Quimby Memorial Library: Compassion Fatigue and Secondary Traumatic Stress: Home

COMPASSION FATIGUE AND SECONDARY TRAUMATIC STRESS

The American Institute of Stress defines compassion fatigue as “the emotional residue or strain of exposure to working with those suffering from consequences of traumatic events.” The term is often used interchangeably with Secondary Traumatic Stress, and both terms are useful for discovering relevant research and literature. The resources featured in this guide are offered for the purpose of highlighting research and analysis related to characteristics, impact, implications, and methods for navigating these phenomena.

Click a tab above to view ebooks, articles, and books on Compassion Fatigue and Secondary Traumatic Stress. While the resources provide a well-rounded survey of our holdings, they are not comprehensive. Please contact us, if you are not seeing represented here any topics, authors, or specific foci, on which you are seeking information.

You will find links to the information you need to access and effectively use the databases housing this material, at the top of each page in this guide.

EBOOKS

Featured here are some of QML's contemporary ebooks on Compassion Fatigue and Secondary Traumatic Stress. In addition to these featured items, QML holds additional material on this topic and can access much more, via our interlibrary loan network. If you are not finding what you need here, please email us at askthelibrary@swc.edu.

You can retrieve credentials for accessing ebooks from EBSCOhost, by clicking here.

QML'S EBOOKS DATABASE

Looking for additional information and tips for effectively using QML's ebooks database? Start here.

Effective Self-Care and Resilience in Clinical Practice by Sarah Parry (Ed.)
ISBN: 9781785920707

Publication Date: 2017-07-21

Hope and resilience are essential throughout therapeutic practice as clinicians encounter a number of challenges that can lead to compassion fatigue and burnout. Through a collection of reflective practitioner accounts, this book explores how practitioners can achieve their best work through a framework of compassion.Combining a number of examples from a variety of practices, including clinical psychology, consultancy, and nursing, each chapter explores how compassion can influence therapeutic work and improve practitioner wellbeing. Topics include stress-resilience, the nature of self-care, self-compassion or self-criticism and supervision in therapeutic practice. These stories offer guidance and ideas for practitioners to prioritise their wellbeing in order to develop a compassionate engagement with clients contributing to a greater therapeutic outcome.
Transformative Learning in Healthcare and Helping Professions Education by Carrie J. Boden; Kathy Peno; Teresa J. Carter
ISBN: 9781641136792

Publication Date: 2019-10-01

Part 4 of this text (entitled Caring for Self and Others), and especially chapter 14 (linked directly here) offers insights from healthcare workers and helping professionals on the topic of compassion fatigue. Valuable information on recognizing the signs and symptoms as well as how to work toward overcoming such fatigue is related via heartfelt, plainspoken first-person narratives.
Stress, Trauma, and Decision-Making for Social Workers by Cheryl Regehr
ISBN: 9780231180122

Publication Date: 2018-10-30

Chapter 2 of this text (entitled Stress and Trauma in Social Work) considers the nature of social workers' exposure to stress and trauma in their work and the influences of that exposure. The specific section linked to here discusses compassion fatigue, secondary traumatic stress, and vicarious traumatization.
Cultivating Professional Resilience in Direct Practice by Jason M. Newell
ISBN: 9780231176583

Publication Date: 2017-09-26

In a textbook that bridges the gap between theoretical and pragmatic approaches to the important issue of self-care in human service work, the author conceptualizes self-care as an ongoing and holistic set of practice behaviors described as the key to professional resilience.To address the effects of trauma-related care on direct practitioners, this text provides a comprehensive, competency-based model for professional resilience, examining four key constructs—stress, empathy, resilience, and self-care—from a range of theoretical dimensions.
Lying down in the Ever-Falling Snow by Wendy Austin; E. Sharon Brintnell; Erika Goble; Leon Kagan; Linda Kreitzer; Denise Larsen; Brendan Leier
ISBN: 9781554588886

Publication Date: 2013-04-30

Compassion, long seen as the foundation of ethical caring, is increasingly understood as a threat to the well-being of those who offer it.Through the lens of hermeneutic phenomenology, the authors present an insider's perspective on compassion fatigue, its effects on the body, on the experience of time and space, and on personal and professional relationships. Accounts of health professionals, alongside examinations of poetry, images, movies, and literature, are used to explore the notions of compassion, hope, and hopelessness as they inform the meaning of caring work.

ARTICLES

This bibliography features peer-reviewed, searchable journals and academic articles, reporting on contemporary research, analysis, and theory related to Compassion Fatigue and Secondary Traumatic Stress within a therapeutic setting. In addition to what is featured here, QML holds further material on this topic and can access much more, via our interlibrary loan network. If you are not finding what you need here, please email us at askthelibrary@swc.edu.

You can retrieve credentials for accessing articles from Taylor & Francis Online, by clicking here.

QML'S ACADEMIC ARTICLES DATABASE

Looking for information on how to access and effectively use QML's academic articles database? Start here.

Secondary traumatic stress and self-care inextricably linked by Allessia P. Owens-King
Publication Date: 2019

Increasingly trauma scholars are exploring the susceptibility of mental health providers to secondary trauma reactions. The current study explores the relationship between clinical social work practice with trauma-exposed clients and secondary traumatic stress among social workers. The intent of this study is to identify the role various factors play in the development of secondary trauma (also known as compassion fatigue). This project empirically demonstrated that high-magnitude social work practice (providing therapeutic intervention to trauma survivors, i.e. military service members and veterans) is associated with higher levels of secondary trauma. There is also empirical evidence that self-care strategies can mitigate the impact of the secondary trauma. Educational and workforce implications for study findings are discussed.
Compassion Satisfaction and Compassion Fatigue among Violence Intervention Caseworkers by Francesca M. B. Fontin, Elizabeth C. Pino, James Hang, & Elizabeth Dugan
Publication Date: 2021

This cross-sectional study sought to describe the prevalence of compassion satisfaction and compassion fatigue (burnout and secondary traumatic stress [STS]) among 93 caseworkers. Participants completed the Professional Quality of Life Survey at a conference for a national network of hospital-based violence intervention programs in September 2018. Results displayed high compassion satisfaction across demographic groups, while participants significantly differed in compassion fatigue by years of experience and workplace setting. This analysis stands in contrast to previous studies showing higher levels of compassion fatigue in younger, and less experienced healthcare workers. Further studies are warranted to determine how the prevalence of compassion fatigue in victim advocates compares to those of other healthcare providers and which interventions can best promote compassion satisfaction.
Breaking the taboo: eight Swedish clinical psychologists’ experiences of compassion fatigue by Malin Norrman Harling, Elisabeth Högman, & Elinor Schad
Publication Date: 2020

The aim of the study was to investigate the participating psychologists’ experiences with compassion fatigue, and to identify individual, interpersonal, and organizational factors and strategies perceived as contributing or protecting in relation to compassion fatigue.
Self-care behaviours and their relationship with Satisfaction and Compassion Fatigue levels among social workers by M. Elena Cuartero, & José F. Campos-Vidal
Publication Date: 2019

Compassion fatigue is a syndrome resulting from an empathic listening to the client’s distress. Social workers, by the relational nature of their task, can be at risk and may suffer from adverse health effects. This quantitative research (N = 270) aimed to assess the efficiency of social workers’ self-care practices. The conclusion is that personal and professional self-care practices reduce compassion fatigue levels as well as increase satisfaction levels. Promoting self-care practices will bring benefits for the professional and, therefore, in the client and the institution.
From Compassion Fatigue to Vitality: Memoir With Art Response for Self-Care by Liza Hyatt
Publication Date: 2020

The combination of an art therapist’s personal trauma with secondary traumatic stress can lead to compassion fatigue. Inspired by narrative art therapy methods, the author engaged in memoir writing, art responses, authentic movement, and public exhibition. This creative life review identified ways in which her nervous system responses to clients’ traumas became tangled with personal implicit memories from childhood trauma and attachment injuries. The creative process identified overburdened and untended personal life-stage initiations (e.g., entering midlife), which emerged as 2 insights: pain numbing to cope with juvenile arthritis and restricted early attachment. This awareness led to a better understanding of fight–flight–freeze responses and improved relationships with clients and others.
Does Feeling Empathy Lead to Compassion Fatigue or Compassion Satisfaction? The Role of Time Perspective by Eric M. Hansen, Jakob Håkansson Eklund, Anna Hallén, Carmen Stockman Bjurhager, Emil Norrström, Adam Viman, & Eric L. Stocks
Publication Date: 2018

Research has shown that feeling empathy sometimes leads to compassion fatigue and sometimes to compassion satisfaction. In three studies, participants recalled an instance when they felt empathy in order to assess the role time perspective plays in how empathizers perceive the consequences of empathy. The results of these studies indicate that perceptions of the effects of feeling empathy, whether positive or negative, become less extreme over time. These findings shed light on the relation between empathy and compassion fatigue and satisfaction by suggesting that situations that initially are experienced as stressful can over time make the empathizer stronger.
Emotion Regulation Strategies, Secondary Traumatic Stress, and Compassion Satisfaction in Healthcare Providers by Cornelia Măirean
Publication Date: 2016

The aim of the present study is to examine the relationships between two emotion regulation strategies (cognitive reappraisal and expressive suppression), secondary traumatic stress, and compassion satisfaction in a sample of 190 healthcare providers. Another aim of this study is to examine if the relations between emotion regulation strategies and traumatic stress symptoms are moderated by compassion satisfaction. he results revealed negative associations between cognitive reappraisal and secondary traumatic stress, while expressive suppression is positively associated with arousal. Moreover, cognitive reappraisal is positively related to compassion satisfaction, while secondary traumatic stress symptoms are negatively correlated with compassion satisfaction. Furthermore, the relationship between expressive suppression and intrusions is moderated by compassion satisfaction. The implications of these results for enhancing professional quality of life in the context of secondary exposure to traumatic life events are discussed.
Thought Patterns Mediate the Development of Secondary Traumatic Stress in Social Workers by Tali Samson, Yaacov G. Bachner, &Tamar Freud
Publication Date: 2022

Social workers’ exposure to their clients' trauma can lead to secondary traumatisation stress (STS). In light of cognitive theories suggesting the tendency for repetitive thought (RT) as being predictive of poor adjustment to traumatic events, the current study explores whether RT mediates the correlation between known STS predictors and its severity. Ninety social workers providing care to traumatised clients completed a self-report survey. Multiple regression analysis revealed a full mediation model, or that STS was positively associated with RT, which in turn was positively associated with STS. In addition, the direct effect of STS association with centrality of event was found to no longer be of significance. These findings suggest that interventions focused on combating rumination and increasing social workers’ awareness of their personal susceptibility could be effective.

BOOKS

Collected here are books on Compassion Fatigue and Secondary Traumatic Stress from QML's physical collection. Click a link to be taken to the book's page in the library's catalog. From there you can view additional details, check the book's availability, and place a hold. While a wealth of material on Compassion Fatigue and Burnout is featured here, the list is not comprehensive. Please email us, to inquire about additional resources.

Remote students: keep in mind that items in QML's physical collection are accessible to you as well. Contact library staff to have an item sent via mail, request scans of needed chapters/sections, or inquire about alternative methods of accessing these books or any other resources in our library.

Effective Altruism: Philosophical Issues by Hilary Greaves; Theron Pummer
Call Number: BJ1474 .E344 2019

ISBN: 9780198841364

Publication Date: 2019

This is the first collective study of the thinking behind the effective altruism movement. This movement comprises a growing global community of people who organise significant parts of their lives around the two key concepts represented in its name. Altruism is the idea that if we use a significant portion of the resources in our possession—whether money, time, or talents—with a view to helping others then we can improve the world considerably. When we do put such resources to altruistic use, it is crucial to focus on how much good this or that intervention is reasonably expected to do per unit of resource expended (as a gauge of effectiveness).
The Oxford Handbook of Compassion Science by Monica C. Worline (Editor); C. Daryl Cameron (Editor); James R. Doty (Editor); Emma M. Seppälä (Editor); Emiliana Simon-Thomas (Editor); Stephanie L. Brown (Editor)
Call Number: BF575.E55 O94 2017

ISBN: 9780190464684

Publication Date: 2017-10-24

The Oxford Handbook of Compassion Science lays a foundation for understanding the science of compassion, from which fatigue, satisfaction, and related concepts might be better understood. The handbook gathers evidence and models of compassion that treat the subject of compassion science with careful scientific scrutiny and concern. It explores the motivators of compassion, the effect on physiology, the co-occurrence of wellbeing, and compassion training interventions. Sectioned by thematic approaches, it pulls together basic and clinical research ranging across neurobiological, developmental, evolutionary, social, clinical, and applied areas in psychology such as business and education. In this sense, it comprises one of the first multidisciplinary and systematic approaches to examining compassion from multiple perspectives and frames of reference.
Help for the Helper: the Psychophysiology of Compassion Fatigue and Vicarious Trauma by Babette Rothschild; Marjorie Rand (As told to)
Call Number: RC552.P67 R6856 2006

ISBN: 9780393712704

Publication Date: 2006-03-17

Therapist burnout is a pressing issue, and self-care is possible only when therapists actively help themselves. The authors examine the literature from neurobiology, social psychology, and folk psychology in order to explain how therapists suffer from an excess of empathy for their clients, and then they present strategies for dealing with burnout and stress.
Treating Compassion Fatigue by Charles R. Figley (Editor)
Call Number: RC 451.4 .M44 T74 2002

ISBN: 1583910530

Publication Date: 2002-06-28

This foundational text from celebrated traumatology pioneer Charles Figley, further clarifies the concept of compassion fatigue through theory, research, and treatment. The basic thesis of this book is the identification, assessment, and treatment of compassion fatigue and this is done over eleven chapters, each from distinguished researchers in the field.

Compassion Fatigue and Secondary Traumatic Stress: Home

How to Place a Hold