Quimby Memorial Library: Art Therapy: Home

ART THERAPY RESOURCE GUIDE OVERVIEW

Founded on the belief that self-expression through artistic creation has therapeutic value, art therapists assist clients to interpret nonverbal messages, symbols, and metaphors contained in their work, which in turn should lead to a better understanding of their feelings and behavior.

This guide collects featured resources on art therapy history, theory, application, and research. While the resources provide a well-rounded survey of our holdings on these topics, they are not comprehensive. Please contact us, if you are not seeing represented here any topics, authors, or specific foci, on which you are seeking information.

HISTORY OF ART THERAPY

Collected here are resources specific to the history of art therapy, including ebooks, journals, and videos, all of which are freely accessible to SWC students.

QML'S EBOOKS DATABASE

Looking for additional information and tips for effectively using QML's ebooks database? Start here.

QML'S ACADEMIC ARTICLES DATABASE

Looking for information on how to access and effectively use QML's academic articles database? Start here.

EBOOKS

Foundations of Art Therapy by Meera Rastogi, Rachel P. Feldwisch, Michelle Pate, Joseph Scarce (Eds.)
ISBN: 9780128243084
Publication Date: 2022
This is an essential and comprehensive introduction to the field of art therapy that blends relevant psychological and neuroscience research, theories, and concepts and infuses cultural diversity throughout each chapter. Chapter 1 (directly linked here) explores the history of art therapy and details contributions of pioneering theorists and practitioners from the U.S., the U.K., Canada, Australian, Israel, and throughout Asia.
The Modern History of Art Therapy in the United States by Maxine Borowsky Junge
ISBN: 9780398084448
Publication Date: 2010-09-01
Junge's essential text covers important movements and milestones of the profession, including the dilemmas and crucial events of art therapy's evolution. Unique features include: the early days and influence; the United States at the time of the formation of the art therapy profession; a brief history of art therapy in Great Britain and Canada; the 1960s and their influence on the development of art therapy; Myra Levick and the establishment of the American Art Therapy Association; the pioneer art therapists and their qualities and patterns; the definition and expansion of art therapy; the development of master's-level art therapy; art therapists of color and influence, and many others.
Introduction to Art Therapy by Judith A. Rubin
ISBN: 9780415960939
Publication Date: 2009-08-05
This link will take you to chapter 3 in Rubin’s landmark survey of art therapy practice. The chapter focuses not only on the history of art therapy but also its prehistory, tracing the healing capacity of art through ancient contexts. Later in the chapter, Rubin discusses pioneers such as Naumburg, Kramer, Ulman, and Jones.
Healing Arts by Susan Hogan
ISBN: 9781853027994
Publication Date: 2001-03-01
Hogan places the narrative of art therapy’s history in rich sociocultural context, examining the emerging modality’s interaction with 20th century psychology, psychotherapy, and moral treatment. Hogan includes two chapters examining biographies and influence of several art therapy pioneers.
The Black Beat in Art Therapy Experiences by Lucille Venture
Publication Date: 1977
Venture's groundbreaking dissertation is a time capsule of early influences, multicultural perspectives, and historical contexts as they relate to art therapy's first quarter century of theory, research, an practice. Venture covers art therapy's earliest movements and introduces many practitioners, in this rare and hard to find resource.
Using Art for Social Transformation: International Perspective for Social Workers, Community Workers and Art Therapists by Eltje Bos; Ephrat Huss
ISBN: 9780367615185
Publication Date: 2022
Social arts are manifold and are initiated by multiple actors, spaces, and direction from many directions and intentions, but generally they aim to generate personal, familial, group, community or general social transformation which can maintain and enhance personal and community resilience, communication, negotiation, and transitions, as well as help with community building and rehabilitation, civic engagement, social inclusion, and cohesion. Occurring via community empowerment, institutions, arts in health, inter-ethnic conflict, and frames of lobbying for social change, social art can transform and disrupt power relations and hegemonic narratives, destigmatize marginalized groups, and humanize society through creating empathy for the other.

VIDEOS

The below video, a landmark 1977 collaboration among Judith Rubin, Georgiana Jungels, and Bob Jungels, is an extended rumination on the origins and first quarter century of the profession, as told firsthand by those who lived and shaped it. The film features fascinating images generated in early art therapy practice and looks specifically at the contributions of pioneers Margaret Naumburg, Elinor Ulman, Hana Kwiatkowska, and Edith Kramer.

The below video is an excerpt from Jordan Potash's keynote address to the Buckeye Art Therapy Association (20 September 2019). Potash describes how rediscovering art therapy history, particularly overlooked early art therapists of color, reveals diverse theoretical and practical applications. The art therapists featured include: Cliff Joseph, Sarah McGee, Georgette Seabrooke-Powell, Wayne Ramirez, Lucille Venture, and Christine Wang.

Multi-Traditional Art Therapy: Invoking All of Our Ancestors from Jordan Potash on Vimeo.

ARTICLES

Spectrum of Art Therapy Practice: Systematic Literature Review of Art Therapy, 1983–2014 by Jordan S. Potash, Sarah M. Mann, Johanna C. Martinez, Ann B. Roach, & Nina M. Wallace
Publication Date: 2016
The objective of this study was to determine art therapists' fit in the continuum of health delivery services defined by behavioral health. All publications in Art Therapy: Journal of the American Art Therapy Association from 1983 (Volume 1) to 2014 (Volume 31) were systematically reviewed to understand how art therapy has been applied. The results indicate that art therapy has included the five behavioral health practices (prevention, lifestyle management, wellness, therapy, and rehabilitation), but also expands into assessment and social action. The majority of practices identified were comprised of therapy and assessment. The study has implications for identifying a spectrum of art therapy practices and defining the profession.

JOURNALS

The following searchable journals (hosted on QML's Taylor and Francis Database) provide a realtime account of the key moments, movements, emerging trends and theories or art therapy, as they unfolded, since the journals' inceptions (the earliest being the AATA journal's first publication in 1983) ).

Art Therapy: Journal of the American Art Therapy Association by The American Art Therapy Association
Publication Date: 1983-present
Click to navigate directly to AATA's searchable database of peer reviewed articles, contemporary art therapy research, and editorials. An initial search of "Ethics OR Ethical" in this journal returns 388 results.
Canadian Journal of Art Therapy: Research, Practice, and Issues by The Canadian Art Therapy Association
Publication Date: 1985-present
Click to navigate directly to AATA's searchable database of peer reviewed articles, contemporary art therapy research, and editorials. An initial search of "Ethics OR Ethical" in this journal returns 89 results.
International Journal of Art Therapy by British Association of Art Therapists
Publication Date: 1996-present
Click to navigate directly to AATA's searchable database of peer reviewed articles, contemporary art therapy research, and editorials. An initial search of "Ethics OR Ethical" in this journal returns 152 results.

THEORY AND PRACTICE OF ART THERAPY

Collected here are resources specific to art therapy theory, practice, and clinical application, including ebooks, articles, and videos, all of which are freely accessible to SWC students. The guide includes texts offering a broad overview of core theory and summaries of contemporary research, texts discussing the co-application of art therapy with other therapeutic approaches, and resources focusing on art therapy practice with various specific populations.

QML'S EBOOKS DATABASE

Looking for additional information and tips for effectively using QML's ebooks database? Start here.

QML'S ACADEMIC ARTICLES DATABASE

Looking for information on how to access and effectively use QML's academic articles database? Start here.

EBOOKS

Foundations of Art Therapy by Meera Rastogi, Rachel P. Feldwisch, Michelle Pate, Joseph Scarce (Eds.)
ISBN: 9780128243084
Publication Date: 2022
The second part of this text (linked directly here) features an overview and in-depth explorations of different theoretical approaches to the practice of art therapy. A bio-psycho-social approach integrates current research on art therapy with specific populations (children, mental health, older adults, and trauma). The book concludes with art therapy professional practices in group concepts, community-based art therapy, and developing a career in the field.
Solution Art by Paolo J. Knill (Contribution by); Herbert Eberhart (Contribution by); Margo Fuchs Knill (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9781839977602
Publication Date: 2023-05-18
This text showcases the importance of imagination, artistic and aesthetic experience to mental wellbeing, challenging the common focus on the cognitive and emotional facets of mental health. In-depth case studies and explanations illuminate the origins and use of the theoretical frameworks, helping experienced practitioners and trainees alike to engage with the fundamental methods and concepts of expressive arts therapy.
Clinical Expressive Arts Therapy in Theory and Practice: Psychodynamic Snapshots by Avi Goren-Bar
ISBN: 9781527535985
Publication Date: 2019
This volume makes a tremendous contribution to the field of expressive arts therapy through its presentation of clear and profound theoretical bases to a relatively new profession in the domain of psychotherapy. It applies comprehensive, in-depth psychological knowledge to practical cases which shed light on clinical interventions that reflect the use of art in psychotherapy. The book provides a fruitful and much needed theoretical kaleidoscope to the professional community of expressive arts therapy.
Art Therapy Theories by Susan Hogan
ISBN: 9780415836340
Publication Date: 2015-12-08
Hogan's text provides an introductory, non-partisan overview of art therapy theories outlining the following therapy approaches: Cognitive Behavioural Art Therapy; Solution-Focused Brief Therapy; Psychoanalytical (Freudian) Art Therapy; Analytical (Jungian) Art Therapy; Gestalt Art Therapy; Person-Centered or ‘Rogerian' Art Therapy; Mindfulness Art Therapy; Integrative Art Therapy (the Group-Interactive Model); Feminist Art Therapy; Art Therapy as Social Action; and Art Therapy as a Research Tool.
Applying Developmental Art Theory in Art Therapy Treatment and Interventions: Illustrative Examples Through the Life Cycle by Beth Gonzalez-Dolginko
ISBN: 9780367858971
Publication Date: 2021
Applying Developmental Art Theory in Art Therapy Treatment and Interventions: Illustrative Examples through the Life Cycle weaves clinical applications of object relations-based art therapy with the Kestenberg Art Profile to understand art from a developmental perspective with the intent of applying this knowledge to support best art therapy practice. The book starts by defining object relations-based art therapy and introducing the Kestenberg Art Profile. Chapters blend psychological theory (Freud, Erikson, Piaget) and developmental art theory (DiLeo, Gardner, Kellogg, Levick, Lowenfeld and Brittain, and Rubin) with case illustrations that offer a focus on applying typical developmental theory and art therapy with children, adolescents, and adults who have varying needs.
Positive Art Therapy Theory and Practice by Gioia Chilton; Rebecca Ann Wilkinson
ISBN: 9781138908918
Publication Date: 2017-09-18
This text outlines a clear, systematic approach for combining positive psychology with art therapy's capacity to mobilize client strengths; induce engagement, flow and positive emotions; transform perceptions; build healing relationships and empowering narratives; and illuminate life purpose and meaning. Woven throughout are clinical illustrations, state-of-the-art research, discussion questions, and reflections on how therapists can apply this approach to their work with clients, and their personal and professional development. The book also includes a comprehensive list of more than 80 positive art therapy directives
Art-Based Group Therapy by Bruce L. Moon
ISBN: 9780398091156
Publication Date: 2016-05-09
By placing the art at the center of practice, Moon creates an explanatory model and rationale for group practice that is rooted in art therapy theory and identity. There are four primary goals discussed in this text. First, an overview of essential therapeutic elements of art-based group work is provided. Second, a number of case vignettes that illustrate how therapeutic elements are enacted in practice are presented. Third, the author clearly differentiates art-based group therapy theory from traditional group psychotherapy theory. Fourth, the aspects of art-based group work and their advantages unique to art therapy are explored.
Complicated Grief, Attachment and Art Therapy by Briana MacWilliam (Editor)
ISBN: 9781785927386
Publication Date: 2017-04-21
This wide-ranging book on art therapy and grief provides everything an art therapist needs to feel confident in creating an effective treatment plan. It features fourteen clear-cut protocols, outlining 4-8 week curriculums for working with Complicated Grief, and explains the theory which informs the practice, including popular and evolving models such as Attachment Theory, Mindfulness, Dialectical Behavioral Therapy (DBT) and Art Therapy Relational Neuroscience (ATR-N).
Creative Arts Therapies and the LGBTQ Community by Briana MacWilliam (Editor)
ISBN: 9781785927966
Publication Date: 2019-06-21
Providing theory and practical interventions, this book is the perfect companion to creative arts therapy students and professionals who wish to work with the LGBTQ community and the unique challenges that sexual minorities, transgender and gender non-conforming (TGNC) clients face today.Considering ally development, unconscious bias and intersectionality, the book provides theory, case studies and practical guidance for working with this client group, as well as experiences emerging from within the LGBTQ and CATs community.
Cultural Humility in Art Therapy by Louvenia Jackson; Melanie Tervalon (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9781785926433
Publication Date: 2020-02-21
Introducing the concept of cultural humility, this guide offers a new perspective to the field of art therapy practice and theory. It explores cultural humility in art therapy research and assessment, clinical and community-based practice, social justice, self-care and pedagogy.The notion of cultural humility addresses the power differential and encourages individuals and institutions to examine privilege within social constructs. It emphasizes self-reflection and the ability of knowing one's self in order to allow the art therapist to appropriately interact with their client, whilst being mindful of their own bias, assumptions and beliefs.

ARTICLES

Art as Relational Encounter: An Ostensive Communication Theory of Art Therapy by Neil Springham & Val Huet
Publication Date: 2018
Biopsychosocial theory is strengthening psychotherapy by focusing on interactions that engage the attachment system. Art therapy has the potential to align coherently with current theory provided it addresses the value of art in engaging with the attachment system. This article describes an interpersonal theory of art therapy based on a model of ostensive communication that supports the attachment system as a mechanism of change in the art therapy triangular relationship of client, therapist, and art object. A clinical case vignette, derived from a client's description of her art therapy experiences in an audio-image interview, illustrates ostensive communication theory and the development of epistemic trust in art therapy.
Sensory-Based Relational Art Therapy Approach (S-BRATA): A Framework for Art Therapy With Children With ASD by Huma Durrani
Publication Date: 2020
This article presents a sensory-based relational art therapy approach (S-BRATA) framework for working with children with autism spectrum disorder (ASD) that explicitly addresses sensory integration dysfunction (SID) and impaired attachment. Developed based on three case studies and rooted in grounded theory methodology, the study resulted in seven themes: (1) sense of safety, (2) working with the child’s sensory profile, (3) art materials as entry point for engagement, (4) attachment formation through mirroring and attunement, (5) flexibility in approach, (6) structure and boundaries, (7) art product not the focus. As a preliminary framework, S-BRATA extends and develops established concepts into a unified model.
Nomadic Art Therapy: A Contemporary Epistemology for Reconstructed Practice by Mitra Reyhani Ghadim
Publication Date: 2021
A Deleuzian epistemology can inform a new framework for contemporary art therapy practice. The conception of the art therapist as a nomadic force within de-territorialized spaces may accurately reflect current employment realities in which art therapists must traverse diverse settings, populations, and client needs within a single practice. The Deleuzian concept of the rhizome, which is an organic structure that grows horizontally through nodal connections, is suggested as a valuable organizing principle for art therapists that resonates with clients and knowledge structures, and positions art making as central to a broadly conceived goal of becoming. Art therapists may discover in the metaphor of a nomad a sense of nonhierarchical, open space with emancipatory potential for both clients and art therapists.
Toward an Ethical Application of Intersectionality in Art Therapy by Erin Kuri
Publication Date: 2017
In this brief article, Kuri demonstrates the ongoing need to apply an intersectional framework to art therapy practice in a manner that acknowledges power, reflexivity, and the social construction of meaning. Intersectionality is a way to understand how marginalized, intragroup identity differences simultaneously intersect to create and exacerbate experiences of oppression. Kuri offers a critical analysis of epistemological and ontological theories of social justice, ethics, and diversity.
More Than an Image: Revisiting the Ulman Personality Assessment Procedure by Tally Tripp
Publication Date: 2019
The Ulman Personality Assessment Procedure (UPAP) is a historical art therapy tool based on a series of experiential directives that consists of 4 drawings completed in a single session. The UPAP provides multiple ways of viewing a client’s psychological state and symbolic expression. Despite its often marginalized and seemingly antiquated psychoanalytic roots, the UPAP has contemporary relevance when integrated with relational, somatic, and trauma-informed theory. Some benefits of the assessment include offering a series of images instead of a single drawing, including movement, providing a range of directives, and ensuring shared interpretation. The author describes learning the procedure as a student of Ulman in 1978 and presents a contemporary case study for an expanded use of this protocol.
Special Interest Connection Framework: Integrating Pop Culture Into Art Therapy With Autistic Individuals by Jessica Woolhiser Stallings
Publication Date: 2021
A hallmark symptom of autism includes restricted repetitive behaviors that manifest as special interest fixations. These interests can aid in building therapeutic relationships in art therapy. A retrospective review of clinical notes based in grounded theory identified 6 ways pop culture special interests function in the art therapy relationship: (1) behavioral reward, (2) social initiator, (3) social facilitator, (4) personal metaphor, (5) anxiety mediator, and (6) communication clarifier. These functions form the basis of the proposed Special Interest Connection Framework. Practitioners can use this framework to structure art therapy sessions with autistic individuals.
Facilitative Leadership: A Framework for the Creative Arts Therapies by Girija Kaimal, Einat Metzl, & Eri Millrod
Publication Date: 2017
This article proposes a leadership framework for the creative art therapies (CATs) as a means to affect the sociopolitical contexts of our clinical and scholarly practices. The new model of facilitative leadership includes 3 aspects: developing the self, developing others, and envisioning a creative and just future.

RESEARCH IN ART THERAPY

Collected here are resources specific to art therapy research, all of which are freely accessible to SWC students. The guide features to peer reviewed sources, who employ transparent methods for demonstrating evidence for the efficacy or inefficacy of various approaches to art therapy practice. The guide further includes ebooks and other texts, which explore frameworks of research design appropriate for the profession and field of study.

The resources collected here are not comprehensive. QML holds additional material on art therapy research and can access much more, via our interlibrary loan network. If you are curious about any topics not represented here, please email us at askthelibrary@swc.edu.

QML'S EBOOKS DATABASE

Looking for additional information and tips for effectively using QML's ebooks database? Start here.

QML'S ACADEMIC ARTICLES DATABASE

Looking for information on how to access and effectively use QML's academic articles database? Start here.

RELATED GUIDES

QML'S RESEARCH ASSISTANCE GUIDE

Looking for an overview of research methodology? A refresher on the language used in research articles? This expansive guide is a great place to start.

SEARCHABLE JOURNALS

The content of the following art therapy journals is largely composed of peer reviewed papers, describing the processes and findings of original research in the field of art therapy.

Art Therapy: Journal of the American Art Therapy Association by The American Art Therapy Association
Publication Date: 1983-present
Click to navigate directly to AATA's searchable database of peer reviewed articles, contemporary art therapy research, and editorials.
Canadian Journal of Art Therapy: Research, Practice, and Issues by The Canadian Art Therapy Association
Publication Date: 1985-present
Click to navigate directly to the Canadian Art Therapy Association's searchable database of peer reviewed articles, contemporary art therapy research, and editorials.
International Journal of Art Therapy by British Association of Art Therapists
Publication Date: 1996-present
Click to navigate directly to the British Association of Art Therapists' searchable database of peer reviewed articles, contemporary art therapy research, and editorials.
Journal of Creativity in Mental Health by Association for Creativity in Counseling
Publication Date: 2005 - present
journal examines the practical applications of using creativity to help deepen self-awareness and build healthy relationships. This journal also explores how creative, diverse, and relational therapeautic approaches can be used in counseling practice. Each issue of the Journal of Creativity in Mental Health provides a wide range of interdisciplinary discussion relative to diverse mental health issues. The journal incorporates high-quality empirical research with cogent in-depth discussion and addresses the topics in both qualitative and quantitative language.

ARTICLES

The articles featured below demonstrate the kind of material you will encounter, when searching the journals linked above and offer examples of what cutting edge questions and ideas are being explored in contemporary art therapy research and how researchers and practitioners are going about that exploration generating new knowledge.

Do Art Therapists Use Vernacular? How Art Therapists Communicate Their Scope of Practice by Theresa Van Lith &Lindsay Bullock
Publication Date: 2018
Through everyday encounters, art therapists are continuously developing their own professional discourse. This professionally bound talk, forever evolving, both separates and binds art therapists with other mental health professionals. The purpose of this inquiry was to examine through an online survey how art therapists speak about their scope of practice. A total of 60 participants completed the survey and the findings were analyzed using discourse analysis. A conceptual framework was developed to visually communicate the relational and process-driven nature of the findings. Because this was a pilot study, many considerations for future research were generated to build on our findings and to enhance understanding of how we use language to shape and define us.
Toward an Indigenization Process: Art Therapy Practice in the Chinese Cultural Context by Kai Ying Huang
Publication Date: 2021
In order to advance Chinese culturally-appropriate art therapy practice, a qualitative study identified key indigenous factors. The investigation documented contextual adaptations made by 7 Taiwanese “sojourner” art therapists. Inductive thematic analysis yielded six themes, which identified from the participants’ descriptions of art therapy practice with native Taiwanese/Chinese clients relate to the key processes of (a) responding to clients’ initial art therapy expectations, (b) orienting client to purposes of art making, (c) addressing client–art therapist roles, (d) understanding how cultural conceptions of art influences art therapy, (e) uncovering the client’s culture as a strength, and (f) reducing personal and relational tension. The study’s findings revealed ways to develop art therapy that are congruent with traditional Chinese clients’ cultural backgrounds.
Online Self-Help Art Therapy-Based Tasks During COVID-19: Qualitative Study by Zsuzsanna Geréb Valachiné, Szilvia A. Karsai, Adél Dancsik, Raissa de Oliveira Negrão, Michelle M. Fitos, & Renáta Cserjési
Publication Date: 2022
This qualitative study explored how online individual art-therapy based (ATB) self-help tasks could support international students during the COVID-19 pandemic lockdown. Twenty-two students participated in 7 weekly online asynchronous sessions that included both art-making and reflecting writing. Emergent themes included: (1) frustration of isolation, (2) loss of control, and (3) support (nature, transpersonal, attachment). Implications of the study offer preliminary evidence that when there is not a possibility for an in-person or real-time encounter, ATB self-help tasks may be a source of coping.

EBOOKS

These ebooks are useful in learning about art therapists' approach to research, how various methodologies are employed in the context of the field, specific ethical considerations, etc.

Introduction to Art Therapy Research by Lynn Kapitan
ISBN: 9781138912854
Publication Date: 2017-08-22
Written by a prominent figure in the world of art therapy, this pragmatic text is organized into three parts: Part I provides an overview of the basic steps in conceptualizing an art therapy research study, with an emphasis on perspectives that are intrinsic to art therapy. Chapters in Part II cover an inclusive methodological framework from quantitative and outcomes research to qualitative, practitioner-based field research, critical-participatory orientations, phenomenological and narrative approaches, and the growing influence of art-based research in art therapy. Part III offers up-to-date ethical guidelines and valuable tools for understanding and evaluating research reports, as well as practical guidance for publication in scholarly journals based on the author's long experience as the editor of the field's leading scholarly publication.
Arts in Health by Daisy Fancourt
ISBN: 9780198792079
Publication Date: 2017-07-25
Arts in Health: Designing and Researching Interventions provides a complete overview of how to go about undertaking research and practice in the field of arts in health. It starts by exploring the context for arts in health interventions, including the history of the use of arts in health and the theoretical and political developments that have laid the foundations for its flourishing. Part III considers the value of research for the field of arts in health and demonstrates how to design and undertake a research project.

ART THERAPY WORKBOOKS

QML has a wealth of workbooks in its physical collection, which are used in contemporary art therapy practice. Some examples of popular and reputable workbooks are collected here. Click a title or cover image below to navigate to the item's page in the library's catalog, where you can check its availability and place a hold.

For instructions on placing a hold on a QML item, check out the video on the right side of this page.

Attending SWC remotely? EMAIL US to ask about options for accessing these workbooks or sections of them in digital additions and/or obtaining a copy via mail.

Expressive Therapies for Kids by Kimberley Plamiotto
Call Number: RJ 505.A7 .P356 2020
ISBN: 9781683732495
Publication Date: 2020-02-04
An art, music, play and drama toolbox for school-based counseling. Includes the activities and directives: The Director -- Mirror, Mirror -- The Instrument -- And Then... -- Role-Play -- Puppet Show -- Role the Dice -- Guess My Feeling -- Animal Feelings -- Walking in Their Shoes -- Pair Up -- What's Happening? -- It's a... -- The Trickster -- Mirror Me -- Build a Story -- Changing Emotions -- And the Award Goes to... -- Alphabet Drama
250 Brief, Creative & Practical Art Therapy Techniques by Susan Buchalter
Call Number: RC 489.A7 .B764 2017
ISBN: 9781683730958
Publication Date: 2017-10-31
The brief, art therapy warm-ups collected here are designed to break the ice and get clients feeling comfortable, less inhibited, and motivated to participate in individual or group therapy. Contains 250 unique art exercises to increase self-esteem, self-awareness and a feeling of success in artistic expression and communication and allow clients to engage in therapeutic exercises without judgment. Using simple materials like paper, pencils and markers, these techniques can be immediately implemented in your practice.
200 More Brief, Creative & Practical Art Therapy Techniques by Susan Buchalter
Call Number: RC 489.A7 .B764 2020
ISBN: 9781683732693
Publication Date: 2020-03-09
This follow-up book provides 200 more art exercises clinicians can use in art therapy and psychotherapy groups. With just a few simple materials, Buchalter provides endless opportunities for clients to create meaningful images, share their experiences, and become more focused and open in therapy. To make it easier for therapists, teachers, psychologists, counselors, and individuals, the exercises are categorized into beneficial themes: Self- Care -- Self-Compassion -- Mindfulness -- Stress & Anxiety -- Happiness -- Self-Awareness -- Self-Esteem -- Self-Acceptance
Building Better Therapeutic Relationships with Children by Deborah Schroder
Call Number: RJ 504 .S376 2022
ISBN: 9781787759688
Publication Date: 2022-12-21
This easy-to-use workbook filled with ideas and activities is essential for therapists, counselors and mental health professionals for starting, developing and sustaining strong therapeutic relationships with children. Focussing on creating a partnership in the therapy room, chapters include practical guidance on the difference between relationship building between adults and children, adapting activities to a variety of settings and starting the relationship.
Finding Your Voice Through Creativity by Mindy Jacobson-Levy; Maureen Foy-Tornay
Call Number: RC552.E18 J33 2010
ISBN: 9780936077307
Publication Date: 2010-03-30
This workbook combines art therapy exercises and guided journal writing for individuals who want to explore their relationship with food and their bodies in a new way. Written by board-certified art psychotherapists, the workbook includes 58 expressive art projects and corresponding written exercises, which lead readers through specific stages of self-discovery related to disordered eating patterns, body image issues, relationships, life skills, emotions, self love, and personal transformation.
Blending art therapy and the twelve steps of Alcoholics Anonymous - The workbook : An integrative approach to addiction treatment by Pamela Hayes
Call Number: HV 5276.A788 H947 2012
Publication Date: 2012-09-04
This is the first workbook that combines Art Therapy and 12 Step treatment. It features one art therapy intervention for each of the Twelve-Steps of AA. With clear explanations of how and why the art is connected to each specific Step, and comprehensive descriptions of how the art process can be used to achieve a deeper understanding of one's self and motivations.

Further Resources
American Art Therapy Association	An association of art therapy professionals, including students, educators, and related practitioners in the field based in Alexandria, VA, and founded in 1969. Creators of Art Therapy: the Journal of the American Art Therapy Association.
Art Therapy Credentials Board, Inc.	Ensures the educational and professional standards needed to be a qualified art therapist are met and maintained which is essential in any mental health field. Oversees the ATCBE, the exam necessary for licensure in New Mexico and many other states.
New Mexico Art Therapy Association	"Our mission is to provide a safe place for meaningful connections between people who share an interest in the therapeutic use of art making and creative expression in New Mexico." Contact at: nmarttherapy@hotmail.com

Contact Us

Link not working?
Unsure how to find what you need?

Please reach out to us at askthelibrary@swc.edu.

Art Therapy: Home

Contact Us

How to Place a Hold