Quimby Memorial Library: Cultural Conflicts: Home

CULTURAL CONFLICTS

Barriers that arise from cultural variations in communication may lead to alienation and/or an inability to develop trust and rapport. In a clinical setting, such barriers could lead to ineffective treatment and/or termination. In research contexts, they may result in low-diversity samples, low participant engagement/satisfaction, and/or excessive bias in data interpretation. Barriers to effective cross-cultural counseling can include:

Language Barriers
Limits to Cultural Self-Awareness
Limits to Cultural Knowledge
Deficits of Multicultural Counseling Training/Culturally Appropriate Counseling Skills
and Client Distrust and Fears, Stemming from Racial, Cultural, and Generational Trauma

This guide features QML's resources on the nature of Cultural Conflicts in communication and the skills relevant to addressing such conflicts, both in clinical and wider contexts. Click a tab above to view ebooks, articles, and books on this approach. While the resources provide a well-rounded survey of our holdings on the topic, they are not comprehensive. Please contact us, if you are not seeing represented here any topics, authors, or specific foci, on which you are seeking information.

You will find links to the information you need to access and effectively use the databases housing this material, at the top of each page in this guide.

EBOOKS

Featured here are some of QML's contemporary ebooks on Cultural Conflicts. In addition to these featured items, QML holds additional material on this topic and can access much more, via our interlibrary loan network. If you are not finding what you need here, please email us at askthelibrary@swc.edu.

You can retrieve credentials for accessing ebooks from EBSCOhost, by clicking here.

QML'S EBOOKS DATABASE

Looking for additional information and tips for effectively using QML's ebooks database? Start here.

Using Art Techniques Across Cultural and Race Boundaries by Lorette Dye
ISBN: 9781785922343
Publication Date: 2017-07-21
With an international focus, this book considers how art techniques and exercises can be used in therapeutic work across cultural and race boundaries.Drawing on her experience working in post-Apartheid South Africa, the author gives practical guidance on how to overcome resistance to the therapeutic process, misunderstandings, and other barriers, such as language difficulties. With illuminating case studies, the book explains how to handle very practical issues, such as working with an interpreter, and opens the door to a wider conversation around the use of art in multicultural work.
Essentials of Cross-Cultural Counseling by Lawrence H. Gerstein; P. Paul Heppner; Stefanía Aegisdottir; Seung-Ming Alvin Leung; Kathryn L. Norsworthy
ISBN: 9781412999502
Publication Date: 2011-07-27
A brief, supplemental book derived from the International Handbook of Cross-Cultural Counseling and edited by a high-profile team with international expertise, this book focuses on the history, issues, challenges, and opportunities for the counseling profession worldwide. It includes nine chapters discussing topics such as cultural, cross-cultural, and cross-national counseling; the counseling profession both domestically and internationally; the theoretical and methodological issues when studying culture; the challenges and opportunities of cross-cultural and cross-national collaboration; and the future of cross-cultural counseling.
Counseling Diversity in Context by Jason Brown
ISBN: 9781442635296
Publication Date: 2017
This book explores the possibilities and limitations of counseling, as well as the forces that help and hinder communities, while demonstrating the need for alternatives to mainstream psychological approaches. Divided into two parts, the book provides a structural understanding of the context in which cross-cultural counseling takes place, and a model, informed by intersectional analysis, to support counselors in playing a more activist role in helping to change that context. Brown encourages counselors to not only understand the social problems that contribute to personal challenges faced by clients but to also raise awareness and promote change.
Generations: The Real Differences Between Gen Z, Millennials, Gen X, Boomers, and Silents—and What They Mean for America's Future by Jean M. Twenge
ISBN: 9781982181611
Publication Date: 2023
A groundbreaking, revelatory portrait of the six generations that currently live in the United States and how they connect, conflict, and compete with one another—from the acclaimed author of Generation Me and iGen.The United States is currently home to six generations of people: -the Silents, born 1925–1945 -Baby Boomers, born 1946–1964 -Gen X, born 1965–1979 -Millennials, born 1980–1994 -Gen Z, born 1995–2012 -and the still-to-be-named cohorts born after 2012. They have had vastly different life experiences and thus, one assumes, they must have vastly diverging beliefs and behaviors. But what are those differences, what causes them, and how deep do they actually run? Professor of psychology and “reigning expert on generational change” (Lisa Wade, PhD, author of American Hookup), Jean Twenge does a deep dive into a treasure trove of long-running, government-funded surveys and databases to answer these questions.
Microaggressions in Everyday Life by Derald Wing Sue; Lisa Spanierman
ISBN: 9781119513797
Publication Date: 2020-04-21
This book presents an introduction to the concept of microaggressions, classifies the various types of microaggressions, and offers solutions for ending microaggressions at the individual, group, and community levels. The authors—noted experts on the topic—explore the psychological effects of microaggressions on both perpetrators and targets. Subtle racism, sexism, and heterosexism remain relatively invisible and potentially harmful to the wellbeing, self-esteem, and standard of living of many marginalized groups in society. The book examines the manifestations of various forms of microaggressions and explores their impact. The text covers: researching microaggressions, exploring microaggressions in education, identifying best practices teaching about microaggressions, understanding microaggressions in the counseling setting, as well as guidelines for combating microaggressions.
The Social Constructions and Experiences of Madness by Monika dos Santos (Editor); Jean-Francois Pelletier (Editor)
ISBN: 9789004350786
Publication Date: 2018-02-01
Over the course of the centuries the meanings around mental illness have shifted many times according to societal beliefs and the political atmosphere of the day. The way madness is defined has far reaching effects on those who have a mental disorder, and determines how they are treated by the professionals responsible for their care, and the society of which they are a part. Although madness as mental illness seems to be the dominant Western view of madness, it is by no means the only view of what it means to be ‘mad'. The symptoms of madness or mental illness occur in all cultures of the world, but have different meanings in different social and cultural contexts. Evidence suggests that meanings of mental illness have a significant impact on subjective experience; the idioms used in the expression thereof, indigenous treatments, and subsequent outcomes. Thus, the societal understandings of madness are central to the problem of mental illness and those with the lived experience can lead the process of reconstructing this meaning.
Culturally Responsive Counseling by Farah A. Ibrahim; Jianna R. Heuer
ISBN: 9783319180564
Publication Date: 2015-09-03
This book offers students and clinicians a robust framework and innovative tools for incorporating clients' unique cultural variables in counseling and therapy. Its chapters identify cultural, societal, and worldview-based contexts for understanding clients, from the relatively familiar (ethnicity, gender, age) to the less explored (migration status, social privilege, geographic environment). Diverse cases illustrate how cultural assessments contribute to building the therapeutic relationship and developing interventions that respect client individuality as well as group identity. In these pages, clinicians are offered effective strategies for conducting more relevant and meaningful therapy, resulting in better outcomes for client populations that have traditionally been marginalized and underserved. The appendices include the Scale to Assess Worldview© (Ibrahim & Kahn, 1984), The Acculturation Index© (Ibrahim, 2008), and the Cultural Identity Check List-Revised© (Ibrahim, 2007).
Identities in Transition by Monisha Nayar-Akhtar
ISBN: 9781782201090
Publication Date: 2015-01-16
This is a book about the growth and development of a multicultural therapist/analyst, looking at how a history of immigration and exposure to analytic training began to influence clinicians as they evolved as analytic therapists and analysts.
Cultural Competence and Healing Culturally-Based Trauma with EMDR Therapy by Mark Nickerson (Editor)
ISBN: 9780826142863
Publication Date: 2016-07-28
From multiple contributions around the world, each chapter brings significant insights into how EMDR therapy can be culturally attuned and yet efficacious in preserving the individuality of each client. Highly recommended for those therapists who work in multi-cultural settings. -Esly Regina Carvalho, Ph.D., Trainer of Trainers, EMDR Institute/EMDR Iberoam rica and President TraumaClinic do Brasil/TraumaClinic Edições, Brasilia, Brazil. Underscoring the importance of cultural competence, this groundbreaking book focuses on using EMDR therapy with specific populations, particularly those groups typically stigmatized, oppressed, or otherwise marginalized in society. Drawing on social psychology research and theory as well as social justice and social work principles, it delivers general protocols for EMDR intervention for recovery from the internalized effects of cultural mistreatment. Employing best-practice methods for cultural competence as EMDR therapy is introduced to new cultures worldwide, the editor and esteemed EMDR clinician-authors relay their experiences, insights, guidance, and lessons learned through trial and error while adapting EMDR interventions for cross-cultural competency and therapeutic effectiveness The text defines cultural competence and validates the need for a multi-culturally aware approach to psychotherapy that embraces authentic socialidentities and attends to the impact of socially based trauma.

ARTICLES

This bibliography features peer-reviewed, searchable journals and academic articles, reporting on contemporary research, analysis, and theory related to Cultural Conflicts both within and without therapeutic settings. In addition to what is featured here, QML holds further material on this topic and can access much more, via our interlibrary loan network. If you are not finding what you need here, please email us at askthelibrary@swc.edu.

You can retrieve credentials for accessing articles from Taylor & Francis Online, by clicking here.

QML'S ACADEMIC ARTICLES DATABASE

Looking for information on how to access and effectively use QML's academic articles database? Start here.

Barriers to Effective Cross-Cultural Counseling by Derald Wing Sue & David Sue
Publication Date: 1977
This foundational article established many of the parameters of discourse on cross-cultural counseling. Although its age limits its scope and applicability to certain contemporary issues, the work remains an effective starting point for examining the topic.
Best Practices in Cross-Cultural Counseling: The Intersection of Spiritual/Religious Identity and Affectional/Sexual Identity by Joffrey S. Suprina, Cynthia H. Matthews, Shannon Kakkar, Darby Harrell, Amanda Brace, Claudia Sadler-Gerhardt, Michael M. Kocet, & Association for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Issues in Counseling (ALGBTIC)
Publication Date: 2019
In 2003, Frame reported that over 60% of LGBTQ+ individuals value their spiritual/religious backgrounds. While some religious organizations and states’ conscience clause legislation discriminates against LGBTQ+ individuals, the ACA Code of Ethics and Association for Spiritual, Ethical, and Religious Values in Counseling, and Association for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Issues in Counseling, competencies do not allow for discrimination against LGBTQ+ individuals, nor the practice of sexual orientation change efforts (SOCE). In this paper, we present perspectives from a taskforce representing members of ASERVIC and ALGBTIC, including historical context, review of extant literature and recommended best practices.
What is “safety”?: Lethal means counseling as a cross-cultural communication by Larry D. Pruitt, Jeffrey C. Sung, & Kara A. Walker
Publication Date: 2022
This article reviews and interprets selected research on cultural aspects of firearm ownership and suggest that cultural differences between health care practitioners and firearm owners may result in health care practitioners delivering clinical interventions that are broadly divergent from perspectives within the cultural frameworks of firearm owners. We follow by organizing these cultural factors into existing frameworks of cultural competency training as a basis for developing curriculum for health care practitioners to improve clinical care.
Core competencies for combatting crisis: Fusing ethics, cultural competence, and cognitive flexibility in counseling by Crystal A. Brashear & Nancy Thomas
Publication Date: 2022
The fictional lives of Dr. Smith, Ruby, George, and his clients have all been overturned by the Covid-19 crisis. With each having to continue to fulfill their professional responsibility to an institution, to students, to supervisees, and to clients, they have little time to make the appropriate transitions into the world of telehealth, in conjunction with practicing self-care to maintain their own anxieties over the global pandemic. This necessitates a consideration of three core competencies – ethical practice, multicultural competence, and cognitive flexibility. Their unique individual commitment to these three competencies is discussed on a practical and applicable level. Additionally, these rapid changes have led to an assessment and report of where current research is deficient.
Towards a cross-cultural lexical map of wellbeing by Tim Lomas
Publication Date: 2021
Positive psychology has been critiqued as Western-centric, influenced by the mostly Western contexts in which it has developed. English is its dominant mode of discourse, for example, which has shaped its understanding of its subject matter. To generate a more comprehensive cross-cultural ‘map’ of wellbeing, The author created a lexicography of relevant ‘untranslatable’ words (i.e., terms without exact translation in English). An initial analysis of 216 words, published in the Journal of Positive Psychology in 2016, identified six main categories: positive feelings, ambivalent feelings, love, prosociality, character, and spirituality. Subsequently, over 1,400 additional words have been added to the lexicography to date. Correspondingly, analyses have been published of each category separately, revealing their internal structure. Moreover, six further categories have also been identified: cognition, embodiment, aesthetics, eco-connection, competence, and understanding. This paper summarizes these analyses, and outlines their significance in terms of augmenting the conceptual map in positive psychology.
Cultural Exposure as a Creative Experiential Learning Intervention by Stephanie Ramirez
Publication Date: 2021
Counselor education programs often use cultural immersion as a creative pedagogical approach to foster cultural responsiveness. This form of experiential learning can instill and deepen multicultural and social justice counseling competencies. The purpose of this article is to highlight the potential of a domestic immersion experience as a creative experiential learning intervention by outlining one counselor education program’s experience using a brief cultural immersion trip over the course of three years. The author highlights the importance of using experiential learning to instill cultural responsiveness, describes the cultural immersion trip, and discusses applications for counselor education programs seeking to implement a cultural immersion experience.
Culturally Responsive and Compassionate Eating Disorder Treatment: Serving Marginalized Communities with a Relational-Cultural and Self-Compassion Approach by Adriana C. Labarta & Arielle Bendit
Publication Date: 2023
Marginalized populations have been historically underrepresented in eating disorder (ED) research. A more robust, culturally responsive framework is needed to bridge ED research and counseling practice gaps. This article proposes an integrative approach using Relational Cultural Therapy and self-compassion principles to provide a strengths-based and socially just conceptualization of ED clients with marginalized identities. The article concludes with a case illustration, implications for counselors, and future research directions.
From Cultural Competence to Cultural Consciousness: Transitioning to a Critical Approach to Working Across Differences in Social Work by Corry Azzopardi & Ted McNeill
Publication Date: 2016
Driven by increasing cultural diversity and growing inequities in health and social outcomes, cross-cultural competence has become a fundamental dimension of effective and ethical social work practice. It has assumed a prominent discourse in social work education, scholarship, professional practice, codes of ethics, and organizational policy; however, how one defines, acquires, applies, and evaluates cultural competencies continue to be issues of debate. Grounded in a postmodern epistemic frame, an integrated model of critical cultural consciousness for working across differences in social work is proposed and implications for micro, mezzo, and macro levels of practice are discussed.

JOURNALS

Journal of International and Intercultural Communication
Publication Date: 2008 - Present
The Journal of International and Intercultural Communication (JIIC) is a peer-reviewed publication of the National Communication Association. JIIC publishes original scholarship that expands understanding of international, intercultural, and cross-cultural communication. Widely interdisciplinary, JIIC features diverse perspectives and methods, including qualitative, quantitative, critical, and textual approaches to intellectual inquiry.

BOOKS

Collected here are books on Cultural Conflicts from QML's physical collection. Click a link to be taken to the book's page in the library's catalog. From there you can view additional details, check the book's availability, and place a hold. While a wealth of material on Cultural Conflicts are featured here, the list is not comprehensive. Please email us, to inquire about additional resources.

Remote students: keep in mind that items in QML's physical collection are accessible to you as well. Contact library staff to have an item sent via mail, request scans of needed chapters/sections, or inquire about alternative methods of accessing these books or any other resources in our library.

Diversity in clinical practice : a practical & shame-free guide to reducing cultural offenses & repairing cross-cultural relationships by Lambers Fisher
Call Number: RC451.5.A2 F574 2021
ISBN: 9781683733881
Publication Date: 2021
Too often, therapists and other helping professionals feel paralyzed by the fear that they don’t know enough about other cultural groups to counsel clients different than themselves. In his debut book, Diversity in Clinical Practice, Lambers Fisher sets out to mitigate these fears by providing a framework for professionals to better understand the experiences of cultural groups with whom they are not personally or professionally familiar. With his encouraging and non-shaming approach, Lambers will challenge you to learn more about other cultures, accept what you do not yet know in the process, and utilize strategies that can help you become an increasingly culturally competent professional. Beyond ethnicity, you will explore issues of age, gender, sexuality, religion, acculturation, and social justice, as well as identify opportunities to strengthen your own cultural self-awareness.
Multicultural Counseling Workbook by Leslie E. Korn
Call Number: BF636.7.C76 K67 2016
ISBN: 1559570407
Publication Date: 2015-11-15
Cultural competency begins with knowing who you are. Interactive, engaging and fun -- this workbook is filled with valuable exercises, worksheets, games and clinical strategies to help you become more culturally competent. Use this powerful tool to explore cultural communities, religion, spirituality, gender, sexuality and disability. You'll find unique activities to help you reflect on your own attitudes, prejudices, and develop new skills for working with and building rapport with diverse clients. Group Discussion Questions Client Worksheets Multimedia Resources Strategies for Client Engagement Mindfulness & Meditation Activities Therapist Worksheets, Exercises and Case Vignettes
Addressing Cultural Complexities in Practice by Pamela A. Hays
Call Number: BF636.7.C76 H39 2008
ISBN: 1433802198
Publication Date: 2007-10-15
This engaging book helps readers move beyond one-dimensional conceptualizations of identity to an understanding of the complex, overlapping cultural influences that form each of us. Pamela Hays' ADDRESSING framework enables therapists to better recognize and understand cultural influences as a multidimensional combination of *A*ge, *D*evelopmental and acquired *D*isabilities, *R*eligion, *E*thnicity, *S*ocioeconomic status, *S*exual orientation, *I*ndigenous heritage, *N*ational origin, and *G*ender. Unlike other books on therapy with diverse clients, which tend to focus on working with one particular ethnic group, this text presents a framework that can be used with a person of any cultural identity.
Cross-Cultural Encounters by Lawrence E. Hedges
Call Number: BF636.7 .C76 H434 2019
ISBN: 9780692904725
Publication Date: 2019-05-27
This book is addressed to everyone who regularly encounters people from other cultural, ethnic, socioeconomic, linguistic, and ability groups. Its special focus, however, is aimed at counselors, therapists, and educators since their daily work so often involves highly personal cross-cultural interactive encounters. The running theme throughout the book is the importance of cultivating an attitude of tentative and curious humility and openness in the face of other cultural orientations. I owe a great debt to the many students, clients, and friends with diverse backgrounds who over the years have taught me how embedded I am in my own cultural biases. And who have helped me find ways of momentarily transcending those biases in order to bridge to an inspiring and illuminating intimate personal connection.
Cross-Cultural Explorations by Susan B. Goldstein
Call Number: GN345.7 .G65 2019
ISBN: 9781138037083
Publication Date: 2019-05-30
This comprehensive workbook is designed to facilitate students’ understanding and application of major concepts and principles of culture and psychology. The fully updated new edition features over 100 case studies, self-administered scales, mini-experiments, and library research projects, addressing topics such as culture, race/ethnicity, gender, age, sexual orientation, disability, and social class. Theoretical and guiding content is included in each chapter to embed the activities within key concepts and principles. In addition, the workbook is supported by a substantial Instructor’s Manual that includes discussion questions, video recommendations, variations by course level, and suggestions for expanded writing assignments. Designed to contribute to the inclusion of cultural perspectives in the psychology curriculum, this wide-ranging book provides students with hands-on experiences that facilitate the understanding and application of major concepts and principles in the study of culture and psychology.
Couples Coping with Stress by Mariana K. Falconier (Editor); Ashley K. Randall (Editor); Guy Bodenmann (Editor)
Call Number: RC488.5 .C64342 2016
ISBN: 9781138906655
Publication Date: 2016-05-16
This is the first book that reviews both empirical and clinical applications of how couples jointly cope with stress - dyadic coping - around the globe. The Systemic-Transactional Stress Model (STM), developed by co-editor Guy Bodenmann, is used as a consistent framework so readers can better appreciate the contrasts and similarities across the fourteen cultures represented in the book. Written by scholars from the particular culture, each chapter provides a conceptual review of the dyadic coping research conducted in their specific cultures, and also provides empirical and clinical recommendations. Additional contributions include how to measure dyadic coping, so others can apply the STM model in other contexts. The latest treatment approaches for therapy and prevention are also highlighted, making this book ideal for professionals interested in expanding their cultural competence when working with couples from various backgrounds.
Examining Social Identities and Diversity Issues in Group Therapy by Michele D. Ribeiro (Editor)
Call Number: RC488 .E89 2020
ISBN: 9780367077259
Publication Date: 2020-05-25
A unique blend of theory and practice within the world of group psychotherapy, this text discusses diversity issues in group contexts within the realm of teaching, consulting, and facilitating psychotherapy groups. Chapters present a unique perspective on diversity issues within certain populations, such as prisoners, elite athletes, and high-risk youth, and examine questions around race, language, ability, gender, and the similarities and differences between the leader and their clients. Such examples provide an intricate look into the psychological dynamics that arise within these populations and the skill of group therapists in honoring their clients’ humanity. Readers will appreciate the practical examples of how to navigate difficult dynamics such as microaggressions and the role of compassion as a foundational principle of practice for group therapists.
Social Justice, Multicultural Counseling, and Practice by Heesoon Jun
Call Number: BF636.7.C76 J86 2018
ISBN: 3319725130
Publication Date: 2018-03-19
This second edition book provides an update to multicultural psychology and counseling research findings, and the DSM-5 in sociopolitical and cultural contexts. It links social psychology with current cognitive science research on implicit learning, ethnocentrism (attribution error, in-group favoritism, and asymmetric perception), automatic information processing, and inappropriate generalization. Chapters discuss the interwoven characteristics of multiple identities of individuals such as race, gender, class, disability, age, religion, region, and sexual orientation. In addition, the book offers concrete strategies to facilitate inner-dialogue and discussion of self-perception and interpersonal relationships.
Handbook of Multicultural Counseling by J. Manuel Casas (Editor); Lisa A. Suzuki (Editor); Charlene M. Alexander (Editor); Margo A. Jackson (Editor)
Call Number: BF636.7.C76 H36 2017
ISBN: 1452291519
Publication Date: 2016-07-07
The most internationally-cited resource in the arena of multicultural counseling, the Handbook of Multicultural Counseling by J. Manuel Casas, Lisa A. Suzuki, Charlene M. Alexander, and Margo A. Jackson is a resource for researchers, educators, practitioners, and students alike. Continuing to emphasize social justice, research, and application, the Fourth Edition of this best-seller features nearly 80 new contributors of diverse backgrounds, orientations, and levels of experience who provide fresh perspectives to every chapter. Completely updated, this classic text includes new chapters on prevailing social issues and covers the latest advances in theory, ethics, measurement, clinical practice, assessment, and more.

Cultural Conflicts: Home

How to Place a Hold