Quimby Memorial Library: Trauma-Informed Care: Home

TRAUMA-INFORMED CARE (TIC)

Trauma-related behaviors, thoughts, feelings, and current experiences can seem confusing, dysfunctional, or even dangerous. However, these are often simply adaptions to survive, methods to cope, or efforts to communicate pain. Trauma-Informed Care describes a framework for working with and relating to people who have experienced negative consequences after exposure to dangerous experiences in order to emphasize feelings of safety within a therapeutic relationship. These principles can be applied in a multitude of ways and in different contexts to child welfare services, general social work, psychology, and medicine.

Other terms used to express the same or closely related concepts include trauma-informed, trauma-informed approach, trauma-informed perspective, trauma-focused, trauma-based, trauma-sensitive, trauma- and violence-informed care (TVIC), and trauma-informed practice (TIP).

This guide features QML's resources on the skills relating to Trauma-Informed Care, both in clinical and wider contexts. Click a tab above to view ebooks, articles, and books on this approach. While the resources provide a well-rounded survey of our holdings on the topic, they are not comprehensive. Please contact us, if you are not seeing represented here any topics, authors, or specific foci, on which you are seeking information.

You will find links to the information you need to access and effectively use the databases housing this material, at the top of each page in this guide.

EBOOKS

Featured here are some of QML's contemporary ebooks on Trauma-Informed Care (TIC). In addition to these featured items, QML holds additional material on this topic and can access much more, via our interlibrary loan network. If you are not finding what you need here, please email us at askthelibrary@swc.edu.

ONLINE PDFS: The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), part of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, has released two extremely useful free-to-download ebooks from their website regarding Trauma-Informed Care and its clinical application:

Practical Guide for Implementing a Trauma-Informed Approach
TIP 57: Trauma-Informed Care in Behavioral Health Services

You can retrieve credentials for accessing ebooks from EBSCOhost, by clicking here.

QML'S EBOOKS DATABASE

Looking for additional information and tips for effectively using QML's ebooks database? Start here.

Using Stories, Art, and Play in Trauma-Informed Treatment by Pat Pernicano
ISBN: 9781138484726

Publication Date: 2018

This book shows new and experienced therapists how to use meaningful therapeutic material in art, stories and play to facilitate shifts in outlook and behavior. Using a wide variety of case studies, Dr. Pernicano lays out a framework for problem clarification, conceptualization, trauma-informed intervention, and positive therapeutic outcome with clients across the lifespan. Case examples include working with clients suffering from dissociation, depression, anxiety, mood dysregulation, adjustment to life change, grief and loss, and/or panic attacks. Replete with client-generated illustrations as well as practical tips and strategies, Using, Art, Stories, and Play in Trauma-Informed Treatment teaches therapists how to think conceptually, plan systemically and intervene flexibly to improve treatment outcomes for diverse clients.
Healing the Soul Wound: Trauma-Informed Counseling for Indigenous Communities by Eduardo Duran
ISBN: 9780807761397

Publication Date: 2019

In this groundbreaking book, Eduardo Duran—a psychologist working in Indian country—draws on his own clinical experience to provide guidance to counselors working with Native Peoples and other vulnerable populations. This second edition includes an important new chapter devoted to working with veterans, examining what it means to go to war and what is required for veterans to heal. Duran also updates his thinking on research, including suggestions on how to invent a new liberation research methodology through applied story science. Translating theory into day-to-day practice, the text presents case materials that illustrate effective intervention strategies for prevalent problems, including substance abuse, intergenerational trauma, and internalized oppression.
The Practical Guide for Healing Developmental Trauma by Laurence Heller; Brad J. Kammer
ISBN: 9781623174538

Publication Date: 2022

A practical step-by-step guide and follow-up companion to Healing Developmental Trauma--presenting one of the first comprehensive models for addressing complex post-traumatic stress disorder (C-PTSD)The NeuroAffective Relational Model (NARM) is an integrated mind-body framework that focuses on relational, attachment, developmental, cultural, and intergenerational trauma. NARM helps clients resolve C-PTSD, recover from adverse childhood experiences (ACEs), and facilitate post-traumatic growth.Inspired by cutting-edge trauma-informed research on attachment, developmental psychology, and interpersonal neurobiology, The Practical Guide for Healing Developmental Trauma provides counselors, psychotherapists, psychologists, social workers, and trauma-sensitive helping professionals with the theoretical background and practical skills they need to help clients transform complex trauma.
Trauma-Informed Mindfulness: A Practitioner's Guide for One-to-One Work by Nikki Kiyimba
ISBN: 1908258365

Publication Date: 2020

The dissociation, anxiety and intrusive thinking associated with PTSD and other trauma-related difficulties can be a huge source of distress for sufferers and their families. Mindfulness has been found to be an excellent intervention for these symptoms. However, traditional manualised group mindfulness programmes can sometimes inadvertently re-trigger the very trauma symptoms they seek to alleviate. Trauma-Informed Mindfulness (TIM) was developed by British Psychologist Dr. Nikki Kiyimba to introduce mindfulness practices safely on a one-to-one or small group basis to individuals who have experienced psychological trauma.
Trauma and Young Children by Laura J. Colker; Sarah Erdman; Elizabeth C. Winter
ISBN: 9781938113673

Publication Date: 2020

Trauma Is in Children's Lives—But So Are You The world can be a confusing, frightening place to young children. More than ever, early childhood educators need accurate information and practical guidance for helping children and families who have experienced trauma. Following a healing-centered approach to working with children ages 3–6, this book provides an understanding of What trauma is, what causes it, and its potential effects on the brain and learning Why your relationships with children and families are critical to promoting healing How to create trauma-informed programs and implement practices that support children and families How to care for your own well-beingThe thread of hope woven throughout will encourage you as you help children and families find a path forward—not only to survive but also to flourish.
Beyond PTSD by Ruth Gerson (Editor); Patrick Heppell (Editor)
ISBN: 9781615371105

Publication Date: 2018

Impulsivity, poor judgment, moodiness, risky behavior. Engaging and working with teenagers is tough. Typically, we attribute this to the storms of adolescence. But what if some of the particularly problematic behaviors we see in teens -- self-destructive behaviors, academic issues, substance abuse, reluctance to engage in therapy or treatment -- point to unspoken trauma? Teens nationwide struggle with traumatic stress related to poverty, abuse, neglect, bullying, traumatic loss, and interpersonal or community violence. But youth are also generally reluctant to disclose or discuss experiences of traumatic stress, and adults working with these youth may not immediately perceive the connection between prior trauma and the teen's current risky or concerning behavior. Beyond PTSD: Helping and Healing Teens Exposed to Trauma helps adults recognize and understand traumatized youth, and provides concrete strategies for talking to and engaging the teen, overcoming resistance, and finding the most appropriate evidence-based treatment approach for them.
Sociometrics: Embodied, Experiential Processes for Relational Trauma Repair by Tian Dayton
ISBN: 9781949481655

Publication Date: 2022

Tian Dayton masterfully integrates principles of group dynamics and psychodrama therapies with insights into bodily states and feelings gained from contemporary neuroscience. Sociometrics infuses therapeutic principles in an intuitive and functional program that shifts the agent of healing from the therapist to the group. We learn that through sociometrics, the threads of healing are woven as the client experiences a reconnection with the inner self and a connection with others.”—Stephen W. Porges, PhD, Distinguished University Scientist, Indiana University; Professor of Psychiatry, University of North Carolina; creator of the Polyvagal TheoryEmbodied, relational processes designed to add experiential therapy into addiction treatment centers, IOPs, and one-to-one or group therapy settings.

ARTICLES

This bibliography features peer-reviewed, searchable journals and academic articles, reporting on contemporary research, analysis, and theory related to Trauma-Informed Care (TIC) within a therapeutic setting. In addition to what is featured here, QML holds further material on this topic and can access much more, via our interlibrary loan network. If you are not finding what you need here, please email us at askthelibrary@swc.edu.

You can retrieve credentials for accessing articles from Taylor & Francis Online, by clicking here.

QML'S ACADEMIC ARTICLES DATABASE

Looking for information on how to access and effectively use QML's academic articles database? Start here.

A Decade of Trauma-Informed Care: An Organizational Case Study by Aaron Muttillo; Jennifer L. Murphy; Anne Galletta
Publication Date: 2022

There is optimism that the effects of childhood adversity can be mitigated through trauma-informed care (TIC) practices in school settings. This study investigated a nonprofit, therapeutic school’s experience with implementing and sustaining TIC. At both the organizational and individual levels, factors exist that complicate the application of TIC principles. This case study utilized a qualitative approach to better understand staff’s conceptualization of TIC, their attitudes concerning TIC, and their experiences using TIC practices. After a decade of TIC within the organization, the study found that staff have maintained overall favorable attitudes toward TIC, assimilated TIC principles into their beliefs about students, and view student aberrant behaviors through a TIC lens. Finally, the study showed that the lack of attention to historical traumas and systemic racism has the potential to compel staff to diverge from TIC practices.
Exploring the Dimensionality of Trauma-Informed Care: Implications for Theory and Practice by Travis Hales; Nancy Kusmaul; Thomas Nochajski
Publication Date: 2017

The current study expands research on trauma-informed care by exploring the theoretical model proposed by Harris and Fallot (2001). In previous research the dimensions of trauma-informed care were found to have large correlations, suggesting that the dimensions may share an underlying dimension. This assumption was tested in the current study through administering the trauma-informed climate scale to six human service agencies (N = 641) and assessing the instrument’s dimensionality using structural equation modeling. The results indicate that Harris and Fallot’s dimensions are unique but strongly related, sharing an underlying dimension. Implications for theory and practice are discussed.
Trauma-informed counseling supervision: something every counselor should know about by Karin Jordan
Publication Date: 2018

Counselors regularly deal with a wide variety of trauma-affected clients. However, supervisors are often not knowledgeable about trauma-informed supervision that addresses the unique features and challenges associated with working with trauma-affected clients. Trauma-informed supervision is important for counselors in supervision. Trauma-informed counseling supervision is a way to guide the counselor in supervision who is working with trauma-affected clients and to concurrently assess and help the counselor address issues of vicarious trauma and encourage self-care.
Trauma-Informed Crisis Intervention by Charmayne R. Adams; Jillian M. Blueford; Joel F. Diambra
Publication Date: 2022

Preparing counselors to address a client’s needs in crisis and work from a trauma-informed lens is no longer an option. The United States is amid a pandemic and health care crisis; racial injustice and police brutality crisis; and an economic crisis. Counselors must work from a trauma-informed lens during crisis assessment, intervention, and stabilization to decrease re-traumatizing clients. The Seven-Stage Crisis Intervention Model (SSCIM) guides counselors to assess and stabilize clients in crisis. By infusing trauma-informed principles into this framework, counselors will have the tools they need to minimize the chances of re-traumatization.
A Trauma-Informed Call to Action: Culturally-Informed, Multidisciplinary Theoretical and Applied Approaches to Prevention and Healing by Megan R. Garza; Karen Rich; Susan M. Omilian
Publication Date: 2019

The prevalence of trauma and its negative impact on humankind has created a burgeoning awareness of the need for systems that are trauma-informed across the lifespan. A collaborative project with the National Partnership to End Interpersonal Violence (NPEIV) sought out research as a call-to-action to mitigate the impact of trauma. The following is an introduction to a special double-issue focused on theoretical and applied approaches to using trauma-informed care in multi-disciplinary, mental and physical health, criminal justice, school-based, and community settings. Consideration is given to essential issues such as resilience, self-care, and cultural awareness.
(Mis)understanding trauma-informed approaches in mental health by Angela Sweeney; Danny Taggart
Publication Date: 2018

The Journal of Mental Health has a history of publishing articles that explore the ways traumatic experiences lead to mental distress, and the experiences of trauma survivors. These articles join other evidence demonstrating that large numbers of people in contact with mental health services have experienced traumatic events, that these experiences are causal in the development of mental distress, and that there is a relationship between the severity, frequency and range of adverse experiences, and the subsequent impact on mental health. Given the centrality of trust and empowerment to healing for trauma survivors, it is vital that grass-roots survivor organizations shape the research and service development agenda in this area.

BOOKS

Collected here are books on Trauma-Informed Care (TIC) from QML's physical collection. Click a link to be taken to the book's page in the library's catalog. From there you can view additional details, check the book's availability, and place a hold. While a wealth of material on Trauma-Informed Care is featured here, the list is not comprehensive. Please email us, to inquire about additional resources.

Remote students: keep in mind that items in QML's physical collection are accessible to you as well. Contact library staff to have an item sent via mail, request scans of needed chapters/sections, or inquire about alternative methods of accessing these books or any other resources in our library.

101 Trauma-Informed Interventions by Linda Curran
Call Number: RC552.P67 C87 2013

ISBN: 9781936128426

Publication Date: 2013

This is the workbook that all mental health professionals wish they had at the beginning of their careers. Containing over 100 approaches to effectively deal with trauma, this workbook pulls together a wide array of treatments into one concise resource. Equally useful in both group and individual settings, these interventions will provide hope and healing for the client, as well as expand and solidify the professional's expertise.
Trauma-Informed Practices with Children and Adolescents by William Steele; Cathy A. Malchiodi
Call Number: RJ506.P55 S74 2012

ISBN: 9780415890526

Publication Date: 2012

A sourcebook of practical approaches to working with children and adolescents that synthesizes research from leading trauma specialists and translates it into easy-to-implement techniques. The approaches laid out address the sensory and somatic experiences of trauma within structured formats that meet the "best practices" criteria for trauma-informed care: safety, self-regulation, trauma integration, healthy relationships, and healthy environments. Each chapter contains short excerpts, case examples, and commentary relevant to the chapter topic from recognized leaders in the field of trauma intervention with children and adolescents.
Healing the Soul Wound: Trauma-Informed Counseling for Indigenous Communities by Eduardo Duran
Call Number: RA448.5.I5 D87 201

ISBN: 9780807763155

Publication Date: 2019

In this groundbreaking book, Eduardo Duran―a psychologist working in Indian country―draws on his own clinical experience to provide guidance to counselors working with Native Peoples and other vulnerable populations. This second edition includes an important new chapter devoted to working with veterans, examining what it means to go to war and what is required for veterans to heal. Duran also updates his thinking on research, including suggestions on how to invent a new liberation research methodology through applied story science. Translating theory into day-to-day practice, the text presents case materials that illustrate effective intervention strategies for prevalent problems, including substance abuse, intergenerational trauma, and internalized oppression.
Trauma-Informed Social-Emotional Toolbox for Children & Adolescents by Lisa Weed Phifer; Laura K. Sibbald
Call Number: RC552.T7 W44 2020

ISBN: 9781683732860

Publication Date: 2020

Empower children and adolescents to cope with trauma and build resiliency. Written by expert clinicians, the activities in this workbook support a foundation of social-emotional language, an increase in consistency and routine, regulation of tough emotions, and the formation of connections with others. Inside you will find 116 easy-to-use, solution-focused activities and worksheets developed with a trauma-informed lens that promote skills such as: Building a sense of safety in your environment. Fostering trust and positive regard. Establishing healthy coping skills. Promoting problem-solving pathways. Developing personal empowerment, confidence and wellness.
The Myth of Normal: Trauma, Illness, and Healing in a Toxic Culture by Gabor Maté; Daniel Maté
Call Number: RA418 .M327 2022

ISBN: 9780593083888

Publication Date: 2022

Over four decades of clinical experience, Maté has come to recognize the prevailing understanding of “normal” as false, neglecting the roles that trauma and stress, and the pressures of modern-day living, exert on our bodies and our minds at the expense of good health. For all our expertise and technological sophistication, Western medicine often fails to treat the whole person, ignoring how today’s culture stresses the body, burdens the immune system, and undermines emotional balance. Now Maté brings his perspective to the great untangling of common myths about what makes us sick, connects the dots between the maladies of individuals and the declining soundness of society—and offers a compassionate guide for health and healing.
The Body Keeps the Score: Brain, Mind, and Body in the Healing of Trauma by Bessel van der Kolk
Call Number: RC552 .P67 2014

ISBN: 0670785938

Publication Date: 2014

Trauma is a fact of life. Veterans and their families deal with the painful aftermath of combat; one in five Americans has been molested; one in four grew up with alcoholics; one in three couples have engaged in physical violence. Dr. Bessel van der Kolk, one of the world’s foremost experts on trauma, has spent over three decades working with survivors. In The Body Keeps the Score, he uses recent scientific advances to show how trauma literally reshapes both body and brain, compromising sufferers’ capacities for pleasure, engagement, self-control, and trust.

Trauma-Informed Care: Home

How to Place a Hold