Quimby Memorial Library: Dialectical Behavior Therapy (DBT): Home

DIALECTICAL BEHAVIOR THERAPY (DBT)

A structured program with a strong educational component designed to provide skills for managing intense emotions and negotiating social relationships. Specifically, emotional regulation through mindfulness should diminish their power to direct a client's actions.

This guide features QML's resources on the theory and practice of DBT. Click a tab above to view ebooks, articles, videos on DBT. While the resources provide a well-rounded survey of our holdings on these topics, they are not comprehensive. Please contact us, if you are not seeing represented here any topics, authors, or specific foci, on which you are seeking information.

You will find links to the information you need to access and effectively use the databases housing this material, at the top of each page in this guide.

EBOOKS

This bibliography features some of QML's contemporary ebooks on DBT. The list, however, is not comprehensive. QML holds additional material on this topic and can access much more, via our interlibrary loan network. If you are not finding what you need here, please email us at askthelibrary@swc.edu.

You can retrieve credentials for accessing ebooks from EBSCOhost, by clicking here.

QML'S EBOOKS DATABASE

Looking for additional information and tips for effectively using QML's ebooks database? Start here.

Good Psychiatric Management and Dialectical Behavior Therapy by Anne Sonley; Lois W. Choi-Kain
ISBN: 9781615373413
Publication Date: 2020
Treatment options for borderline personality disorder (BPD) have vastly improved over the last three decades with the development of evidence-based psychotherapies. Dialectical behavior was the first of these modern treatments to bring new hope that BPD-with its concerning and complex profile of emotion dysregulation, self-harm and suicidal behaviors, impulsivity, and interpersonal instability-could in fact be treated effectively. Manualized empirically validated treatments specially tailored to treat the problems of BPD have fostered optimism about clinical interventions for individuals with BPD.
DBT-Informed Art Therapy by Susan M. Clark
ISBN: 9781849057332
Publication Date: 2016
Understand DBT-informed art therapy, and how to apply it to your practice. Dialectical Behavior Therapy (DBT) treats problems with emotion regulation, and is especially effective in treating chronic self-harming and suicidal behaviors associated with Borderline Personality Disorder. Combining the structure and skill development of DBT with the creativity and non-verbal communication of art therapy can be a significant advantage in treating patients who are resistant to talking therapy.
Radically Open Dialectical Behavior Therapy by Thomas R. Lynch
ISBN: 9781626259287
Publication Date: 2018
Based on over twenty years of research, radically open dialectical behavior therapy (RO DBT) is a breakthrough, transdiagnostic approach for helping people suffering from extremely difficult-to-treat emotional overcontrol (OC) disorders, such as anorexia nervosa, obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD), and treatment-resistant depression. Written by the founder of RO DBT, Thomas Lynch, this comprehensive volume outlines the core theories of RO DBT, and provides a framework for implementing RO DBT in individual therapy.
The Dialectical Behavior Therapy Skills Workbook by Matthew McKay; Jeffrey C. Wood; Jeffrey Brantley
ISBN: 9781684034581
Publication Date: 2019
Do you have trouble managing your emotions? First developed by Marsha M. Linehan for treating borderline personality disorder, dialectical behavior therapy (DBT) has proven effective as treatment for a range of other mental health problems, and can greatly improve your ability to handle distress without losing control and acting destructively. However, to make use of these techniques, you need to build skills in four key areas: distress tolerance, mindfulness, emotion regulation, and interpersonal effectiveness. This fully revised and updated second edition also includes new chapters on cognitive rehearsal, distress tolerance, and self-compassion.
Creative DBT Activities Using Music by Deborah Spiegel; Suzanne Makary; Lauren Bonavitacola
ISBN: 9781787751804
Publication Date: 2020
This book provides clinicians (particularly those specialising in DBT) with music activities and creative ideas to implement with existing practices, to strengthen what clients are being taught in DBT skills groups. These new ideas can be used with clients individually, in groups, or be given as homework. The first part of the book consists of group activities for therapists and group leaders to use. In part two each DBT skill is presented with its own activity, written in with clear step by step instructions. The skills gained will be particularly beneficial for individuals who have difficulty regulating or dealing with their emotions and this guide improves clinicians' confidence and skill in aiding these individuals innumerably.
DBT Therapeutic Activity Ideas for Working with Teens by Carol Lozier
ISBN: 9781785927850
Publication Date: 2018
This fun and engaging activity book helps to teach teens to manage emotions and develop relationships by tracking their progress using Dialectical Behaviour Therapy (DBT) techniques. DBT is specifically designed for emotionally sensitive young people, especially those with borderline personality disorder, and the activities in this book will help regulate strong emotional responses which can lead to impulsivity, unstable relationships, low self-image and reactive emotions.

ARTICLES

This bibliography features peer reviewed, searchable journals and academic articles, reporting on contemporary research on and clinical application of DBT. The list, however, is not comprehensive. QML holds additional material on this topic and can access much more, via our interlibrary loan network. If you are not finding what you need here, please email us at askthelibrary@swc.edu.

You can retrieve credentials for accessing articles from Taylor & Francis Online, by clicking here.

QML'S ACADEMIC ARTICLES DATABASE

Looking for information on how to access and effectively use QML's academic articles database? Start here.

Dialectical behavior therapy guided self-help for binge-eating disorder by Therese E. Kenny; Jacqueline C. Carter; Debra L. Safer
Publication Date: 2020
Binge-eating disorder (BED) is a prevalent and serious public health issue. BED is characterized by recurrent out-of-control binge eating episodes in the absence of extreme weight control behavior and is associated with significant psychosocial and physiological impairment. Dialectical Behavior Therapy(DBT), based on the affect regulation model of binge eating, is an evidence-based treatment (EBT) approach for BED. Unfortunately, access to EBTs is often limited due to geographical barriers (i.e., lack of local providers with specialized training in EBTs), lack of financial resources, and/or time constraints. Self-help approaches (via guided and unguided versions) to delivering DBT for BED offer a potentially effective means of more widely disseminating this treatment.
Infusing Dialectical Behavior Therapy Skills into Supervision to Address Challenges and Enhance Performance by Kelly Emelianchik-Key; Adriana Labarta; Bridget Glass
Publication Date: 2022
Dialectical behavior therapy (DBT) is an evidence-based, widely used approach to treat various mental health issues, including, but not limited to borderline personality disorder, eating disorders, and substance use disorders. Supervisees and counselors-in-training often struggle with anxiety, stress, and confidence during training. Supervision is one of the most common and essential contexts for supervisees to address counseling challenges.
Dialectical Behavior Therapy for Adolescents: Treatment Outcomes in an Outpatient Community Setting by Atara D. Hiller; Christopher D. Hughes
Publication Date: 2022
The goal of this study was to evaluate the effectiveness of dialectical behavior therapy for adolescents (DBT-A) with borderline personality disorder (BPD) features under routine healthcare conditions, particularly an urban hospital that primarily treats low-income and ethnic minority individuals. Ninety-one adolescents (age 11–18) participated in at least one cycle of an outpatient DBT-A program, with the option to continue in additional cycles. These findings expand upon previous DBT-A effectiveness research by engaging a larger and more diverse sample with broader inclusion criteria that is consistent with outpatient community settings, reporting on the clinical significance of DBT-A, and assessing outcomes beyond one cycle of treatment.
Implementation of Radically Open Dialectical Behavior Therapy in a University or College Counseling Setting: A Case Study by Lindsay N. Johnson; Robin Fierstein; Stacey C. Cahn; Amy L. Hoch; Lisa N. Twardzik
Publication Date: 2023
This article explores the implementation of Radically Open Dialectical Behavior Therapy (RO DBT) in a University or College Counseling Setting (UCCS). The authors review the rationale for including RO DBT in a UCCS and the process of implementing the treatment at their center. This paper evaluates this newly implemented treatment by examining clinician experience, feasibility, and adaptability of RO DBT including Words of Wisdom regarding future implementations of RO DBT in a UCCS.
Implementation of Dialectical Behavior Therapy with Suicidal and Self-Harming Adolescents in a Community Clinic by Michele S. Berk; Nicole K. Starace; Vanessa P. Black; Claudia Avina
Publication Date: 2020
The object of this research was to examine the feasibility and effectiveness of Dialectical Behavior Therapy (DBT) with suicidal and self-harming adolescents treated in a community clinic. A group of 24 adolescents at high risk for suicide were enrolled in 6 months of comprehensive DBT, provided by therapists and trainees at a county-run outpatient mental health clinic serving disadvantaged, ethnic minority clients. Results showed significant pre/post-treatment decreases in suicide attempts, non-suicidal self-injury behaviors (NSSI), and suicidal ideation. Results also showed significant decreases in other suicide risk factors, including emotion dysregulation, depression, impulsivity, BPD symptoms, psychopathology, PTSD symptoms, and substance use, as well as increases in family expressiveness and reasons for living.
Group-based DBT skills training modules are linked to independent and additive improvements in emotion regulation in a heterogeneous outpatient sample by Nicole Heath; Melanie F. Midkiff; James Gerhart; Rachel Goldsmith Turow
Publication Date: 2021
Dialectical Behavior Therapy (DBT) was initially developed to treat symptoms of Borderline Personality Disorder (BPD), but has also been shown to improve symptoms of several other mental health conditions. Emotion regulation difficulties comprise a key target of DBT as well as a common challenge for individuals with depression, anxiety, PTSD, and other conditions. The current study investigated the impact of a DBT skills-training group on emotion regulation, and whether improvement in specific facets of emotion regulation would be linked to training in specific modules.
School-Based Opportunities for Adolescent Recovery (SOARing): The Acceptability and Feasibility of a DBT Skills Training Program for At-Risk Adolescents by Erica Mazzone; Chalita Antommarchi; Gabriela Bagnara; Hannah Jutzy; Abby Alido; Maya Boustani
Publication Date: 2023
Adolescents from disadvantaged backgrounds are disproportionately at-risk for experiencing chronic stressors, which often decreases their ability to emotionally regulate and negatively impacts their psychological well-being. Effective prevention and early intervention programming that addresses emotion dysregulation is vital for improving mental health outcomes in these populations. School-based dialectical behavior therapy (DBT) offers a promising avenue for bolstering socioemotional health in at-risk students by emphasizing the development of four core skills: emotion regulation, mindfulness, interpersonal effectiveness, and distress tolerance. The purpose of this investigation is to describe the rationale for, and development of, a school-based DBT skills program for students attending a continuation high school in an underserved area, known as School-Based Opportunities for Adolescent Recovery (SOARing).

BOOKS

Collected here are books on DBT from QML's physical collection. Click a link to be taken to the book's page in the library's catalog. From there you can view additional details, check the book's availability, and place a hold. While a wealth of material on DBT is featured here, the list is not comprehensive. Please email us, to inquire about additional resources.

Remote students: keep in mind that items in QML's physical collection are accessible to you as well. Contact library staff to have an item sent via mail, request scans of needed chapters/sections, or inquire about alternative methods of accessing these books or any other resources in our library.

DBT-Informed Art Therapy in Practice by Susan M. Clark
Call Number: RC489.A7 D23 2021
ISBN: 1787752089
Publication Date: 2021
Responding to growing interest in DBT-informed art therapy, this edited guide focuses specifically on how these interventions can treat a variety of client groups. Combining the structure and skill development of DBT with the creativity and non-verbal communication of art therapy can be a significant advantage in treating patients who are resistant to talking therapy. This book includes international contributors who cover work with a wide variety of populations, such as those with suicidal behaviours, eating disorders, and personality disorders.
DBT Skills Training Manual by Marsha M. Linehan
Call Number: RC569.5.B67 L563 2015
ISBN: 9781462516995
Publication Date: 2014
From Marsha M. Linehan--the developer of dialectical behavior therapy (DBT)--this comprehensive resource provides vital tools for implementing DBT skills training. The reproducible teaching notes, handouts, and worksheets used for over two decades by hundreds of thousands of practitioners have been significantly revised and expanded to reflect important research and clinical advances. The book gives complete instructions for orienting clients to DBT, plus teaching notes for the full range of mindfulness, interpersonal effectiveness, emotion regulation, and distress tolerance skills.
DBT Skills Training Handouts and Worksheets by Marsha M. Linehan
Call Number: RC489.B4 L56 2015
ISBN: 9781572307810
Publication Date: 2014
Featuring more than 225 user-friendly handouts and worksheets, this is an essential resource for clients learning dialectical behavior therapy (DBT) skills, and those who treat them. All of the handouts and worksheets discussed in Marsha M. Linehan's DBT Skills Training Manual, are provided, together with brief introductions to each module written expressly for clients. No single skills training program will include all of the handouts and worksheets in this book; clients get quick, easy access to the tools recommended to meet their particular needs.
Radically Open Dialectical Behavior Therapy by Thomas R. Lynch
Call Number: RC489.B48 L959 2018
ISBN: 1626259305
Publication Date: 2018
While traditional dialectical behavioral therapy (DBT) has shown tremendous success in treating people with emotion dysregulation, there have been few resources available for treating those with overcontrol disorders. OC has been linked to social isolation, aloof and distant relationships, cognitive rigidity, risk aversion, a strong need for structure, inhibited emotional expression, and hyper-perfectionism.
The Radically Open DBT Workbook for Eating Disorders by Karyn D. Hall; Ellen Astrachan-Fletcher; Mima Simic
Call Number: RC552.E18 H34 2022
ISBN: 9781684038930
Publication Date: 2022
If you’ve been in therapy for an eating disorder, such as anorexia nervosa or bulimia, your past treatment may have focused on helping you control your emotions and contain your behaviors. However, research now shows that many people with eating disorders actually suffer from emotional overcontrol. Based on more than twenty years of research, this breakthrough workbook offers skills based in radically open dialectical behavior therapy (RO DBT), a proven-effective, transdiagnostic approach for treating disorders of overcontrol (OC).
The Expanded Dialectical Behavior Therapy Skills Training Manual, 2nd Edition by Lane Pederson
Call Number: RC489.B4 P43 2017
ISBN: 9781683730460
Publication Date: 2017
Beyond updates to the classic skills modules, clients and therapists will be enriched by added modules that include Dialectics, Cognitive Modification, Problem-Solving, and Building Routines as well as all-new, much-needed modules on Addictions and Social Media. Designed for DBT therapists, eclectic and integrative therapists, and as a self-help guide for people interested in learning DBT skills, the straightforward explanations and useful worksheets contained within make DBT skills learning and practice accessible and practical for both skills groups and individual users.

Contact Us

Link not working?
Unsure how to find what you need?

Please reach out to us at askthelibrary@swc.edu.

Dialectical Behavior Therapy (DBT): Home

Contact Us

How to Place a Hold