Quimby Memorial Library: Theories of Art Therapy: Art Therapy Theory Presentation & Reflection

Overview

Collected here are information and resources to assist you in researching the Art Therapy Theory Presentation and Reflection assignment in this course.

The syllabus details this assignment as:

Art Therapy Theory Presentation and Reflection: This presentation should be focused on a foundational framework in the field of art therapy that is learned in this course. The presentation itself should be no longer than 20 minutes with a 30-minute art experiential for your peers to integrate the information you presented through artmaking. Your presentation should utilize PowerPoint, Prezi or other slideshow presentation software. You are required to cite 3-5 references in your presentation; one reference from the readings offered in the class and the other references from outside the class. 

A. The presentation should include: 

A brief history of the theory

A thorough review of the theory and its direct application to art therapy

What does this framework look like in art therapy practice?

Populations this framework would benefit most, as well as which populations it would not be a good fit

Cultural responsiveness of the framework. Consider how this framework may impact the gender, sexuality, race, ethnicity, etc. of your clients

Include a reference slide

B. The experiential should include: 

An introduction to the art directive; (Consider what your clinical rationale is for choice in directive)

A period of Artmaking demonstrating a comprehension of the framework

Allow time for the group to talk about their experience

C. Reflection Paper: This is a 2–3-page paper in APA 7 format (see above). Your reflection should consider the full experience of researching, presenting, and facilitating an experiential related to the framework you were assigned. Please include your own reflections, critiques, and considerations of the material. This will be due a week after your presentation.  (CLOs: 1-3) 

Due Starting Week 2

For more information on this assignment consult your syllabus and/or your instructor.

Articles & Journals

QML'S Academic Articles Database
Looking for information on how to access and effectively use QML's academic articles database? Start here.

Searchable Journals

Searching a theory or approach within an art therapy journal, rather than within an entire database or the wider web, is a great way to search with fewer keywords, while ensuring that resources returned are within an art therapy context.

Art Therapy: Journal of the American Art Therapy Association by The American Art Therapy Association
Publication Date: 1983-present

Click to navigate directly to AATA's searchable database of peer reviewed articles, contemporary art therapy research, and editorials.
Canadian Journal of Art Therapy: Research, Practice, and Issues by The Canadian Art Therapy Association
Publication Date: 1985-present

Click to navigate directly to the Canadian Art Therapy Association's searchable database of peer reviewed articles, contemporary art therapy research, and editorials.
International Journal of Art Therapy by British Association of Art Therapists
Publication Date: 1996-present

Click to navigate directly to BAAT's searchable database of peer reviewed articles, contemporary art therapy research, and editorials.

Articles

The following peer reviewed academic articles are categorized by theory/approach. Not seeing an approach you'd like to research, please email us.

Psychodynamic Approaches

Art as therapy: Museums and galleries as places for psychodynamic art therapy by David A. Walters
Publication Date: 2020

Galleries and museums house objects and artefacts of potential benefit to the practice of psychodynamic psychotherapy. This paper reflects on the notion of art as therapy, the ability of artistic elements to address the unconscious, and the utility of developing a phenomenology of psychodynamic art therapy. The case of Jonathan (‘fictional case composite’) is described, i.e. his psychotherapy as prompted and furthered by the use of gallery images. According to the psychoanalytic theory of Freud, the language of words, and that of images, may well correspond to the workings of conscious and unconscious. The therapeutic experience of art is likely to include psychoanalytic phenomena (reverie, reflection, reverberation, the uncanny) that may be redirected to self-awareness, personal change and growth.
The outcome of short‐term psychodynamic art therapy compared to short‐term psychodynamic verbal therapy for depressed women by Karin Egberg Thyme, Eva C. Sundin, Gustaf Stahlberg, Birgit Lindstrom, Hanna Eklof, & Britt Wiberg
Publication Date: 2007

Though an older article, the study described is foundational to tracking application and efficacy of a psychodynamic approach in art therapy, and has been cited by many studies since.

Cognitive & Neuroscience Approaches

Using neuroscience to explore creative media in art therapy: a systematic narrative review by Shireen Malik
Publication Date: 2022

This Review of published peer-reviewed research between years 2000 and 2020 on neuroscience and art therapy is an excellent source for information on current understanding of brain responses during the AT process and locating related literature.
Practical Applications of Neuroscience-Informed Art Therapy by Juliet L. King, Girija Kaimal, Lukasz Konopka, Christopher Belkofer, & Christianne E. Strang
Publication Date: 2019

Advances in the field of neuroscience can be used to support scientific research and best practices in the profession of art therapy. This article provides a general overview of how neuroscience informs art therapy by providing an overview of neuroscience research in art therapy and offering practical applications for adopting a neuroscience-informed way of working. Integrating neuroscience research into art therapy practice entails having a clear rationale for one’s practice and when sharing didactic information with clients can aid treatment goals.
Revisioning self-identity: The role of portraits, neuroscience and the art therapist's ‘third hand’ by Susan M. D. Carr
Publication Date: 2014

This article describes an intervention that reverses the traditional ‘terms of engagement’ within art therapy, using the art therapist's ‘third hand’ to create portraits for patients, co-designed by them. This enables patients who are too unwell to make art themselves to engage in the creative design process as patient-researchers (PRs) and as valued experts on their lived experience. Using knowledge from recent advances in neuroscience, the author develops theoretical insights into the neurological processes involved in vision, emotion, memory and cognition, contributing to empirical theory building in art therapy and highlighting potential areas for interdisciplinary neuro-art therapy research.

Transpersonal Approaches

Art-based learning: painting the journey of self-realisation by José van den Akker
Publication Date: 2014

Art-based learning is a way of engaging the intellectual, affective, visual and kinaesthetic domains modelling creative, lateral thinking and personal meaning-making through metaphor as well as coaching dialogue. It is a form of experiential learning involving learning cycles to entice deep reflection in and on practice and deep, transformative learning. Art-based learning is essential to the studies of Expression and Communication and of Transpersonal Art Therapy (TAT). This journal-type essay explores what happened during an arts-based activity as part of the author’s study in TAT practice.
Sociopolitical Oppression, Trauma, and Healing: Moving Toward a Social Justice Art Therapy Framework by Owen Paul Karcher
Publication Date: 2017

Here Karcher offers an expanded definition of trauma as it relates to social and political oppression, and examines the privileges and assumptions he holds as a therapist. The author provides case examples from clinical practice of client responses to political and societal trauma, ending with suggestions for critical self-reflection for art therapists invested in a social justice framework.

Integrative Approaches / Spiritual Approaches

Music therapy, spirituality and transcendence by Hilary Moss
Publication Date: 2017

This article explores the spiritual aspects of making music, with reference to music therapy practice and theory. The research questions addressed in this article are: (1) Does singing in a choir have spiritual health benefits? (2) How do people participating in music-making experience the spiritual and/or transcendent aspects of music? (3) Can music therapy play a role in supporting clients’ spiritual health and expression?
Gaining Cultural Competence Through Alliances in Art Therapy With Indigenous Clients by Tzafi Weinberg
Publication Date: 2018

Non-Indigenous art therapists who work with Indigenous clients must carefully consider Indigenous culture as part of their practice. The historical mistrust of Indigenous people toward non-Indigenous health-care providers creates challenges in providing therapeutic support. Non-Indigenous art therapists cannot participate in Indigenous traditions without prior knowledge of the people they work with that is specific to their history, acknowledging the realities of intergenerational trauma, and the barriers to the circle of caring that is traditionally modeled within the family and the community. Furthermore, as an ethical imperative it is essential for non-Indigenous art therapists to partner with an Indigenous mentor or clinical supervisor. There are successful examples of Indigenous-focused art therapy programs that will be highlighted, with the aim of promoting culturally responsive approaches to art therapy practice.
Stepping Into the Circle: Inviting Spirit Through Medicine Wheel Teachings in the Expressive Therapies Continuum by Megan Kanerahtenhá:wi Whyte
Publication Date: 2023

This article explores the intersections between colonial trauma and Indigenous identity as a centralizing factor of Indigenous wellness. Focusing on the Expressive Therapies Continuum theory, this author continues her research on using culturally significant materials and material interaction as a way to honor Indigenous knowledge. Taking a Two-Eyed Seeing approach, this author proposes changing the shape of the continuum from hierarchal to cyclical in order to invite clinicians to reflect on the role of Spirit and cultural identity as important elements when considering wholistic health. Using the teachings of the Medicine Wheel, the body, heart, mind, and Spirit are connected with the somatic/kinesthetic, perceptual/affective, cognitive/symbolic, and creative levels of the continuum.

Humanistic Approaches

Strengthening the Therapeutic Bond through Therapist Art Making with Clients by Cara L Tompkins Rosa
Publication Date: 2023

Art therapy research supports the benefits of creative expression for well-being. Counseling literature highlights the necessity of therapist well-being. Art therapists often have art practices that contribute to their personal growth and support their authenticity as artist-practitioners. There is uncertainty, however, surrounding the appropriateness of art therapists making art alongside clients during clinical work. Humanistic art therapists view art therapy as a shared creative journey utilizing therapist presence, authenticity, empathy, and unconditional acceptance to guide the client toward self-realization. This author explores, from a humanistic art therapy perspective, in-session therapist art making as a shared creative process that deepens the client-therapist relationship and promotes the well-being of client and therapist.
Art Therapy In Humanistic Psychiatry by Masoumeh Farokhi
Publication Date: 2011

Art-therapy is one of the new technologies in humanistic
psychiatry. It mainly deals with a kind of treatment based on the use of artistic production. Art is creation, play, beauty,
communication, and intuition . Artists express their emotional world through art, and the spectators or readers let this world pass
through the realm of their sensuality. The true essence of art is in its perceptible and imaginary nature. Art can be pictured as the mirror of direct experience and feelings and sentiments of people. Images and symbols are considered the carriers of emotions and feelings.

Community-Based Approaches

Community Art Therapy: A Working Definition and Practice Approaches by Emily Goldstein Nolan & Julia Mumpton
Publication Date: 2023

This article presents qualitative research that further defines community art therapy and provides practice approaches of art therapy practitioners who work in community contexts. The researcher collected data through interviews with 32 art therapy practitioners working in community programs in 36 countries. Interviews were transcribed, coded, and analyzed to develop grounded theory and a model of community art therapy practice. Results were consistent with community art therapy endeavors in art therapy literature. The study identified clear practice approaches such as ethical considerations, inclusivity, justice-orientation, theoretically expansive, egalitarian, and nervous system regulation. Art therapists can use the definition and practice approaches presented here to guide their practice in communities.
Breaking Bars: Community-Based Art Therapy Mural Project by Elizabeth DelliCarpini
Publication Date: 2020

This article details a community-based art therapy mural project with young people involved in New York City’s justice system. To address the racial and economic oppression they confront, the project aimed to increase social bonds and create social power shifts within a collective community. Examples from two projects, Good Art: Bad City and Welcome to Our World, demonstrate ways to mitigate power differentials, facilitate community conversations, provide therapeutic benefits, and institute advocacy efforts.
The Traveling Loom: Example of Community-Based Art Therapy by Leara Glinzak & Lisa Dunkelberger
Publication Date: 2023

The Traveling Loom is an example of community-based art therapy in Grand Rapids, Michigan. It was designed to foster connections in a city that experienced social, cultural, political, religious, and socioeconomic challenges. The community-based format of The Traveling Loom provided space for interaction amongst community members, thereby helping individuals relate to others with whom they may otherwise not interact. Case examples demonstrate how participants directly expressed themselves, challenged perceptions, forged connections, and developed cross-neighborhood opportunities.
Community-Based Art Therapy Program to Honor 9/11 by Melody J. Shipley, Kim Coggins, Kenneth C. Shipley, & David Ellison
Publication Date: 2021

With the increase of mental health problems among veterans and active duty service members since the terrorist attacks on 9/11, the need to provide effective mental health treatments has grown. This study focused on the experiences of thirty-seven active service members, veterans, and their families participating in community-based arts activities. Four themes were uncovered suggesting the experience was positive and expressing thoughts and feelings through art-making was therapeutic. Results indicated that art expression provided a way to reflect on the effects on the country, families, and individuals affected by 9/11. Understanding how participants experienced the event provides better understanding of how expressive arts events addressing grief and combat-related loss can be a beneficial component of community engagement and integration.
A Model for Art Therapists in Community-Based Practice by Dylan D. Ottemiller & Yasmine J. Awais
Publication Date: 2016

With growing trends toward preventative, community-based health care, art therapists must expand their scope of practice beyond the medical model and individual psychodynamics in order to serve, include, and empower those in need. In this article the authors review literature that illustrates the unique qualities art therapists can contribute to community-based work with their conflict resolution skills, creativity, flexibility, and knowledge of group dynamics and the effects of trauma on individuals and communities. Informed by overarching theories and the unique needs of the community, driven by goals of social inclusion, empowerment, and stigma reduction, a model is presented for art therapists interested in working with communities to facilitate a process that recognizes and acknowledges ways to reduce power differentials and increase the building of trust and relationships.

Creative Alliance in Art Therapy

Creative Alliance: The Healing Power of Art Therapy by Cliff Joseph
Publication Date: 2011

This editorial by Joseph includes unique insights and autobiographical details, relating the author/therapist's experiences of oppression to his approach to practice.
Creating a Culture of Connection: A Postmodern Punk Rock Approach to Art Therapy by Jessica Masino Drass
Publication Date: 2016

Punk culture is based on an ideology that emphasizes questioning conformity and creating a space for individuality within community. It has inspired fans to create their own music and art as part of their quest for authenticity. Art therapy informed by punk culture can be a way to create a culture of connection while also building resiliency and instilling hope through core concepts of collapse of hierarchy, a search for authenticity and understanding, deconstruction/reconstruction, and empowerment through a DIY mindset. In this article the author illustrates firsthand experiences with punk rock culture and postmodern art and describes how they inform her art therapy practice.
Textile Healing – Feminist Resistance Against Sexualized Violence and Femicides Through Activist Art by Sarah Held
Publication Date: 2022

This article portrays feminist resistance to sexualized violence/femicides through critical crafting, which is (textile) craft-based activist art. This artistic practice makes invisible violence visible; or feminist phrased the private becomes the political. Textile crafting strategies place sexualized relations of violence to which women are exposed in patriarchally organized (industrial) cultures worldwide at the center of the discourse. The projects aim to make visible the situation of survivors of sexualized violence and the relatives of murdered women* and generate a sense of self-empowerment through the co-creation of agency for survivors.
Reclaiming the space: art therapy & post-abortion experience through an intersectional feminist lens by Natalia Talamagka
Publication Date: 2023

his paper aims to revisit and deconstruct the issue of abortion and place it in the sociopolitical context from which it arises. The research included draws from multiple disciplines including art history, the politics of inclusivity and the interconnections between identity, oppression and privilege, as a way to understand the intricacy of one’s experience of abortion and approaches the topic through an intersectional feminist lens. The paper explores art therapy as a powerful approach to depict loss, and questions how we can create a safe therapeutic space for our clients in order to allow them to further explore their post-abortion experience. Two key themes were explored; ‘self and body as a compass’ and ‘working with the “invisible loss” and recreating the narrative; Art therapy approach’. The first theme touches on the sociopolitical ideas imprinted on the body and how a therapeutic space may allow an individual to further explore the memories associated with their experience. The second theme further looks into how art therapy can be a powerful approach for the exploration of themes that emerge post-abortion, as well as the importance of being able to encourage agency in our client to choose their own way of using the therapeutic space.
Creative Destruction and Transformation in Art and Therapy: Reframing, Reforming, Reclaiming by Mindy Jacobson-Levy & Gretchen M. Miller
Publication Date: 2022

This article presents a therapeutic framework to examine the continuum of creative destruction to transformation through altered book making. The rebuilding of a printed book parallels desired changes that bring individuals to art therapy, including concepts related to reframing, reforming, and reclaiming. The relationship between creative destruction and reconstruction is fundamental to art therapy methods and materials. Case examples highlight the role of destruction-transformation in art therapy and how its process can empower clients to experience insight and growth.

Integrative Approaches

A Deeper Dive into the Expressive Therapies Continuum: Structure, Function, and the Creative Dimension by Megan L. VanMeter, & Lisa D. Hinz
Publication Date: 2023

This viewpoint conveys insights about the Expressive Therapies Continuum (ETC) from the perspective of two students who trained under ETC co-creators Vija Lusebrink and Sandra (Kagin) Graves-Alcorn. The structure of the ETC is based on relationships among various kinds of information processing, and the function of the ETC is to provide integrative treatment through the modification of task complexity, task structure, and media properties, collectively known as Media Dimension Variables (MDV). Adjusting MDV potentiates activation of the Creative Dimension, where client-specific interventions serve to balance overused, underused, and blocked information processing patterns. ETC-based assessment determines the starting point for ETC-based treatment; a client’s artmaking behavior, art products, and verbalizations are then used to ascertain subsequent steps in art therapy.

E-Books

QML's Ebooks Database
Looking for additional information and tips for effectively using QML's ebooks database? Start here.
CHAPTER: Overview of theoretical orientations by Eileen Misluk-Gervase
ISBN: 9780128243084

Publication Date: 2022

This chapter of the reference work Foundations of Art Therapy: Theory and Application, offers helpful and succinct overviews of various foundational frameworks in the field.