Quimby Memorial Library: Psychodynamic Therapy: Home

PSYCHODYNAMIC THERAPY

Derived from psychoanalytic therapy, Psychodynamic Therapy postulates that talking about problems in a therapeutic setting can be extremely valuable for the individual. Less focused on the patient-therapist relationship and more on the client's relationship with their external world.

This guide features QML's resources on the theory and practice of Psychodynamic Therapy. Click a tab above to view ebooks, articles, and books on this approach. While the resources provide a well-rounded survey of our holdings on the topic, they are not comprehensive. Please contact us, if you are not seeing represented here any topics, authors, or specific foci, on which you are seeking information.

You will find links to the information you need to access and effectively use the databases housing this material, at the top of each page in this guide.

EBOOKS

Featured here are some of QML's contemporary ebooks on Psychodynamic Therapy. In addition to these featured items, QML holds additional material on this topic and can access much more, via our interlibrary loan network. If you are not finding what you need here, please email us at askthelibrary@swc.edu.

You can retrieve credentials for accessing ebooks from EBSCOhost, by clicking here.

QML'S EBOOKS DATABASE

Looking for additional information and tips for effectively using QML's ebooks database? Start here.

Problem-Focused Psychodynamic Psychotherapy by Fredric N. Busch
ISBN: 9781615373246
Publication Date: 2021-08-30
Through numerous tables and a wealth of case vignettes, this guide provides novice and experienced clinicians alike with a general template for working with patients to identify and address the overlapping and unique dynamics of various problems.It describes how to use psychodynamic exploratory techniques to make problem lists and examine the context and emotions surrounding each issue. It also discusses how to develop a psychodynamic formulation to provide a framework for identifying and addressing the dynamic contributors to the various problems.Therapist and patient can then undertake the'working through'process to identify how specific dynamics emerge in different contexts and overlap in contributing to problems.All of these approaches help spur patients'self-reflective capacities and the identification of their own dynamics—making it possible to more rapidly address core difficulties.
Psychodynamic Therapy by Eve Caligor; Otto F. Kernberg; John F. Clarkin; Frank E. Yeomans
ISBN: 9781585624591
Publication Date: 2018-04-17
Features of this text include: a coherent model of personality functioning and disorders based in psychodynamic object relations theory; a clinically near approach to the classification of personality disorders, coupled with a comprehensive approach to assessment; an integrated treatment model based on general clinical principles that apply across the spectrum of personality disorders; an understanding of specific modifications of technique that tailor intervention to the individual patient's personality pathology; descriptions of specific psychodynamic techniques that can be exported to shorter-term treatments and acute clinical settings; patient assessment and basic psychodynamic techniques are described in up-to-date, jargon-free terms and richly supported by numerous clinical vignettes.
Effective Short-Term Counselling Within the Primary Care Setting: Psychodynamic and Cognitive-Behavioural Therapy Approaches by Valerie Garrett
ISBN: 9781855757516
Publication Date: 2010-06-16
This book covers two distinct yet related topics: the primary care setting and the counselling carried out within it, and it can be dipped into or read straight through. Part One, using psychodynamic and systems theory, explores the holding environment of primary care, the interpersonal relationships within the primary care team, and other variables affecting counselling in a medical organisational setting. Part Two takes the counsellor through the 'how' of using psychodynamic and Cognitive-Behavioural Therapy (CBT) approaches within short-term contracts in this setting. Case studies and scenarios are given to illustrate these. The counsellor is guided through assessing the patient's counselling needs either within a psychodynamic or CBT model or to formulate a 'tailor-made' short-term contract, using elements drawn from psychodynamic, CBT, and supportive counselling.
The Art of Investigative Psychodynamic Therapy by Corinne F. Gerwe
ISBN: 9780875866550
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
This text is designed to train substance abuse professionals in an innovative and successful treatment methodology, centering on psychodynamic therapy.
The Gerwe Orchestration Method addresses pivotal developmental issues in relation to chronic addiction, post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), and other co-occurring disorders in detail. This manual provides the background information and the tools and templates for conducting group sessions.
Psychodynamic Treatment of Depression by Fredric N. Busch; Marie Rudden; Theodore Shapiro
ISBN: 9781615370351
Publication Date: 2016-03-17
addresses the use of psychodynamic psychotherapy, both alone and in combination with cognitive-behavioral, interpersonal, and medication treatments, as a method for reducing the psychological vulnerabilities that may predispose patients to persistent symptoms or recurrence of depression. Thoroughly revised and with new material, the second edition reflects changes codified in the DSM-5 classification and is intended for use by students, residents, or clinicians who are trained in the practice of psychotherapy. The authors'extensive clinical experience is thoroughly mined to provide techniques for tailoring the psychodynamic psychotherapeutic approach to patients with depression, and important topics such as narcissistic injury and vulnerability, guilt, defense mechanisms, and suicidality are addressed. The book is written in an accessible style and structured logically to support the acquisition and enhancement of psychotherapeutic skills through the systematic exploration of the psychodynamic model of depression.
Psychodynamic Approaches to Behavioral Change by Fredric N. Busch
ISBN: 9781615371303
Publication Date: 2018-05-21
Psychoanalytic psychotherapies have traditionally considered behavioral change as a secondary outcome, a beneficial byproduct of gaining insight and making the unconscious conscious.Though clinical evidence suggests that an increasing number of psychoanalysts are targeting behavioral change, strategic frameworks remain scarce. Psychodynamic Approaches to Behavioral Change addresses this deficiency.This guide demonstrates how, rather than being at odds with psychoanalytic treatments, targeting behavioral change can be part of the development and employment of psychodynamic therapy and can be used to enhance self-understanding. To that end, it offers readers a framework for behavioral change interventions, including: Identifying problematic behaviors; Examining the context, affects, and meanings of problematic behaviors; Formulating contributing intrapsychic conflicts, defenses, and developmental factors; Identifying alternative behaviors; Elaborating feelings and fantasies about performing alternative behaviors Addressing factors that interfere with alternative behaviors; and working with the impact of behavioral change.

ARTICLES

This bibliography features peer reviewed, searchable journals and academic articles, reporting on contemporary research on and clinical application of Psychodynamic Therapy. In addition to what is featured here, QML holds further material on this topic and can access much more, via our interlibrary loan network. If you are not finding what you need here, please email us at askthelibrary@swc.edu.

You can retrieve credentials for accessing articles from Taylor & Francis Online, by clicking here.

QML'S ACADEMIC ARTICLES DATABASE

Looking for information on how to access and effectively use QML's academic articles database? Start here.

ARTICLES

The role of hope in psychodynamic therapy (PDT) for complex PTSD (C-PTSD) by Ofer Levi
Publication Date: 2019
Psychodynamic therapy (PDT) for complex PTSD (C-PTSD) focuses on the interpersonal relationships of sufferers with difficulty forming trust-based relationships. By focusing on the relationship with the therapist, PDT helps sufferers gain insights into other interpersonal relations. Hope plays an important role in the process, as described by Stephen A. Mitchell, and it could be useful to utilize this concept’s uniqueness in order to understand PDT processes. The article describes the process in which the author's hopes as the therapist drew closer to those of Daniel, the patient, within the potential space built by therapy. Inner change arose when the client ‘lived’ the new words suggested by me during the interpretation work, which broke down the old familiar awareness states while symbolizing new hopes and states of awareness.
Trainee psychologists’ experiences of learning and conducting psychodynamic therapy via telepsychology by Gavin Ivey & Lesley Denmeade
Publication Date: 2023
Despite extensive research on telepsychology, less attention has been devoted to psychodynamic therapy (PDT), especially trainee psychologists’ experience of learning and conducting online PDT. Using inductive thematic analysis, this study explored the experiences of student psychologists learning and conducting PDT via video-based web platforms. Semi-structured interviews were conducted with 10 Australian trainee psychologists, all completing the psychodynamic component of their clinical psychology training. Interviews addressed participants’ experiences of online PDT learning and psychotherapy practice, generating five main themes: (1) technological barriers and their impacts, (2) overcoming telepsychology limitations through awareness and adaptation, (3) benefits of telepsychology, (4) effectiveness of psychodynamic telepsychology, and (5) experience of online psychotherapy learning.
Child and Adolescent Psychodynamic Therapy: Using Q-Methodology in Process Research by Geoff Goodman
Publication Date: 2022
The child and adolescent psychodynamic psychotherapy literature lags far behind the adult literature in assessing the change processes associated with the successful treatment of children and adolescents. This article reviews the rapidly growing literature engaged in the pursuit of articulating the change processes associated with successful treatment outcomes for children and adolescents. Two classes of change processes are reviewed: interaction structures (i.e., patterns of reciprocal therapist-patient interaction) and adherence to “brand-name” treatment models (e.g., child psychodynamic therapy).
A demonstration of a multi-method variable selection approach for treatment selection: Recommending cognitive–behavioral versus psychodynamic therapy for mild to moderate adult depression by Zachary D. Cohen, Thomas T. Kim, Henricus L. Van, Jack J. M. Dekker, & Ellen Driessen
Publication Date: 2019
This article helpfully details and outlines the process for using a variable selection procedure for treatment selection which generates treatment recommendations based on pre-treatment characteristics for adults with mild-to-moderate depression deciding between cognitive behavioral (CBT) versus psychodynamic therapy (PDT).
Unpacking the active ingredients of internet-based psychodynamic therapy for adolescents by Liat Leibovich, Jakob Mechler, Karin Lindqvist, Rose Mortimer, Julian Edbrooke-Childs, & Nick Midgley
Publication Date: 2023
Internet-based psychodynamic psychotherapy (iPDT) for adolescents has been found to be effective for treating depression, but not much is known about its active ingredients. The study uses data collected from a pilot study. The iPDT consisted of 8 modules delivered over 10 weeks that included text, video, exercises, and a weekly text-based chat session with a therapeutic support worker (TSW). The participants were 23 adolescents meeting criteria for depression. The TSWs were 9 psychology master’s students. A depression inventory QIDS-A17-SR was filled weekly by the participants, and a self-rated techniques inventory (MULTI-30) was filled by the TSWs after each chat session.
“I didn’t have to look her in the eyes”—participants’ experiences of the therapeutic relationship in internet-based psychodynamic therapy for adolescent depression by Karin Lindqvist, Jakob Mechler, Nick Midgley, Per Carlbring, Katarina Carstorp, Hanna Källebo Neikter, Fredrik Strid, Camilla Von Below, & Björn Philips
Publication Date: 2022
The objective of this study was to explore young people’s perceptions of the relationship with the therapist in internet-based psychodynamic treatment for adolescent depression. As a part of a randomized controlled trial, 18 adolescents aged 15–19 were interviewed after participating in treatment. Interviews followed a semi-structured interview schedule and were analyzed using thematic analysis. The findings are reported around four main themes: “a meaningful and significant relationship with someone who cared”, “a helping relationship with someone who guided and motivated me through therapy”; “a relationship made safer and more open by the fact that we didn’t have to meet” and “a nonsignificant relationship with someone I didn’t really know and who didn’t know me”.
Using psychodynamic principles in guided internet-delivered therapy (IPDT) by Daniel Maroti, Henrik Hallberg, Karin Lindqvist, & Jakob Mechler
Publication Date: 2022
This article aims to illustrate that working with the transference relationship and facilitating deep emotional processing is possible in IPDT, potentially adding to the effect of solely taking a supportive stance in guiding through the self-help material. We argue that unguided treatments might make less sense when based on psychodynamic theory due to the lack of a therapeutic relationship and conclude by stating that future research on IPDT could use dismantling designs to establish what therapeutic techniques that are associated with change.

BOOKS

Collected here are books on Psychodynamic Therapy from QML's physical collection. Click a link to be taken to the book's page in the library's catalog. From there you can view additional details, check the book's availability, and place a hold. While a wealth of material on Psychodynamic Therapy is featured here, the list is not comprehensive. Please email us, to inquire about additional resources.

Remote students: keep in mind that items in QML's physical collection are accessible to you as well. Contact library staff to have an item sent via mail, request scans of needed chapters/sections, or inquire about alternative methods of accessing these books or any other resources in our library.

The Art Activity Book for Psychotherapeutic Work by Jennifer Guest
Call Number: RC480 G84 2017
ISBN: 9781785923012
Publication Date: 2017-08-21
This activity book includes 100 ready-to-use illustrated worksheets and activities. Drawing on psychotherapeutic approaches including psychodynamic approaches, these worksheets are ideal for use in therapeutic work, for starting conversations and addressing problems that clients face. Each worksheet is designed to encourage clients to express their thoughts and emotions creatively in a relaxed way. The book also includes activities that centre on visual diary keeping, to help clients gain perspective on their unique issues and learn to solve their problems in a positive, healthy way. Suitable for adults and young people, in individual or group work, this is an excellent resource for those who work in therapy, counselling and social work.
Hungers and Compulsions by Jean Petrucelli (Editor); Catherine Stuart (Editor)
Call Number: RC552.E18 H86 2012
ISBN: 0765708841
Publication Date: 2011-12-29
This book aims to assist therapists in treating patients suffering from mild to dangerous forms of eating disorders as well as other compulsions and addictions, such as alcoholism and erotic attachments. The chapters help therapists think creatively about these types of patients, and to see the effects of treatment. The problems that arise in therapy are explored in essays about dissociation, selfregulation, selfdestructive behavior, enactment, and other clinical issues.
Group Psychotherapy with Addicted Populations by Philip J. Flores
Call Number: RC565 .F568 2007
ISBN: 0789035308
Publication Date: 2007-10-22
This text provides counselors with proven strategies for treating alcohol and drug addiction through group psychotherapy. Philip J. Flores, a highly regarded expert in the treatment of alcoholism and in group psychotherapy brings together practical applications of 12-step programs and psychodynamic groups. This updated book explores the latest in constructive benefits of group therapy to chemically dependent individuals, providing opportunities to share and identify with others who are going through similar problems, to understand their own attitudes about addiction by confronting similar attitudes in others, and to learn to communicate their needs and feelings more directly.
Betrayed As Boys by Richard B. Gartner
Call Number: RC569.5.A28 G37 1999
ISBN: 9781572306448
Publication Date: 2001-01-03
This book examines how sexual betrayal affects boys and the ways they carry this hurt into adulthood. Blending psychoanalytic understanding with insights from trauma-oriented theory and practice. Richard B. Gartner presents effective strategies for meeting the unique therapeutic needs of men with sexual abuse histories. Filled with evocative clinical material, the book draws readers into the direct experience of these clients, the therapists who work with them, and the constantly shifting relational world they inhabit.