Quimby Memorial Library: Integration of Traditional Approaches to Healing: Integration of Traditional Approaches to Healing

INTEGRATION OF TRADITIONAL APPROACHES TO HEALING

Many cultures prescribe to traditional healing practices that are markedly different from Western approaches. Such alternatives are deeply ingrained in their respective culture's worldviews, with increased emphasis on a wide array of values and ideals. Learning about diverse beliefs and practices can increase critical inquiry into the status quo, and - with respect and where appropriate - instigate positive change. This methodology differs from multi-cultural competency, as the goal is to work in a close partnership with or borrow from various traditions to augment one's outreach and effectiveness. However, as an outsider, it is incredibly important not to claim ownership of or mastery over these traditions. When in doubt, always refer to active, leading members of a specific cultural group for guidance.

This guide features QML's resources on the integration of traditional approaches to healing into one's professional practice. Click a tab above to view relevant ebooks, articles, and physical books. While the resources provide a well-rounded survey of our holdings on these topics, they are not comprehensive. Please contact us, if you are not seeing represented here any topics, authors, or specific foci, on which you are seeking information.

You will find links to the information you need to access and effectively use the databases housing this material, at the top of each page in this guide.

EBOOKS

This bibliography features some of QML's contemporary ebooks on integrating traditional approaches to healing into one's practice. The list, however, is not comprehensive. QML holds additional material on this topic and can access much more, via our interlibrary loan network. If you are not finding what you need here, please email us at askthelibrary@swc.edu.

You can retrieve credentials for accessing ebooks from EBSCOhost, by clicking here.

QML'S EBOOKS DATABASE

Looking for additional information and tips for effectively using QML's ebooks database? Start here.

The Arts of Indigenous Health and Well-Being by Nancy Van Styvendale; J. D. McDougall; Robert Henry; Robert Alexander Innes
ISBN: 9780887559396
Publication Date: 2021
Drawing attention to the ways in which creative practices are essential to the health, well-being, and healing of Indigenous peoples, this book addresses the effects of artistic endeavour on the “good life”, or mino-pimatisiwin in Cree, which can be described as the balanced interconnection of physical, emotional, spiritual, and mental well-being. In this interdisciplinary collection, Indigenous knowledges inform an approach to health as a wider set of relations that are central to well-being, wherein artistic expression furthers cultural continuity and resilience, community connection, and kinship to push back against forces of fracture and disruption imposed by colonialism. The need for healing—not only individuals but health systems and practices—is clear, especially as the trauma of colonialism is continually revealed and perpetuated within health systems. The field of Indigenous health has recently begun to recognize the fundamental connection between creative expression and well-being.
Indigenous Ways of Knowing in Psychological Counseling: Theory, Research, and Practice by Lisa Grayshield; Ramon Del Castillo
ISBN: 9783030331764
Publication Date: 2020
Indigenous Counseling is based in universal principals/truths that promote a way to think about how to live in the world and with one another that extends beyond the scope of Western European thought. Individual health and wellness is intricately interwoven into the relationships that we establish on multiple levels in our lives, those that we establish with ourselves, with others, and with the external environments with which we live. From an Indigenous perspective, health and wellness in our individual lives, families, community and world, is the result of ancient knowledge that produces action in a way that is beneficial to all beings on the planet for generations to come.
Complementary Medicine and Culture: the Changing Cultural Territory of Local and Global Healing Practices by Tass Holmes; Paul Cherniack
ISBN: 9781536119817
Publication Date: 2017
This book engages topical and problematic issues regarding the impacts of cultural change on traditional healing beliefs and practices in both developing and developed nations. It describes issues ranging from the attrition of cultural heritage knowledge, or traditional knowledge, to the implications of unconventional modern and traditional healing in various guises encountered during projects that entailed research fieldwork in communities of Australia, Africa and within institutions of mainstream healthcare in the United States. Furthermore, it explores philosophical aspects of contemporary complementary medicine practices. This book has pertinence for many practitioners and consumers of traditional “non-medical” forms of health practices, and relevance for the theoretical body of understanding related to these diverse fields. In particular, the individual chapters describe topics important to indigenous persons, people living in rural areas, those with mental illnesses, practitioners of Chinese medicine and massage therapy, practitioners and consumers of traditional Western herbal medicine, social theorists interested in unconventional health domains, and US veterans seeking adjunctive wellbeing care and advice alongside medical treatment.
Asian Healing Traditions in Counseling and Psychotherapy by Roy Moodley; Ted Lo
ISBN: 9781483371436
Publication Date: 2017
Asian Healing Traditions in Counseling and Psychotherapy explores the various healing approaches and practices in the East and bridges them with those in the West to show counselors how to provide culturally sensitive services to distinct populations. Editors Roy Moodley, Ted Lo, and Na Zhu bring together leading scholars across Asia to demystify and critically analyze traditional Far East Asian healing practices—such as Chinese Taoist Healing practices, Morita Therapy, Naikan Therapy, Mindfulness and Existential Therapy, Buddhism and Mindfulness Meditation, and Acceptance and Commitment Therapy—in relation to health and mental health in the West. The book will not only show counselors how to apply Eastern and Western approaches to their practices but will also shape the direction of counseling and psychotherapy research for many years to come.
Integrating Traditional Healing Practices into Counseling and Psychotherapy by Roy Moodley; William West
ISBN: 9780761930464
Publication Date: 2005
This book critically examines ethnic minority cultural and traditional healing in relation to counseling and psychotherapy. Authors Roy Moodley and William West highlight the challenges and changes in the field of multicultural counseling and psychotherapy by integrating current issues of traditional healing with contemporary practice. The book uniquely presents a range of accounts of the dilemmas and issues facing students, professional counselors, psychotherapists, social workers, researchers, and others who use multicultural counseling or transcultural psychotherapy as part of their professional practice.
African Medical Pluralism by William C. Olsen; Carolyn Sargent
ISBN: 9780253024770
Publication Date: 2017
In most places on the African continent, multiple health care options exist and patients draw on a therapeutic continuum that ranges from traditional medicine and religious healing to the latest in biomedical technology. The ethnographically based essays in this volume highlight African ways of perceiving sickness, making sense of and treating suffering, and thinking about health care to reveal the range and practice of everyday medicine in Africa through historical, political, and economic contexts.
Bridging East-West Psychology and Counselling by Roy Moodley; Aanchal Rai; Waseem Alladin
ISBN: 9788132104452
Publication Date: 2010
This edited volume in honour of Dr Pittu Laungani, one of the leading cross-cultural psychologists of the West, brings together renowned names in the field of Psychology who critique Dr Laungani's contribution from various angles. It explores the nature of cross-cultural psychology, counselling and psychotherapy, specifically attempting to build bridges between Indian philosophy and the Western approaches and methods. The various chapters consider interesting and challenging questions like culture and stress, traditional healing and Hindu spirituality, and caste, class and culture and their relationship to counselling psychology. The book will be of great interest to those teaching and studying courses on cross-cultural counselling and psychotherapy and also multicultural social work.

ARTICLES

This bibliography features peer-reviewed, searchable journals and academic articles, reporting on contemporary research on integrating traditional approaches to healing. The list, however, is not comprehensive. QML holds additional material on this topic and can access much more, via our interlibrary loan network. If you are not finding what you need here, please email us at askthelibrary@swc.edu.

You can retrieve credentials for accessing articles from Taylor & Francis Online, by clicking here.

QML'S ACADEMIC ARTICLES DATABASE

Looking for information on how to access and effectively use QML's academic articles database? Start here.

Traditional healing and counselling services partnership in multicultural South Africa: A multiple case study by Petro van der Merwe
Publication Date: 2019
This study explored partnership opportunities between traditional healing and counselling psychology services in South Africa. Informants comprised a traditional healer and two counselling psychologists who completed interviews on practices in which they engaged and that could be bridged for the benefit of the client. Following thematic analysis, findings indicated opportunities for collaborative services as ways to transform the lives of others as facilitators.
Gaining Cultural Competence Through Alliances in Art Therapy With Indigenous Clients by Tzafi Weinberg
Publication Date: 2018
Non-Indigenous art therapists who work with Indigenous clients must carefully consider Indigenous culture as part of their practice. The historical mistrust of Indigenous people toward non-Indigenous health-care providers creates challenges in providing therapeutic support. Non-Indigenous art therapists cannot participate in Indigenous traditions without prior knowledge of the people they work with that is specific to their history, acknowledging the realities of intergenerational trauma, and the barriers to the circle of caring that is traditionally modeled within the family and the community. Furthermore, as an ethical imperative it is essential for non-Indigenous art therapists to partner with an Indigenous mentor or clinical supervisor. There are successful examples of Indigenous-focused art therapy programs that will be highlighted, with the aim of promoting culturally responsive approaches to art therapy practice.
Intersections of Traditional Healing and Art Therapy: Legacy of Sarah E. McGee by Cheryl Doby-Copeland
Publication Date: 2019
Sarah McGee’s major contribution to the profession of art therapy was her use of traditional African healing practices in her work with clients. Her immersive training as a ndeppkat (spiritual healer) and Lébou Ndepp rituals in Senegal offered a foundation for her approach to therapy. These rituals informed her work, even in secular settings, through attention to the whole client (bio-psychosocial) and community involvement. The significance and implications of McGee’s pioneering efforts for contemporary art therapists include adopting a holistic perspective, involving the community for treating individuals, incorporating drumming, and collaborating with spiritual healers.
Indigenous Women’s Ways of Knowing and Healing in Mexico by Nuria Ciofalo
Publication Date: 2017
This article focuses on examples of Indigenous ways of knowing in three communities of northern and southern Mexico. It centers on dialogue conducted with Indigenous women from Northern Baja California (Arcelia, the cultural healer from the Kumiai community of San Jose de la Zorra), Oaxaca (Maria Sabina through textual analysis of the only book that houses her healing wisdom), and Chiapas (the Lacandon community of Lacanja Chansayab). It then highlights ways in which the author—an academic woman—brought the wisdom of Indigenous cultures to the center of academic discourse, and how Indigenous women apply their knowledge and wisdom to heal their communities.
Indigenous Healing Practices and Asian Immigrant Women by Sherry C. Wang; Gayle Y. Iwamasa
Publication Date: 2018
The current article highlights the importance of indigenous psychology for Asian immigrant women. A brief overview is provided about Asian American immigration and the importance of understanding women’s experiences with the contextual lens of gender, ethnicity, and race. Key values relevant to help-seeking and service utilization are also presented. Complementary alternative approaches to Western-based mental health treatment are discussed as ways in which feminist and multicultural treatment approaches can be integrated. Given the inherent diversity of Asians and Asian Americans, which includes over 60 ethnic subgroups, the article is not meant to provide an exhaustive list of available native practices nor to reflect the experiences of Asians as a homogenous group. Instead, the goal of this article is to provide readers with an understanding of how culturally based healing practices and concepts are needed to complement and contribute to our extant understanding of help-seeking.
Synergy of systems theory and symbolic interactionism: a passageway for non-Indigenous researchers that facilitates better understanding Indigenous worldviews and knowledges by Tahir Ali; Petra T. Buergelt; Elaine Lawurrpa Maypilama; Douglas Paton; James A. Smith; Noor Jehan
Publication Date: 2022
Historically, non-Indigenous researchers have contributed to colonisation by research based on Western positivistic philosophical frameworks. This approach led to disembodying knowledge from Indigenous people’s histories, worldviews, and cultural and social practices, thus perpetuating a deficit-based discourse which situates the responsibility of problems within Indigenous peoples and ignores the larger socio-economic and historical contexts in which problems are rooted. Rectifying this position requires decolonising Western positivistic research by shifting to basing research on social constructionist paradigms that lead to strength-based approaches.

BOOKS

Collected here are books relevant to integrating traditional approaches to healing from QML's physical collection. Click a link to be taken to the book's page in the library's catalog. From there you can view additional details, check the book's availability, and place a hold. While a wealth of material is featured here, the list is not comprehensive. Please email us, to inquire about additional resources.

Remote students: keep in mind that items in QML's physical collection are accessible to you as well. Contact library staff to have an item sent via mail, request scans of needed chapters/sections, or inquire about alternative methods of accessing these books or any other resources in our library.

Indigenous Ways of Knowing in Counseling: Theory, Research, and Practice by Lisa Grayshield; Ramon Del Castillo
Call Number: GN502 .I53 2020
ISBN: 3030331784
Publication Date: 2020
Indigenous Counseling is based in universal principals/truths that promote a way to think about how to live in the world and with one another that extends beyond the scope of Western European thought. Individual health and wellness is intricately interwoven into the relationships that we establish on multiple levels in our lives, those that we establish with ourselves, with others, and with the external environments with which we live. From an Indigenous perspective, health and wellness in our individual lives, families, community and world, is the result of ancient knowledge that produces action in a way that is beneficial to all beings on the planet for generations to come.
Healing the Soul Wound: Trauma-Informed Counseling for Indigenous Communities by Eduardo Duran
Call Number: RA448.5.I5 D87 2019
ISBN: 9780807763155
Publication Date: 2019
In this groundbreaking book, Eduardo Duran―a psychologist working in Indian country―draws on his own clinical experience to provide guidance to counselors working with Native Peoples and other vulnerable populations. This second edition includes an important new chapter devoted to working with veterans, examining what it means to go to war and what is required for veterans to heal. Duran also updates his thinking on research, including suggestions on how to invent a new liberation research methodology through applied story science. Translating theory into day-to-day practice, the text presents case materials that illustrate effective intervention strategies for prevalent problems, including substance abuse, intergenerational trauma, and internalized oppression.
Social Justice, Multicultural Counseling, and Practice: Beyond a Conventional Approach by Heesoon Jun
Call Number: BF636.7.C76 J86 2018
ISBN: 9783319725130
Publication Date: 2018
This second edition book provides an update to multicultural psychology and counseling research findings, and the DSM-5 in sociopolitical and cultural contexts. It links social psychology with current cognitive science research on implicit learning, ethnocentrism (attribution error, in-group favoritism, and asymmetric perception), automatic information processing, and inappropriate generalization. Chapters discuss the interwoven characteristics of multiple identities of individuals such as race, gender, class, disability, age, religion, region, and sexual orientation. In addition, the book offers concrete strategies to facilitate inner-dialogue and discussion of self-perception and interpersonal relationships.
Integrating Traditional Healing Practices into Counseling and Psychotherapy by Roy Moodley; William West
Call Number: BL65.M45 I58 2005
ISBN: 9780761930471
Publication Date: 2005
This book critically examines ethnic minority cultural and traditional healing in relation to counseling and psychotherapy. Authors Roy Moodley and William West highlight the challenges and changes in the field of multicultural counseling and psychotherapy by integrating current issues of traditional healing with contemporary practice. The book uniquely presents a range of accounts of the dilemmas and issues facing students, professional counselors, psychotherapists, social workers, researchers, and others who use multicultural counseling or transcultural psychotherapy as part of their professional practice.
Decolonizing Trauma Work: Indigenous Stories and Strategies by Renee Linklater
Call Number: RC451.5.I5 L56 2014
ISBN: 9781552666586
Publication Date: 2014
Renee Linklater explores healing and wellness in Indigenous communities on Turtle Island. Drawing on a decolonizing approach, which puts the “soul wound” of colonialism at the centre, Linklater engages ten Indigenous health care practitioners in a dialogue regarding Indigenous notions of wellness and wholistic health, critiques of psychiatry and psychiatric diagnoses, and Indigenous approaches to helping people through trauma, depression and experiences of parallel and multiple realities. Through stories and strategies that are grounded in Indigenous worldviews and embedded with cultural knowledge, Linklater offers purposeful and practical methods to help individuals and communities that have experienced trauma.

Contact Us

Link not working?
Unsure how to find what you need?

Please reach out to us at askthelibrary@swc.edu.

Integration of Traditional Approaches to Healing: Integration of Traditional Approaches to Healing

Contact Us

How to Place a Hold