Quimby Memorial Library: Sexuality and Gender: Home

SEXUALITY AND GENDER

Human sexuality is complex and personal – and it entails a lot more than just sexual activity. While sexual orientation/identity (being gay, straight, bisexual, or asexual) is separate and distinct from gender identity (female, male, both, or neither), worries about these issues – as well as more general issues related to sexual intimacy (diminished desire, performance, or abuse) – can profoundly affect a person’s mood, thoughts, and well-being. Sexual diversity counselors strive to be affirming and supportive of LGBTQ+ individuals and others who identify along the vast spectrum of gender and sexual diversities as the difficulties they face can be especially painful and isolating.

Obtaining precise demographics of something as complex as sexual orientation or gender identity is difficult for a variety of reasons. However, as the social stigma surrounding sex slowly fades along with a dismantling of rigid gender expectations, the rates at which people are seeking out counselors to help them navigate these issues has significantly grown in recent years. Competency and compassion in these arenas are essential for any budding therapist.

This guide features QML's resources for assisting clients in navigating concerns about Sexuality and Gender, both in clinical and wider contexts. Click a tab above to view ebooks, articles, and books on this approach. While the resources provide a well-rounded survey of our holdings on the topic, they are not comprehensive. Please contact us, if you are not seeing represented here any topics, authors, or specific foci, on which you are seeking information.

You will find links to the information you need to access and effectively use the databases housing this material, at the top of each page in this guide.

EBOOKS

Featured here are some of QML's contemporary ebooks on Sexuality and Gender. In addition to these featured items, QML holds additional material on this topic and can access much more, via our interlibrary loan network. If you are not finding what you need here, please email us at askthelibrary@swc.edu.

You can retrieve credentials for accessing ebooks from EBSCOhost, by clicking here.

QML'S EBOOKS DATABASE

Looking for additional information and tips for effectively using QML's ebooks database? Start here.

Group Counseling with LGBTQI Persons: Across the Lifespan by Kristopher M. Goodrich; Melissa Luke
ISBN: 9781556203497

Publication Date: 2015

This unique resource provides strengths-based, group counseling strategies designed to meet the needs of LGBTQI clients in a variety of settings. Drs. Goodrich and Luke capture the developmental concerns of LGBTQI individuals throughout the life cycle as they establish and maintain intimate relationships, create families, encounter career concerns, and navigate other milestones and transitions. Illustrative case examples and interventions throughout the text, as well as warnings and recommendations, make this an ideal resource for practice and group work courses. After a discussion of the history of group work with the LGBTQI community, the planning and process issues that group leaders should consider in their work, and relevant ethical and legal concerns, the authors explore a range of group types and pertinent issues.
Sex, Sexuality, and Trans Identities: Clinical Guidance for Psychotherapists and Counselors by Jan C. Niemira; Gary J. Jacobson; Karalyn J. Violeta
ISBN: 9781785926174

Publication Date: 2019

A specialist book for mental health professionals, sex therapists and educators to develop and improve their clinical work with trans clients with regards to their sexual relationships and sexuality. It provides an interdisciplinary exploration of the subject, and relates to both clinical practice and theory.Topics explored include the shifting of sexual orientation during or following gender transition; gender dysphoria and co-occurring autism spectrum disorder; negotiating issues of sexuality with partners during transition; eating disorders; and an exploration of the intersection of trans identities and disability. It uniquely touches on perspectives from the field of sex therapy, featuring chapter authors from disciplines including social work, marriage and family counseling, early childhood education, sex therapy, sex education, psychology, and women's studies.
Art Therapy with Transgender and Gender-Expansive Children and Teenagers by Kelly Darke; Shannon Scott-Miller
ISBN: 9781785928086

Publication Date: 2020

An educational and inspirational book that offers practical guidance for art therapists working with transgender and gender-expansive youth and their families. It provides art therapy goals, recommended treatments and coping skills to use with this client group.Each chapter looks at how art therapy can address a different concern or aspect of the experience, such as transitioning, bullying, and recognizing or building a support system. It includes detailed case studies and cutting-edge art therapy interventions, which help young people to express the emotions surrounding the discovery of gender identity, the transition process, and self-care.
Creative Arts Therapies and the LGBTQ Community by Briana MacWilliam; Brian T. Harris; Dana George Trottier; Kristin Long
ISBN: 9781785927966

Publication Date: 2019

Providing theory and practical interventions, this book is the perfect companion to creative arts therapy students and professionals who wish to work with the LGBTQ community and the unique challenges that sexual minorities, transgender and gender non-conforming (TGNC) clients face today.Considering ally development, unconscious bias and intersectionality, the book provides theory, case studies and practical guidance for working with this client group, as well as experiences emerging from within the LGBTQ and CATs community. The contributors cover a wide range of topics, from exploring sexuality and gender identity through portraiture to facilitating a music therapy group with transgender clients, and foster ally development in senior living communities through a multimodal approach.With research finding that people from the LGBTQ community are at increased risk of depression and anxiety, Creative Art Therapies and the LGBTQ Community provides indispensable guidance for therapists.
What Every Mental Health Professional Needs to Know about Sex, Second Edition by Stephanie Buehler
ISBN: 9780826174444

Publication Date: 2016

The second edition of this acclaimed guide to understanding sexuality and working with clients on sexuality issues is extensively updated to reflect recent scientific, practical, and social developments in the field. It provides updated information on relevant disorders in the DSM-5, new theoretical approaches, new pharmacological treatments, updated information on STDs, new understandings of transgender individuals, the impact of same-sex marriage laws, controversies over sex addiction, and much more. Chapters are enhanced with the addition of new take-away points, additional worksheets, and a glossary.Distinguished by an easy-to-read, down-to-earth approach, the text provides plentiful information, tools, and exercises to increase the confidence and comfort of both trainee and experienced mental health professionals treating sexual issues. Based on the premise that the therapist must be comfortable with his or her own sexuality in order to provide effective treatment, the book discusses the characteristics of healthy sexuality for both client and therapist and addresses issues of discomfort that may arise for the therapist.
Principles and Practice of Sex Therapy by Kathryn S. K. Hall; Yitzchak M. Binik
ISBN: 9781462543397

Publication Date: 2020

This widely used clinical reference and text--now significantly updated with 75% new material reflecting therapeutic advances, diagnostic changes, and increased coverage of sexual minority groups--comprehensively addresses sexual problems and their treatment. Prominent contributors interweave theory, research, and clinical considerations. Detailed case examples illustrate the process of assessment and intervention with individuals and couples across the lifespan, with attention to gender-related, cultural, and health concerns. The volume features an integrative introduction and conclusion, plus an instructive editorial commentary at the beginning of each chapter. Coverage of advances in sexual medicine, ICD-11 diagnostic changes, and other timely topics. Chapters on sexual aversion, female sexual arousal disorder, and out-of-control sexual behavior. Chapters on the transition to parenthood and the treatment of sexual concerns in the BDSM community and adult transgender clients.

ARTICLES

This bibliography features peer-reviewed, searchable journals and academic articles, reporting on contemporary research, analysis, and theory related to Sexuality and Gender in a therapeutic context. In addition to what is featured here, QML holds further material on this topic and can access much more, via our interlibrary loan network. If you are not finding what you need here, please email us at askthelibrary@swc.edu.

You can retrieve credentials for accessing articles from Taylor & Francis Online, by clicking here.

QML'S ACADEMIC ARTICLES DATABASE

Looking for information on how to access and effectively use QML's academic articles database? Start here.

JOURNALS

Journal of Gay & Lesbian Mental Health
Publication Date: 1988 - Present

The Journal strives to represent the full breadth of LGBT mental health treatment, including issues relevant to patients and mental health care providers in all types of settings. Journal of Gay & Lesbian Mental Health also strives to cover the full spectrum of sexual and gender minority populations -- lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, intersex, queer, and gender-queer. This peer-reviewed journal emphasizes original research articles, critical reviews of the literature, reports of innovative programs for LGBT mental health care training and delivery, and case reports that advance our understanding of LGBT mental health.
Psychology & Sexuality
Publication Date: 2010 - Present

An international journal which publishes high quality quantitative and qualitative psychological research on sexualities. The journal aims to advance knowledge and understanding of lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans, heterosexual and queer issues in psychology and allied disciplines. Psychology & Sexuality is progressive and radical with regard to current debates in critical psychology, whilst also drawing from work traditionally seen as outside the remit of psychology to inform understanding and debate. The content is predominantly empirical and theoretical articles from both qualitative and quantitative methodologies, and registered reports are encouraged. Review articles, brief research reports and essays are also welcome, along with book reviews. Special features and issues are welcome along with articles that address user engagement and activism.
Studies in Gender and Sexuality
Publication Date: 2000 - Present

One of the leading journals in the transdisciplinary field of gender and sexuality studies. Situated at the interface of psychoanalysis and social/cultural theory, it aims to further our understanding of how we live, theorize and transform genders and sexualities. The journal attracts prominent scholars, clinicians and practitioners from around the globe who focus on the productive tensions between the clinic and the academy, the psychic and the social, theory and practice. Thus it works in the traditions of feminist and postcolonial scholarship, developmental research, and queer, literary and social and cultural studies that have contributed to renewed fascination with those powerfully formative aspects of subjectivity that fall under the rubric of "gender and sexuality.”
Journal of Gay & Lesbian Social Services
Publication Date: 1994 - Present

Provides empirical knowledge and conceptual information related to sexual minorities and their social environment. Filled with innovative ideas and resources for the design, evaluation, and delivery of social services for these populations at all stages of life, the journal is a positive influence on the development of public and social policy, programs and services, and social work practice. Dedicated to the development of knowledge which meets the practical needs of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgendered people in their social context, the Journal of Gay & Lesbian Social Services is a forum for studying, for example, the connection between the public issues of homophobia and heterosexism and the personal, day-to-day experiences of people affected by these attitudes.

ARTICLES

“Alone in the Rain(bow)”: Existential Therapy for Loneliness in LGBTQ + Clients by Rattanakorn Ratanashevorn; Emily C. Brown
Publication Date: 2021

Loneliness and isolation are major concerns for LGBTQ + clients who experience marginalization, discrimination and alienation in society and social networks. These experiences of increased loneliness and isolation can lead to other detrimental mental health outcomes, such as substance abuse, HIV, and suicide. Loneliness and isolation are central concerns of existential therapy which makes this a compatible approach for addressing these issues among LGBTQ + clients. This article uses an existential therapy lens to examine the issue of loneliness among LGBTQ + clients and provides a case illustration to demonstrate its application.
Providing supportive transgender mental health care: A systemized narrative review of patient experiences, preferences, and outcomes by Zoë Panchal; Christi Piper; Charles Whitmore; Robert D. Davies
Publication Date: 2022

Transgender populations have high rates of many mental health diagnoses, but often delay or avoid mental health care due to prior poor experiences or fear of discrimination. This indicates a need for supportive and effective transgender mental health care. We aim to identify the features of such care through a systemized narrative review of the literature. The search returned 1928 unique articles with 35 meeting inclusion criteria and a further one article identified on bibliography screen. Articles reported a range of experiences and preferences across mental health care settings, with common themes emerging. Several reported on retention in care, satisfaction with care, helpfulness of care, or change in symptom burden after receiving care.
LGBTQ+ based discrimination is associated with ptsd symptoms, dissociation, emotion dysregulation, and attachment insecurity among LGBTQ+ adults who have experienced Trauma by Leah Keating; Robert T. Muller
Publication Date: 2020

LGBTQ+ based discrimination is a form of insidious trauma and minority stress, and is associated with poor mental health. However, there is a dearth of research on the impact of discrimination on the psychological functioning of LGBTQ+ individuals who have experienced trauma. The current study seeks to remedy this gap. It was hypothesized that: (1) LGBTQ+ adults who perceived their experience of trauma as related to LGBTQ+ based discrimination would have greater attachment insecurity, emotion dysregulation, PTSD symptoms, and dissociative symptoms; (2) experiences of LGBTQ+ based discrimination would be associated with greater attachment insecurity, emotion dysregulation, PTSD symptoms, and dissociative symptoms; (3) transgender congruence (i.e., the extent to which one feels authentic and comfortable with their gender identity and appearance) would be negatively associated with attachment insecurity, emotion dysregulation, PTSD symptoms, and dissociative symptoms.
Cross-cultural perspectives of LGBTQ psychology from five different countries: current state and recommendations by Alexander Moreno et al.
Publication Date: 2020

Lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer psychology (LGBTQ psychology) is a branch of psychology that promotes inclusiveness in theory and practice across the science of psychology, affirming the lives of people with different sexual orientations and forms of gender expression in a non-heterosexist and non-cisgenderist perspective. This article highlights the historical development of LGBTQ psychology in the context of different realities for LGBTQ people in five different countries (Russia, Greece, Colombia, South Africa and the province of Quebec, Canada). Key experts on LGBTQ concerns report distinctive challenges they have faced when promoting LGBTQ rights and developing LGBTQ psychology (e.g. the pathologization and criminalisation of sexual diversity, neglect on the part of authorities, and rejection from religious groups). Human and mental health sciences have played an important role in the blossoming of LGBTQ psychology. Cross-cultural narratives show that the recognition of lesbian and gay rights comes before the recognition of the rights of bi, trans, queer and questioning people.
Stigma and suicide risk among the LGBTQ population: Are anxiety and depression to blame and can connectedness to the LGBTQ community help? by Andrea Kaniuka et al.
Publication Date: 2019

LGBTQ individuals may be at risk for suicidal behavior due to perceived stigma and psychopathology. However, protective factors, such as community connectedness, may reduce risk. We examined depression and anxiety as mediators of the linkage between perceived stigma and suicidal behavior, and the moderating role of LGBTQ community connectedness. Among our sample of LGBTQ persons (N = 496), psychopathology mediated the association between perceived stigma and suicidal behavior. Connectedness moderated the relation between perceived stigma and depression, and between perceived stigma and suicidal behavior in the anxiety model. Therapeutically addressing stigma and promoting LGBTQ community connectedness may reduce risk for suicidal behavior.
Sexual Difficulties in People 50+: A Content Analysis of Sex-related Queries Posted on Professional Counseling Websites by Anna Ševčíková; Lukas Blinka; Anna Židlická; Anna Faltýnková
Publication Date: 2023

Although sexual activity has been found to be both important and challenging for people aged 50+, relatively little is known about the concerns that they have with respect to their sexual lives and how help-seeking behavior manifests on counseling platforms. A sample of 293 sex-related queries that Czechs aged 50+ posted on professional counseling websites were subjected to a quantitative and qualitative content analysis. The majority of posts were written by men and their dominant issues were erectile difficulties, partner’s lack of interest in sex, and drug use/interaction when treating sexual difficulties and other ailments. Using a thematic analysis, the study showed that sex-related concerns were based within the context of worries about maintaining relationships and re-partnering in mid- and later life, and probing for the normal aspects of aging and the associated changes in sexual health.
The LGBTQ Supportive Environments Inventory: Methods for quantifying supportive environments for LGBTQ youths by Amy L. Gower et al.
Publication Date: 2019

The social environment in which lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) youths live influences health and well-being. We describe the development of the LGBTQ Supportive Environments Inventory (LGBTQ SEI), designed to quantify the LGBTQ-inclusiveness of social environments in the United States and Canada. We quantify aspects of the social environment including: (1) presence/quality of LGBTQ youth-serving organizations; (2) LGBTQ-inclusive community resources; and (3) socioeconomic and political environment. Using geographic information systems (GIS) tools, we aggregated data to buffers around 397 schools in three regions. The LGBTQ SEI can be used to assess the role of the social environment in reducing health disparities for LGBTQ youths.

BOOKS

Collected here are books on Sexuality and Gender from QML's physical collection. Click a link to be taken to the book's page in the library's catalog. From there you can view additional details, check the book's availability, and place a hold. While a wealth of material on Sexuality and Gender is featured here, the list is not comprehensive. Please email us, to inquire about additional resources.

Remote students: keep in mind that items in QML's physical collection are accessible to you as well. Contact library staff to have an item sent via mail, request scans of needed chapters/sections, or inquire about alternative methods of accessing these books or any other resources in our library.

Affirmative Counseling with LGBTQI+ People by Misty M. Ginicola; Cheri Smith; Joel M. Filmore
Call Number: RC451.4.G39 G56 2017

ISBN: 9781556203558

Publication Date: 2017

Ginicola, Smith, and Filmore offer guidelines and advice as to how to effectively and positively counsel those in the LGBTQI community. The book is intended for those in the counseling field, whether that be in a school, private, or other setting. The material is divided into four large sections, each dealing with a unique consideration such as strategies, specific populations, and emerging issues. Each section is then broken down into much more specific topics, such as working with gay men, biracial considerations, and religion. Case studies are included, as well as reflective questions for the reader and questions for further group discussion.
What Every Mental Health Professional Needs to Know about Sex, Third Edition by Stephanie Buehler
Call Number: RA788 .B84 2022

ISBN: 9780826135889

Publication Date: 2021

The third edition of this pragmatic resource assists mental health professionals in helping clients resolve sexual concerns that arise during the course of therapy. It has been updated with the latest theoretical approaches, pharmacological treatments, and ethical/legal concerns. It presents a wealth of information on assessing and treating both common and uncommon sexual concerns accompanied by helpful informational worksheets. By offering new case examples exemplifying contemporary concerns such as minority stress, intersectionality, and recognition of therapist privilege in relation to client, the new edition emphasizes diversity inclusive of sexual and gender minorities. It covers the latest technology in telemental health and the role it plays in the sex lives of clients.
LGBTQ+ Youth: a Guided Workbook to Support Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity by Lee-Anne Gray
Call Number: HV1426 .G739 2018

ISBN: 9781683731382

Publication Date: 2018

The most comprehensive, practical and user-friendly workbook written specifically for clinicians and educators to engage and support lesbian, gay, transgender, bisexual and questioning youth. Over 75 different concepts, worksheets, handouts and practices based in mindfulness, meditation and self-compassion that help children, adolescents and their caregivers.
Queer: a Graphic History by Meg-John Barker; Jules Scheele (Illustrator)
Call Number: HQ76.25 .B373 2016

ISBN: 9781785780714

Publication Date: 2016

From identity politics and gender roles to privilege and exclusion, Queer explores how we came to view sex, gender and sexuality in the ways that we do; how these ideas get tangled up with our culture and our understanding of biology, psychology and sexology; and how these views have been disputed and challenged. Along the way we look at key landmarks which shift our perspective of what’s ‘normal’ – Alfred Kinsey’s view of sexuality as a spectrum, Judith Butler’s view of gendered behaviour as a performance, the play Wicked, or moments in Casino Royale when we’re invited to view James Bond with the kind of desiring gaze usually directed at female bodies in mainstream media.
The Savvy Ally: a Guide for Becoming a Skilled LGBTQ+ Advocate by Jeannie Gainsburg
Call Number: HQ73.3.U6 G35 2020

ISBN: 9781538136775

Publication Date: 2020

This book is an enjoyable, humorous, encouraging, easy to understand guidebook for being an ally to the LGBTQ+ communities. It is chock full of practical and useful tools for LGBTQ+ advocacy. It will be useful for teachers, counselors, social workers, nurses, medical technicians, and college professors, as well as parents who want to be supportive of their LGBTQ+ child, but don't know how. This is not a book about why to be an ally. This is a book about how to be an ally. The goal of The Savvy Ally is to create more confident, active allies who are effective advocates for change. This informative, entertaining, and supportive guidebook will surely jump-start even the most tentative ally.
When Art Therapy Meets Sex Therapy by Einat S. Metzl
Call Number: RC557 .M48 2017

ISBN: 9781138913134

Publication Date: 2016

Appropriate for both sex therapists and art therapists, When Art Therapy Meets Sex Therapy explores sexuality and gender through the use of art making, connecting relevant theories and research from both fields. It begins with a historical review of how explorations of anatomy, physiology, and sexual identity manifested in art making in different cultures and discusses why a clinician must take these spiritual, medical, and socioeconomic factors in account to offer effective and culturally competent therapy. The second part of the book discusses clinically effective treatments in art and sex therapy, and contains numerous case illustrations. Included are interventions for important issues in therapy, such as exploring gender identity, sexual health and shame, processing sexual abuse, couples' intimacy, parenting concerns regarding their children's sexuality, and treating sex addiction.
Handbook of LGBT-Affirmative Couple and Family Therapy by Jerry J. Bigner; Joseph L. Wetchler
Call Number: RC 488.5 .H3345 2012

ISBN: 0415883598

Publication Date: 2012

The editors and contributors of this comprehensive text provide a unique and important contribution to LGBT clinical literature. Spanning 30 chapters, they discuss the diverse and complex issues involved in LGBT couple and family therapy. In almost 15 years, this book provides the first in-depth overview of the best practices for therapists and those in training who wish to work effectively with LGBT clients, couples, and families need to know, and is only the second of its kind in the history of the field. Because of the breadth of the book, its specificity, and the expertise of the contributing authors and editors, it is the definitive handbook on LGBT couple and family therapy.

Sexuality and Gender: Home

How to Place a Hold