Quimby Memorial Library: Motivational Interviewing: Home

MOTIVATIONAL INTERVIEWING

A counseling method that helps resolve feelings and insecurities preventing one from finding the motivation needed to change behavior, motivational interviewing is a practical, short-term process often used to address addiction or the management of physical health conditions.

This guide features QML's resources on the theory and practice of motivational interviewing. Click a tab above to view ebooks, articles, and books on this approach. While the resources provide a well-rounded survey of our holdings on the topic, they are not comprehensive. Please contact us, if you are not seeing represented here any topics, authors, or specific foci, on which you are seeking information.

You will find links to the information you need to access and effectively use the databases housing this material, at the top of each page in this guide.

EBOOKS

Featured here are some of QML's contemporary ebooks on Motivational Interviewing. In addition to these featured items, QML holds additional material on this topic and can access much more, via our interlibrary loan network. If you are not finding what you need here, please email us at askthelibrary@swc.edu.

You can retrieve credentials for accessing ebooks from EBSCOhost, by clicking here.

QML'S EBOOKS DATABASE

Looking for additional information and tips for effectively using QML's ebooks database? Start here.

Motivational Interviewing by William R. Miller; Stephen Rollnick
ISBN: 9781462552795
Publication Date: 2023-08-23
Now in a fully rewritten fourth edition, this is the authoritative presentation of motivational interviewing (MI), the powerful approach to facilitating change. It has been updated and streamlined to be even more user-friendly as a practitioner guide and course text. MI originators William R. Miller and Stephen Rollnick elucidate the four tasks of MI--engaging, focusing, evoking, and planning--and vividly demonstrate what they look like in action. A wealth of vignettes and interview examples illustrate the dos and don'ts of successful implementation in diverse contexts. The book further reviews the evidence base for the approach and covers ways to assess the quality of MI.
Motivational Interviewing for Clinical Practice by Petros Levounis (Editor); Bachaar Arnaout (Editor); Carla Marienfeld (Editor)
ISBN: 9781615370467
Publication Date: 2017-01-06
This text aims to teach the reader how to use the critically important tool of motivational interviewing to promote health and well-being. Based on the theoretical framework of Miller and Rollnick, the book presents the latest models and techniques that the editors and authors have found helpful in their scholarship and clinical experience.
Fundamentals of Motivational Interviewing by Julie A. Schumacher; Michael B. Madson
ISBN: 9780199354634
Publication Date: 2014-10-10
This book provides a straightforward, common-language, and user-friendly guide to key concepts in MI. The clinical challenges addressed are ubiquitous across helping professions, and this book is unique in its focus on providing practical guidance on what to do when confronted with each challenge. Based on the authors'years of experience providing training and supervision in MI, this book answers one of the questions most frequently asked by those they have trained:'How can I use MI to address [insert clinical challenge]?'Fundamentals of Motivational Interviewing is an accessible and easy-to-use resource organized and written with the busy provider in mind, and it is appropriate for all skill levels ranging from the MI novice with no prior training, to the experienced MI provider seeking to gain new knowledge and skills.
Motivational Interviewing and CBT by Sylvie Naar; Steven A. Safren; William R. Miller (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9781462531547
Publication Date: 2017-08-23
Providing tools to enhance treatment of any clinical problem, this book shows how integrating motivational interviewing (MI) and cognitive-behavioral therapy (CBT) can lead to better client outcomes than using either approach on its own. The authors demonstrate that MI strategies are ideally suited to boost client motivation and strengthen the therapeutic relationship, whether used as a pretreatment intervention or throughout the course of CBT. User-friendly features include extensive sample dialogues, learning exercises for practitioners, and 35 reproducible client handouts.
Mindfulness-Based Sobriety by Nick Turner; Phil Welches; Sandra Conti
ISBN: 9781608828531
Publication Date: 2014-01-02
presents a breakthrough, integrative approach to addiction recovery to help you treat clients recovering from substance abuse and addiction using mindfulness-based therapy, motivational interviewing, and relapse prevention therapy. Research has indicated that motivational interviewing is helpful in treating addiction, because it helps clients learn to change the behaviors that cause addiction. The book provides two curricula: an outpatient treatment curriculum and a residential treatment curriculum. Both are user-friendly and can be implemented in an open group format, which means that you can say goodbye to the days of tailoring one-on-one treatment to fit a group setting.

ARTICLES

This bibliography features peer reviewed, searchable journals and academic articles, reporting on contemporary research on and clinical application of Motivational Interviewing. In addition to what is featured here, QML holds further material on this topic and can access much more, via our interlibrary loan network. If you are not finding what you need here, please email us at askthelibrary@swc.edu.

You can retrieve credentials for accessing articles from Taylor & Francis Online, by clicking here.

QML'S ACADEMIC ARTICLES DATABASE

Looking for information on how to access and effectively use QML's academic articles database? Start here.

ARTICLES

School Counselors Using Motivational Interviewing by Robert Pincus, Corinne Wehby Bridges, &Theodore P. Remley
Publication Date: 2019
This qualitative study explored the experiences of school counselors who have used motivational interviewing to improve student academic performance. The results revealed several themes including defining motivational interviewing in schools and explaining specific techniques. The themes that emerged from this study strengthen existing research and provide current and future school counselors with insight into the potential of using motivational interviewing to improve student academic performance.
Motivational Interviewing in Art Therapy by Gaelen Palmer
Publication Date: 2014
This viewpoint describes motivational interviewing techniques as adapted to art therapy with adult psychiatric patients. Three important aspects of motivational interviewing are explored: resistance, ambivalence, and readiness. Art therapy applications of motivational interviewing are provided.
Motivational Interviewing: A Promising Practice for Refugee Resettlement by Miriam Potocky
Publication Date: 2016
This study presents a conceptual foundation for the potential utility of Motivational Interviewing in enhancing practice outcomes with resettled refugees. The spirit, principles, skills, and evidence base of Motivational Interviewing are reviewed, and rationales for applying this approach with refugees are presented. Finally, implications for future research are proposed.
Motivational interviewing for caregivers of LGBT youth by R. O’Neill, B. Gilea, & S. Fellenger
Publication Date: 2020
Lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) youth and their caregivers often describe coming out as a process that impacts the family unit. Oftentimes, caregivers may experience a range of emotions in response to the youth coming out. Caregivers of LGBT youth who seek counseling may benefit from collaborative treatment that addresses their potential ambivalence to the coming out process. In this article, motivational interviewing (MI) is presented as an approach for use with caregivers of LGBT youth. A hypothetical case illustrates the application of MI to this population.
Macro MI: Using Motivational Interviewing to Address Socially-engineered Trauma by David O. Avruch & Wendy E. Shaia
Publication Date: 2022
Given its traditional focus on eliciting behavior change on the micro level, the therapeutic modality of motivational interviewing (MI) may not attract attention as a tool for addressing systemic social injustice. However, by integrating key elements of MI with SHARP – a framework for addressing oppression and inequality – new options for structural competence emerge. The resulting hybrid, Macro MI, offers tools to join with clients to assess the impact of structural oppression on individual problems, as well as to envision solutions that include macro systems change.
Reflections on Adapting Motivational Interviewing to the Filipino Cultural Context by Laura Cordisco Tsai & Ivy F. Seballos-Llena
Publication Date: 2020
Research on cultural adaptation of MI in Asia is extremely limited. This article presents the experiences of social work practitioners utilizing MI with survivors of human trafficking and their family members in the Philippines. Six observations regarding the use of MI in the Filipino context are presented in this article, including reflections on the context of the Filipino social work profession, manifestations of ‘resistance’, change talk, authority patterns, language and working with marginalized populations in the Philippines. The findings from this article can inform social workers interested in implementing MI in contexts in which cultural adaptation has not yet taken place.
Lyric writing as an emotion processing intervention for school counselors: Hip-Hop Spoken Word Therapy and Motivational Interviewing by Ian P. Levy, Christopher Emdin, & Edmund Adjapong
Publication Date: 2021
This paper describes a culturally responsive school counseling intervention that leverages evidence-based counseling theory and hip-hop cultural practices to aid student’s internal social and emotional potential. Specifically, the amalgamation of Hip-Hop and Spoken Word Therapy and Motivational Interviewing offers school counselors a social and emotional learning framework designed to engage with the complex intersectionality and emotional experiences of Black and Brown youth. A conceptual framing is presented herein, followed by tangible strategies for school counselors, an illustrative case study, and implications for practice and future research.
Motivational interviewing for social anxiety disorder: An examination of the technical hypothesis by Mia Romano, Jelena Arambasic, & Lorna Peters
Publication Date: 2020
Motivational interviewing (MI) was originally developed to treat problematic drinking but is increasingly integrated into treatment for anxiety disorders. A causal model has been proposed which suggests technical and relational factors may account for the efficacy of MI. The technical hypothesis suggests that therapist MI-consistent behaviours are related to client change talk, and change talk is linked to treatment outcome. Research examining the technical hypothesis has typically been conducted in MI for substance use; therefore, the current study aimed to explore the technical hypothesis in MI for social anxiety disorder (SAD).The proportion of MI-consistent therapist behaviours and reflections of change language significantly predicted the proportion of change talk by the client during MI sessions; however, therapist and client behaviours did not predict treatment outcome.

BOOKS

Collected here are books on Motivational Interviewing from QML's physical collection. Click a link to be taken to the book's page in the library's catalog. From there you can view additional details, check the book's availability, and place a hold. While a wealth of material on MI is featured here, the list is not comprehensive. Please email us, to inquire about additional resources.

Remote students: keep in mind that items in QML's physical collection are accessible to you as well. Contact library staff to have an item sent via mail, request scans of needed chapters/sections, or inquire about alternative methods of accessing these books or any other resources in our library.

Motivational Interviewing for School Counselors by Reagan North
Call Number: LB1731.75 .N67 2017
ISBN: 9781520525075
Publication Date: 2017
This book is the first training experience ever created to help School Counselors learn to use MI in their unique context. Written by a real-life School Counselor, this work is a powerfully practical explanation of MI ideas and techniques. Loaded with actual examples from the school context, the book is designed to help busy School Counselors learn these tools in a quick and enjoyable way.
Motivational Interviewing in the Treatment of Psychological Problems by Hal Arkowitz (Editor); William R. Miller (Editor); Stephen Rollnick (Editor)
Call Number: RC480.7 .M68 2015
ISBN: 9781462521036
Publication Date: 2015-06-12
This authoritative guide has given tens of thousands of clinicians proven tools for helping clients resolve ambivalence and mobilize their energy, commitment, and personal resources for change. Leading experts describe ways to combine motivational interviewing (MI) with other treatments for a wide range of psychological problems, including depression, anxiety disorders, eating disorders, posttraumatic stress disorder, and others. Chapters illustrate the nuts and bolts of intervention, using vivid clinical examples, and review the empirical evidence base. Contributors show how to tailor MI to each populations needs, whether used as a pretreatment or throughout the course of therapy.
Motivational Interviewing with Adolescents and Young Adults by Sylvie Naar; Mariann Suarez
Call Number: BF637.I5 N293 2011
ISBN: 9781609180621
Publication Date: 2010
This pragmatic guide spells out how to use motivational interviewing (MI) to have productive conversations about behavior change with adolescents and young adults in any clinical context. Filled with vivid examples, sample dialogues, and dos and don'ts, the book shows how conducting MI from a developmentally informed standpoint can help practitioners quickly build rapport with young patients, enhance their motivation to make healthy changes, and overcome ambivalence. Experts on specific adolescent problems describe MI applications in such key areas as substance abuse, smoking, sexual risk taking, eating disorders and obesity, chronic illness management, and externalizing and internalizing behavior problems.
Motivational Interviewing in Health Care by Stephen Rollnick; William R. Miller; Christopher C. Butler
Call Number: R727.4 .R65 2008
ISBN: 1606238213
Publication Date: 2007-11-07
Written specifically for health care professionals, this concise book presents powerful tools to enhance communication with patients and guide them in making choices to improve their health, from weight loss, exercise, and smoking cessation, to medication adherence and safer sex practices. Engaging dialogues and vignettes bring to life the core skills of motivational interviewing (MI) and show how to incorporate this brief evidence-based approach into any health care setting. Appendices include MI training resources and publications on specific medical conditions.