to take the lead in sessions - and in so doing have the ability to discover their own solutions. The therapist acts as a compassionate facilitator, listening without judgment while acknowledging the client's experiences.

This guide features QML's resources on the theory and practice of Person-Centered Therapy. Click a tab above to view ebooks, articles, and books on this approach. While the resources provide a well-rounded survey of our holdings on the topic, they are not comprehensive. Please contact us, if you are not seeing represented here any topics, authors, or specific foci, on which you are seeking information.

You will find links to the information you need to access and effectively use the databases housing this material, at the top of each page in this guide.

EBOOKS

Featured here are some of QML's contemporary ebooks on Person-Centered Therapy. In addition to these featured items, QML holds additional material on this topic and can access much more, via our interlibrary loan network. If you are not finding what you need here, please email us at askthelibrary@swc.edu.

You can retrieve credentials for accessing ebooks from EBSCOhost, by clicking here.

QML'S EBOOKS DATABASE

Looking for additional information and tips for effectively using QML's ebooks database? Start here.

Person-Centered Diagnosis and Treatment in Mental Health by Peter Ladd; AnnMarie Churchill
ISBN: 9781849058865
Publication Date: 2012-06-15
This reference manual takes a person-centered, holistic approach to diagnosis and treatment, seeing the client as the unrecognized expert on their condition and encouraging their collaboration. This qualitative approach aims to find meaning in the experiences of the client, exploring the reasons behind their feelings and behaviour and taking the whole person into account. Designed to complement DSM assessments, the manual covers several different conditions including ADHD, depression, bulimia, and OCD, as well as mental health'patterns'such as abuse, bullying, violence and loss. In each case, the client is involved in the diagnosis and treatment plan. The book features extended case studies, sample questions and treatment plans throughout.
Person-Centred Counselling for Trans and Gender Diverse People by Sam Hope
ISBN: 9781785925429
Publication Date: 2019-08-21
Trans clients are frequently doubted, misunderstood, infantilised and judged by professionals, and this book presents an approach that ensures psychological wellbeing and trust is built between counsellor and client. This person-centred, affirmative approach is based around unlearning assumptions about gender and destabilising professionals 'ideas of' knowing better' than, and judging the client, so that they can forge a relationship and connection that is on an equal footing. The book explores a range of topics such as the overlap of gender diversity and autism, sex and sexuality, intersectionality, unconscious bias and reflective practice.
Humanising Psychiatry and Mental Health Care by Rachel Freeth
ISBN: 9781138448810
Publication Date: 2017-07-27
This book explores, in depth, the link between modern psychiatric practice and the person-centred approach. It promotes an open dialogue to assist greater understanding and improve practice. Easy to read and comprehend, it explains complex issues in a clear and accessible manner. The author is a full-time psychiatrist and qualified counsellor who offers a unique perspective drawing on personal experience.
Supporting Positive Behaviour in Intellectual Disabilities and Autism by Tony Osgood
ISBN: 9781787751323
Publication Date: 2019-12-19
Linked directly here, chapter 5 of this text (The Elephants in the Room: On Being Person Centred) defines a person-centered context for thinking about, learning about, and conceiving effective methods for helping individuals with developmental disabilities (including autism), who are exhibiting challenging behavior.
The Creative Arts in Dementia Care by Shaun McNiff (Foreword by); Sarah Povey (Contribution by); Jill Hayes
ISBN: 9781849050562
Publication Date: 2010-09-15
This book provides a creative map of care with easy-to-follow examples and detailed case studies. After explaining why adopting a creative approach is central to effective dementia care, the authors go on to discuss meditation, singing, movement and storytelling, describing the therapeutic benefits of each and giving practical examples of how they can be used with individuals or groups. They also look at the importance of creative supervision in promoting creativity and creating a safe space for honest interpersonal connection: an essential foundation for effective teamwork.
Treatment Planning for Person-Centered Care by Neal Adams; Diane M. Grieder
ISBN: 9780120441556
Publication Date: 2004-12-03
This guide to treatment planning aims to: enhance the reader's understanding of the value and role of treatment planning in responding to the needs of adults, children and families with mental health and substance abuse treatment needs; build the skills necessary to provide quality, person-centered, culturally competent and recovery / resiliency-orientated care in a changing service delivery system; provide readers with sample documents, examples of how to write a plan, etc.; and provide a text and educational tool for course work and training as well as a reference for established practitioners.
Person-Centred Counselling for People with Dementia by Danuta Lipinska; Brian Thorne (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9781843109785
Publication Date: 2009-01-15
explores the pervasive myth that all experiences of living with dementia are entirely negative and shows counsellors and carers how a person-centred counselling experience can have positive outcomes for those with dementia and the people who care for them.Based on the author's own experiences of counselling people with dementia, the book covers the fundamentals of the counselling process and precisely what a person-centred approach entails. Accumulating findings from over 20 years of counselling experience in both the UK and the US, this book explores the importance of the Self and recognising each individual's worth and value.
Teaching Empathy and Conflict Resolution to People with Dementia by Cameron Camp; Linda Camp
ISBN: 9781785927881
Publication Date: 2018-01-18
Introducing a new model of dementia care that reflects on the role of a person with dementia within a community and their relationships, this guide for professional and family caregivers demonstrates how to facilitate positive relationships for peaceful living.By understanding the cognitive and physical challenges that older adults with dementia face, caregivers can practice empathic care that affords people with dementia increased freedom of expression and independence. Included here are techniques for conflict resolution that enable people with dementia to be active and self-initiating in times of distress and disruption. Looking at the basics of respect, empathy, and mindfulness, this book also provides hands-on training for employing these virtues in practice.

ARTICLES

This bibliography features peer reviewed, searchable journals and academic articles, reporting on contemporary research on and clinical application of Person-Centered Therapy. In addition to what is featured here, QML holds further material on this topic and can access much more, via our interlibrary loan network. If you are not finding what you need here, please email us at askthelibrary@swc.edu.

You can retrieve credentials for accessing articles from Taylor & Francis Online, by clicking here.

QML'S ACADEMIC ARTICLES DATABASE

Looking for information on how to access and effectively use QML's academic articles database? Start here.

ARTICLES

Online video conferencing therapy and the person-centered approach in the context of a global pandemic by Brian Rodgers, Keith Tudor, & Anton Ashcroft
Publication Date: 2021
Working therapeutically online can offer a number of challenges, not least to therapists’ ideas about ways of engaging and working with clients, and views of reality, as well as to familiar theories about therapy, including the therapeutic relationship or ways of therapeutic relating. Taking Rogers’ theory of certain necessary and sufficient conditions – of psychotherapeutic change and of constructive personality change – this article considers each condition with regard to different experiences and aspects of online video conferencing therapy. In doing so, the article tests not only the necessity and sufficiency of these six conditions but also, and in keeping with Rogers’ methodology, of the theory itself. As the article was written in a time of a global pandemic, it also offers reflections on the experiences of the authors working therapeutically online in this context.
Why should person-centered facilitating be gender-sensitive? by Karin Macke & Gabriele Hasler
Publication Date: 2019
As gender still functions as a basis for discrimination in the existing social order, the authors point out the importance of knowing about and reflecting gender prejudices as well as gender stereotypes, forms and mechanisms of discrimination being at work in order to not reproduce gender inequalities in facilitated groups. This article summarizes principles and present insights into gender-sensitiveness that might be important for person-centred encounter-groups.
Is person-centered therapy (PCT) a radical alternative to today’s individual and political situation or a failed revolution? by Susanna Markowitsch
Publication Date: 2018
Adapting the PCA to the 21st century implies neither modification nor improvement of the original concept, but its adjustment to a changing world in such way as to generate enthusiastic support for it. PCA stresses an inner attitude as a basis on which harmonious co-existence in life can be built. Rogers called the PCA a quiet revolution. In what state is the revolution he promoted? Is it too silent, or has it yet to start after the lapse of so many years? How can we help the immature PCA to ‘grow up’ and assume an individual identity? This article hypothesizes that the problem lies not only in a mistaken idea of tolerance, but also in a reluctance to making oneself visible as a person, and that these are obstacles to a widespread and popular PCA.
There and back again: re-envisioning ‘relationship therapy’ as the center of a contemporary, cultural, and contextual person-centered therapy by Keith Tudor
Publication Date: 2021
The first part of this article considers the history of relationship therapy (that is, contacting our history); the second part acknowledges the original conceptual framework of client-centered psychology and discusses two concepts that are based on and embody relationship therapy, i.e. diagnosis and contact (thereby representing the culture of this approach to psychology); and the third part offers some reflections how person-centered theory and practice needs to adapt to local conditions (that is, to its context) if it is to continue to be relational and relevant.
Trust, acceptance, and power: a person-centered client case study by Nicola Amari
Publication Date: 2021
This case study examines the author’s therapeutic experience with one client presenting with anxiety, whilst working remotely due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Specifically, this work shows the interrelation between theory, practice, and research in the author’s counseling psychology training with a person-centered/experiential approach.
A person-centred approach to psychosexual therapy: theorizing practice by Robert Irwin & Caroline Pullen
Publication Date: 2019
Drawing on developments in person-centred theory and practice, this article outlines and extends the ‘theorization of practice’ that has supported the development of a more person-centred approach to time-limited psychosexual therapy. While acknowledging the tensions that exist between the philosophical tenets underpinning the Person-Centred Approach and the practices that constitute psychosexual therapy, the authors suggests that the experiential therapies of Gendlin and Rennie provide useful meeting points between the Person-Centred Approach and psychosexual therapy. In addition to facilitating a more idiographic approach to psychosexual therapy, the Person-Centred Approach helps to widen the scope of practice within psychosexual therapy by placing greater emphasis on the promotion of sexual potential.

SEARCHABLE JOURNALS

Person-Centered & Experiential Psychotherapies
Publication Date: 2002 - Present
seeks to create a dialogue among different parts of the person-centered and experiential tradition, to support, inform, and challenge each other and to stimulate their creativity and impact in a broader professional, scientific and political context. The aim of the journal is thus to encourage, and disseminate worldwide, new work on person-centered and experiential therapies, including philosophy, theory, practice, training and research.

BOOKS

Collected here are books on Person-Centered Therapy from QML's physical collection. Click a link to be taken to the book's page in the library's catalog. From there you can view additional details, check the book's availability, and place a hold. While a wealth of material on Person-Centered Therapy is featured here, the list is not comprehensive. Please email us, to inquire about additional resources.

Remote students: keep in mind that items in QML's physical collection are accessible to you as well. Contact library staff to have an item sent via mail, request scans of needed chapters/sections, or inquire about alternative methods of accessing these books or any other resources in our library.

Person-Centred and Experiential Therapies by Paul Wilkins (Editor)
Call Number: RC481 .P435 2016
ISBN: 9781446268773
Publication Date: 2015-12-09
this book explores some of the key contemporary counselling and psychotherapy approaches that have developed from classical client-centred therapy. Part One discusses five approaches including Classic Client-Centred Therapy; Relational and Dialogical Person-Centred Therapy; Focusing-Oriented Therapy; Experiential Therapy; Emotion Focussed Therapy and Person-Centred Expressive therapy. Each approach is introduced, considered in terms of its history, development, current context and relevant research, as well as exemplified through a range of inspiring vignettes. Part Two brings readers up-to-date with recent developments in the application of person-centred practice, including creative approaches, transcultural counselling, work with people who’ve experienced trauma as well as those who are experiencing limitations to their ability.
On Becoming a Person by Carl Rogers
Call Number: RC480.5 .R62 1995
ISBN: 9780395755310
Publication Date: 1995-09-07
This foundational text, from the founder of person-centered (client-centered) therapy, includes an introduction by Peter Kramer, which sheds light on the significance of Dr. Rogers's work in the modern era. New discoveries in the field of psychopharmacology, especially that of the antidepressant Prozac, have spawned a quick-fix drug revolution that has obscured the psychotherapeutic relationship. As the pendulum slowly swings back toward an appreciation of the therapeutic encounter, Dr. Rogers's client-centered therapy becomes particularly timely and important.
The Creative Connection for Groups by Natalie Rogers
Call Number: RC 489.A72 R643 2011
ISBN: 9780831400958
Publication Date: 2011
Dr. Natalie Rogers brings us a practical theoretical, and spiritual joining of the expressive arts and the person-centered approach for groups. Specific guidelines and explorations merge the values, purposes, and methods of both fields. Facilitators learn how to apply this work in a wide variety of situations. The powerful images illustrate case material and the extraordinary effects of this profound group process. Ultimately, this book is about courage, creative expression, compassion, cooperation, and raising the collective consciousness to heal the planet.
Re-Visioning Person-Centred Therapy by Manu Bazzano (Editor)
Call Number: RC480 .R48 2018
ISBN: 9780815394099
Publication Date: 2018-06-18
This text takes a fresh look at this revolutionary therapeutic approach. Bringing together leading figures in PCT and new writers from around the world, the essays in this book create fertile links with phenomenology, meditation and spirituality, critical theory, contemporary thought and culture, and philosophy of science. In doing so, they create an outline that renews and re-visions person-centred therapy’s radical paradigm, providing fertile material in both theory and practice.
The Handbook of Person-Centred Psychotherapy and Counselling by Mick Cooper; Maureen O'Hara; Peter F. Schmid
Call Number: RC480.5 .H277 2013
ISBN: 9780230280496
Publication Date: 2013-05-31
This handbook demonstrates application of PCT to working with children, working with older adults, arts-based therapies practice, addiction and bereavement, and much more. It engages systematically with urgent contemporary issues, such as evidence-based practice, political and medical discourses, and theoretical integration.• It uses case illustrations, therapist-client dialogues, points of reflection and further resources to bring person-centred therapy to life for the reader, in a user-friendly way.• It includes contributions by an increasingly extensive group of writers, thinkers, teachers and practitioners.
Assessment and Outcomes in the Arts Therapies by Robin Barnaby (Contribution by); Mariana Torkington (Contribution by); Claire Molyneux (Contribution by); Suzanne C. Purdy (Contribution by); Marion Gordon-Flower (Contribution by); Sylvia Leão (Contribution by); Alison Talmage (Contribution by); Margaret-Mary Mulqueen (Contribution by); Laura Fogg-Rogers (Contribution by); Caroline Miller (Editor); Abigail Raymond (Contribution by)
Call Number: RC 489.A7A87 2014
ISBN: 9781849054140
Publication Date: 2013-09-21
This edited volume provides a series of case studies, with varied client groups, giving arts therapists an accessible introduction to assessment and outcome measures that can be easily incorporated into their regular practice.
The book provides demonstrations, within a practice-based evidence framework, of how measures can be tailored to the individual client's needs. The case studies show assessment and outcome models for music therapy, art therapy and dramatherapy used with a range of client groups including people with intellectual disabilities, Autism Spectrum Disorders, Multiple Sclerosis and Parkinson's Disease and those suffering from depression, Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder or coping with bereavement.
Person-Centred Therapy and CBT by Roger Casemore; Jeremy Tudway
Call Number: RC481 .C375 2012
ISBN: 0857023926
Publication Date: 2012-09-28
This book aims to show to humanistic, CBT and integrative therapists how to get to grips with each other′s approaches. CBT has become more fully present in the therapeutic landscape and therapists from other modalities are increasingly being required to understand or even train in the approach. Responding to this growing pressure for change, Person-centred therapist Roger Casemore joins forces with Jeremy Tudway. Together they show how counsellors can respect and value each other′s approaches by more clearly understanding the similarities and differences in theory, philosophy and practice.