Quimby Memorial Library: History of Art Therapy Resource Guide: Founder Presentation Resources

Overview

Collected here are resources to assist you with the Founder Presentation, that has been assigned for this course.

Here's how the syllabus details this assignment:

Founder Presentation:
Week 2: Students must choose a founder or innovator of the field of art therapy (choices are not limited to founders from United States history- you may look globally). Come to class with your top three choices in Week 2. Selections will be finalized in class to ensure there are no duplicate presentations. If you want to interview the founder or current innovator in the field, start contacting them as soon as possible.

Week 5: Students will sign up for presentation dates for Weeks 5-8 in class. You will present your findings to the class via slideshow presentation (using PowerPoint, Keynote, Canva, Prezi, etc.). Presentations must be 10-15 minutes in length. Approach your slide presentation as a work of art, using relevant photographs, images of founders’ artwork, short videos, inspiring quotations, or other creative demonstrations. Your slide presentation should be creative, dynamic, and visually engaging. Avoid text-heavy slides. Do not read off the slides but rather use them to guide your verbal sharing. There is no paper due for this assignment- be sure to submit the slide presentation in Populi on Week 5, regardless of your
presentation date

(Choice in founder Due Week 2. Presentations starting Week 5)

For more information on this assignment consult your syllabus and/or your instructor.

The resources that follow are specific to the history of art therapy and material by and about art therapy founders and pioneers, which QML makes freely available to SWC students. Keep in mind that this list is not comprehensive. QML holds many more resources in this vein, in its various collections and still more resources are accessible through the library’s interlibrary loan network and acquisition efforts.

Please contact us, if you are looking for material on an art therapist not listed here.

QML'S Academic Articles Database
Looking for information on how to access and effectively use QML's academic articles database? Start here.
QML's Ebooks Database
Looking for additional information and tips for effectively using QML's ebooks database? Start here.

General Founder Information

Articles

Archives Historic Figures Founders Articles
Black History in Art Therapy: A Living Reference & Resource Guide
This guide links you to important information and resources for instrumental Black figures in art therapy.
Rekindling the Multicultural History of the American Art Therapy Association, Inc
This article discusses important figures missing from common narratives about art therapy.

The Black Beat in Art Therapy Experiences by Lucille Venture
Publication Date: 1977

Venture's groundbreaking dissertation is a time capsule of early influences, multicultural perspectives, and historical contexts as they relate to art therapy's first quarter century of theory, research, an practice. Venture covers art therapy's earliest movements and introduces many practitioners, in this rare and hard to find resource.

Videos

Wheels of Diversity in Art Therapy: Pioneers of Color
"Wheels of Diversity in Art Therapy: Pioneers of Color" highlights the first several people of color in the United States who became art therapists and members of the American Art Therapy Association (AATA). It is AATA's Multicultural Committee mission to give homage to the pioneers of color in art therapy, improve the diversity of professionals in art therapy field and multicultural academic curriculum. This video posted is clips of the project.
Multi-Traditional Art Therapy: Invoking All out Ancestors
This video is an excerpt from Jordan Potash's keynote address to the Buckeye Art Therapy Association (20 September 2019). Potash describes how rediscovering art therapy history, particularly overlooked early art therapists of color, reveals diverse theoretical and practical applications. The art therapists featured include: Cliff Joseph, Sarah McGee, Georgette Seabrooke-Powell, Wayne Ramirez, Lucille Venture, and Christine Wang.

Books

Exploring Ethical Dilemmas in Art Therapy by Audrey Di Maria (Editor)
ISBN: 1138681903

Publication Date: 2019-04-04

Exploring Ethical Dilemmas in Art Therapy: 50 Clinicians From 20 Countries Share Their Stories presents a global collection of first-person accounts detailing the ethical issues that arise during art therapists’ work. Grouped according to themes such as discrimination and inclusion, confidentiality, and scope of practice, chapters by experienced art therapists from 20 different countries explore difficult situations across a variety of practitioner roles, client diagnoses, and cultural contexts. In reflecting upon their own courses of action when faced with these issues, the authors acknowledge missteps as well as successes, allowing readers to learn from their mistakes. Offering a unique presentation centered on diverse vignettes with important lessons and ethical takeaways highlighted throughout, this exciting new volume will be an invaluable resource to all future and current art therapists, as well as to other mental health professionals.
Foundations of Art Therapy by Meera Rastogi (Editor); Rachel P. Feldwisch (Editor); Michelle Pate (Editor); Joseph Scarce (Editor)
ISBN: 9780128243084

Publication Date: 2022

In addition to being a great resource for discovering research on and practical applications of art therapy, this book offers a solid introduction to the profession's history, tracking the emergence of art therapy in the U.S., the U.K., Canada, Australia, Israel, and throughout Asia.

Searchable Journals

Art Therapy: Journal of the American Art Therapy Association by The American Art Therapy Association
Publication Date: 1983-present

Search within the Journal of the American Art Therapy Association to locate articles on specific names, approaches, and movements in the field.
Canadian Journal of Art Therapy: Research, Practice, and Issues by The Canadian Art Therapy Association
Publication Date: 1985-present

Search within the journal of the Canadian Art Therapy Association for founders, practitioners, approaches etc.
International Journal of Art Therapy by British Association of Art Therapists
Publication Date: 1996-present

Search this journal for information on European founders and movements in Art Therapy

Resources Specific to Individual Founders

Website

Allen P.B. (2022). The virtual studio of Pat B. Allen.

Ebooks

Art Is a Spiritual Path by Pat B. Allen
Call Number: BL 624.A54 2005

ISBN: 1590302109

Publication Date: 2005-08-09

Art is a spiritual path—not a religion, but a practice that helps us knit together the ideals and convictions that guide our lives. Creating art can be prayer, ritual, and remembrance of the Divine. And the sharing of this creativity with others in small groups can serve as sanctuary, asylum, ashram, therapy group, think tank, and village square. Pat Allen has developed a reliable guide for walking the path of art through a series of simple practices that combine drawing, painting, and sculpture with journal writing.
Art Is a Way of Knowing by Pat B. Allen
Call Number: RC489.A7 A42 1995

ISBN: 9781570620782

Publication Date: 1995-04-11

This is an illuminating long form exploration of Allen's approach to art therapy.

Articles

Is Art Therapy an Idea or a Profession? by Pat B. Allen
Publication Date: 2011

A brief iteration of Allen's philosophy on the world of art therapy
Commentary on Community-Based Art Studios: Underlying Principles by Pat. B. Allen
Publication Date: 2011

Allen's ruminations on a community open studio she cofounded in 1995
Special Issue on the Social Action and Advocacy Paradigm in Art Therapy: The Lens of Art Therapy Opens Larger Still by Pat B. Allen
Publication Date: 2011

Allen's introduction to an issue of the AATA journal focusing on social action and advocacy

Articles

Remembering Robert E. Ault (1936-2008) by Holly Feen-Calligan
Publication Date: 2011

A tribute featuring biographical information
Honorary Life Membership Acceptance Speech by Robert Ault
Publication Date: 1987

Another resource rich with biographical data, related directly by Ault himself and illuminating his philosophy on helping and the arts

Books

Drawing on the contours of the mind by Robert Ault
Call Number: RC489 .A7 A95 1996

Publication Date: 1996

Ault's text on psychology, art, and art therapy practice. Click the title or cover to place a hold on this rare book, via QML's physical collection.

Websites

Dr. Timm-Bottos's page on Concordia University
Features general professional and biographical information as well as contact details.

Articles

Endangered Threads: Socially Committed Community Art Action by Janis Timm-Bottos
Publication Date: 2011

This article describes a 9-month community action project that took the form of an art studio located in a thrift store. The purpose of the project was to creatively reduce clothing fabric waste from unused donations, and also to document the social justice and ecological issues involved in clothing production and distribution. Collaboration with an art therapist coordinator, volunteers, and thrift shop workers gradually grew to attract local crafters, youth “refashion designers,” and free clothing distributors and recipients. A youth-initiated event incubated within the studio, as well as other results of the project, indicated successful and sustainable community building and expression. Community art therapy methods helped realize the goal of relational transformation and meaningful action.
Beyond Counseling and Psychotherapy, There Is a Field. I'll Meet You There by Janies Timm-Bottos
Publication Date: 2016

Beyond a counseling or psychotherapy practice, the future of art therapy demands a new type of creativity, solidarity, and social inclusion. This viewpoint explores the art therapy profession and the role of educational practices to envision change in uncertain times. Art therapists have the ability to offer expertise in the serious dilemmas facing humanity. In order to do so, art therapists need to learn to tolerate the messy margins of participatory experimentation, expanding conventional ways of practicing art therapy.
Constructing Creative Community Reviving Health and Justice Through Community Arts by Janis Tim-Bottos
Publication Date: 2006

When public spaces gentrify, become exclusive, or overly consumer driven, citizens naturally become interested in having more input into the construction of creative places that will nurture their own (and their children's) well being. Art therapists, artists, educators, students, and ironically, people experiencing homelessness, are in a unique position to respond to this need for safe public space, which assists all of us in reclaiming our collective power to create the world, we want to live in. This article explores the importance of collaboratively constructing small and sustainable “public home places,” promoting creative thought, dialogue and community art making.
Public Practice Art Therapy: Enabling Spaces Across North America by Janis Timm-Bottos
Publication Date: 2017

There is an open call in North America and abroad to develop third spaces (Watkins & Shulman, Citation2008; Timm-Bottos Citation2006, Citation2012, Citation2016), where neighborhoods and institutions provide places for people to connect, strengthen their voices, renew their love of each other, and develop their own community solutions with the support of university research. Public Practice Art Therapy can address the problems that we are collectively confronting by enabling small and sustainable third spaces across North America.
The art hive as a ‘frame of belonging’ for older adults by Darla Fortune, Ginette Aubin, Janis Timm-Bottos, & Shannon Hebblethwaite
Publication Date: 2021

Typically located in storefronts, subsidized housing, libraries, and museums, art hives are community spaces where everyone, particularly individuals prone to exclusion, are welcomed to make art and connect with others. Findings highlight participants’ need for welcoming social spaces where they connect with people who care about them and suggest the value of such spaces extends beyond leisure activities happening within. The democratic nature of art hives contributed to participants’ feelings of shared ownership and collective responsibility for hospitality. These findings advance our thinking about belonging and provide support for the creation of community leisure spaces that support older adults to engage in regular and meaningful social interactions around shared interests.
Digital Footprints: Exploring Digital Inclusion in Adults With Developmental Disabilities by Dillon R. Lewchuk, Miranda D’Amico, & Janis Timm-Bottos
Publication Date: 2021

The aim of the study was to identify potential barriers for adults with developmental disabilities in transitioning from in-person art therapy to online and digital art therapy. A qualitative study was implemented using a phenomenological approach to answer the research question: How do adults with developmental disabilities (DD) currently use digital media and the digital world? The results demonstrate how the lack of digital inclusion contributes to unnecessary barriers for adults with DD in accessing online art therapy and digital art therapy without support.
ArtStreet- Joining Community through Art by Janis Timm-Bottos
Publication Date: 1995

ArtStreet is a group of artists, art therapists, and interested community members who collaborate to create an atmosphere in which homeless artists can create and sell their works. Artists from the community share their expertise in various media, and the project is funded by various local and national foundations.

Articles

Cultural Diversity Curriculum Design: An Art Therapist’s Perspective by Cheryl Doby-Copeland
Publication Date: 2006

This article represents the culmination of a long-standing goal of the American Art Therapy Association's (AATA) Multicultural Committee to propose multicultural curriculum guidelines for use by art therapy educators. Challenges faced by art therapy educators endeavoring to meet the AATA Educational requirements are discussed with an emphasis on presenting strategies for cultural competence course development. The guidelines are divided into critical content areas: program philosophy, faculty preparedness, curriculum content, cross-cultural supervision, and multicultural resources. Readers are encouraged to use the guidelines as a point of departure in the design of coursework and when evaluating their own individual multicultural competency.
Things come to me, reflections from an art therapist of color by Cheryl Doby-Copeland
Publication Date: 2011
Art Therapy Students of Color: The Experience of Seven Graduate Students by Tuesdai Johnson, Sarah P. Deaver & Cheryl Doby-Copeland
Publication Date: 2021

This qualitative study addressed the problem of lack of racial and ethnic diversity in American graduate art therapy programs. Seven current art therapy students or recent graduates of color from one predominantly White institution participated in individual semi-structured interviews and a group meeting. Results of thematic analysis yielded four overarching patterns; Courses, Internship, Affective Disruptions, and Differences, from which 10 themes and 14 sub-themes emerged. Narratives and strategies support published best-practices as participants identified limited course content relative to the contributions of pioneers of color, uneven exposure to course content designed to increase racial/cultural self-awareness, and preparation for cross-cultural interactions.
Intersections of traditional healing and art therapy, Legacy of Sarah E. McGee. by Cheryl Doby-Copeland
Publication Date: 2019

Sarah McGee’s major contribution to the profession of art therapy was her use of traditional African healing practices in her work with clients. Her immersive training as a ndeppkat (spiritual healer) and Lébou Ndepp rituals in Senegal offered a foundation for her approach to therapy. These rituals informed her work, even in secular settings, through attention to the whole client (bio-psychosocial) and community involvement. The significance and implications of McGee’s pioneering efforts for contemporary art therapists include adopting a holistic perspective, involving the community for treating individuals, incorporating drumming, and collaborating with spiritual healers.

Videos

Art Therapy in Action: Trauma
Cheryl Doby-Copeland, PhD, ATR-BC, LPC, LMFT and Gretchen Miller, ATR-BC, ACTP discuss how art therapy can help individuals or families who have experienced trauma express what they've been through safely, and tell their stories without needing to talk.
The Profession of Art Therapy with Cheryl Doby-Copeland and Deanna Barton LIVE STREAM
Through active artmaking that pairs the creative process and applied psychology within a psychotherapeutic practice, art therapy offers a means of communication for people who cannot find the words to express anxiety, pain, or emotions. Art Therapy is a rewarding, interdisciplinary profession that unites art and psychology to improve the lives of people of all ages and walks of life. Join art therapists, Dr. Cheryl Doby-Copeland and Deanna Barton (Spelman College, C’2008) for a multi-faceted conversation on the profession of art therapy.

Videos

Helen B. Landgarten Art Therapy Clinic Overview
Art and art therapy with Helen B. Landgarten
DVD ( Available at library)

Books

Magazine Photo Collage: a Multicultural Assessment and Treatment Technique by Helen B. Landgarten
ISBN: 0876307063

Publication Date: 1993

(Available at the library)
Family Art Psychotherapy by Helen B. Landgarten
ISBN: 0876304560

Publication Date: 1987

(Available at the library)
Clinical Art Therapy by Helen B. Landgarten
ISBN: 0876302371

Publication Date: 1987

(Available at the library)
Adult Art Psychotherapy by Helen B. Landgarten (Editor); Darcy Lubbers (Editor)
ISBN: 9780876305935

Publication Date: 1991

(Available at the library)

Websites

Articles

Perceptions of Art Therapy by Healthcare Professionals in Medical Settings by Dian Handayani, Peiling Pearlyn Lee,Xiangting Bernice Lin,Ju Ling Denise Seah &Kinjal Doshi
Publication Date: 2023

Art therapy is an emerging allied health profession in Singapore, although attitudes toward the role of the service remain unclear. This study surveyed 80 healthcare professionals from two tertiary care hospitals, exploring three areas: (a) perceptions of art therapy, (b) the referral process, and (c) suggestions to increase art therapy utilization. Findings suggest that healthcare professionals perceive art therapy as a form of psychotherapy, but need for clearer referral processes. Additional research in art therapy is necessary to support its implementation in acute healthcare in Singapore.
Art Therapy and The Care Collection In Conversation with Art Therapist Dian Handayani
National Gallery Singapore and Singapore Art Museum recently teamed up to develop The Care Collection: Caring through the Arts. The Care Collection draws from the collection of both museums to provide a selection of artworks based on seven themes—courage, connection/disconnection, resilience, hope, growth, self-love/self-compassion and being in the present.

The curators of The Care Collection for National Gallery Singapore—Lim Shujuan, Goh Sze Ying and Clarissa Chikiamco—interviewed art therapist Dian Handayani from Singapore General Hospital (SGH) through a live video call to learn more about art therapy and the reception of The Care Collection. Dian is the leader of the SingHealth iTHRIVE ARTpreciate programme, which has been using the artworks from the collection to conduct regular art therapy sessions for SingHealth healthcare workers and staff since June 2020.

This interview has been edited for brevity and clarity.

Articles

Looking for What's Lost: The Artistic Roots of Art Therapy: Mary Huntoon by Linney Wix
Publication Date: 2011

This paper is about one early art therapist who is among those who have received little attention: Mary Huntoon. Huntoon was an artist who worked in her home state of Kansas as an art teacher, arts administrator, and art therapist from the 1930s through the 1950s. Her approach to working as an art therapist was based in creative process and intuition. Huntoon believed in the power of art to heal and encouraged her patients, whom she called "students," to engage with materials in a studio setting without external disruption. She devoted 16 years of her career to working with psychiatric patients and World War II veterans through art.
Beyond the Drawing Room: The Art of Mary Huntoon by Journal of the American Art Therapy Association
Publication Date: 2013

This brief write-up focuses on a 2013 exhibition of Huntoon's work and offers some insight into her artistic goals, aesthetics, and themes.

Website

University of Kansas Libraries. (n.d.). Mary Huntoon: Artist & Art Therapist

Articles

Interview—Cliff Joseph: Art Therapist, Pioneer, Artist by Anna Riley-Hiscox
Publication Date: 2013

Cliff Joseph was one of the first African Americans to participate in the American Art Therapy Association (AATA), and to subsequently become a registered art therapist and teacher. This interview documents the life and activities of one of AATA's most dynamic activists and clinicians of the 1970s. Cliff's impact on art therapy and cultural and social issues is chronicled in an interview taped in January 1996
Creative Alliance: The Healing Power of Art Therapy by Cliff Joseph
Publication Date: 2011

This editorial by Joseph includes unique insights and autobiographical details, relating the author/therapist's experiences of oppression to his approach to practice.
Visionary Architects of Color in Art Therapy: Georgette Powell, Cliff Joseph, Lucille Venture, and Charles Anderson by Stella A. Stepney
Publication Date: 2019

Art therapy in the United States has historically failed to document the contributions of people of color in the foundation of the profession. The American Art Therapy Association sought to correct the record when it created the criteria for the Meritorious Contribution award. This honor was conferred on 4 Black art therapists—Georgette Powell, Cliff Joseph, Lucille Venture, and Charles Anderson—for their enduring involvement in the field through their commitment to multiculturalism, diversity, social justice, and advocacy. The visionary approaches of these 4 individuals set the foundation for art therapists to develop cultural competence and humility.

Books

Murals of the Mind by Jay Harris; Cliff Joseph
Call Number: RC 514.H33 1973

ISBN: 0823634906

Publication Date: 1973-11-01

Joseph's rare, out-of-print long form work reports on the relationship of a group's structure and the imagery produced in a group mural, based on a study of the mural sessions of patients on the psychiatric ward in a university hospital.

Video

Two Art Therapy Pioneers of Color: Georgette Powell & Cliff Joseph
An insightful discussion of these two pioneers, among art therapists and researchers Gwendolyn Short, Lindsey Vance & Barbara Fish

Books

Art As Therapy by Edith Kramer; Lani Gerity (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9781853029028

Publication Date: 2001-03-15

This collection of papers reflects Kramer’s lifetime of work in the field, showing how her thoughts and practice have developed over the years. She considers a wide spectrum of issues, covering art, art therapy, society, ethology and clinical practice and placing art therapy in its social and historical context. Drawing on her very considerable personal experience as an art therapist, Kramer illustrates her conviction that art making is central to practice and cautions against making words primary and art secondary in art therapy.
Art As Therapy with Children by Edith Kramer
Call Number: RJ505.A7 K7 1993

ISBN: 9780961330941

Publication Date: 1993-01-01

In this classic work, Kramer explores subjects such as a sense of identity, feelings of emptiness, interpretation of reality, ambivalence, aggression, defenses, & sublimation. Kramer captures here the interplay between child, artwork & therapist, bringing to life the fast-moving events in an artroom peopled by emotionally disturbed children. Her deep knowledge of psychoanalysis is on display in this text, as are her skill & intuition as an artist & her humane love as a teacher.
Dynamically Oriented Art Therapy by Margaret Naumburg
Call Number: RC 489 .A7 N29 1966

ISBN: 9780961330910

Publication Date: 1966

In this influential work by Naumburg, three case histories of emotionally disturbed clients are used to illustrate the various ways in which the process of dynamically oriented art therapy can function in the treatment of depression, ulcers and alcoholism. The pictures created by these patients illustrate the application of transference, identification and free association in relation to the spontaneous pictures created during treatment by means of dynamically oriented art therapy.
Introduction to Art Therapy by Margaret Naumburg; Thomas Frank (Other)
Call Number: RJ 505 .A7 N38 1973

ISBN: 0807724254

Publication Date: 1974-06-15

This book grew out of a research project Naumburg conducted at the New York State Psychiatric Institute and Hospital. The work records problems of adjustment among six children, aged 4–1/2 to 17. The life history of each child precedes a narrative of how art therapy was adapted to his or her special needs. It includes 100 exemplar illustrations.

Articles

In memoriam: Edith Kramer (1916–2014). by Holly Feen-Calligan
Publication Date: 2014

A tribute to Kramer, which includes great information on her life and work.
Process and Product: The Art of Edith Kramer by Geoffrey Thompson
Publication Date: 2014

This portfolio of original artworks by Kramer and accompanying essay authored by the curator was exhibited in 2009 at the Norwood Flynn Gallery in Dallas, Texas, in conjunction with the national conference of the American Art Therapy Association. The exhibition provided an introspective window through which to view the artwork of one of the founders of the field of art therapy and to revisit her original conception of the relationship between art and psychotherapy through her artist identity.
The art therapist's third hand by Edith Kramer
Publication Date: 1986

This 15-minute video features an enlightening interview and a demonstration of art therapy with children by Kramer.

Books

The Artist in Each of Us by Florence Cane; Harvey W. Zorbaugh (Introduction by)
ISBN: 0961146206

Publication Date: 1983

Rear cover notes: Originally published in 1951, this book...represents 25 years of the practical experience of a pioneer whose new methods bridge art education and art therapy. Cane considers both the psychological and technical factors of learning and personality growth. She gives us a careful step-by-step account of her teaching methods with a number of fascinating case studies.

Videos

Great Moments in Art Education: Florence Cane

Articles

Good Therapy. (2016, May 1). Hanna Kwiatkowska (1910-1980).

The history of art therapy at the National Institutes of Health by Megan Robb
Publication Date: 2012

This article describes the early history of art therapy research at NIH, its loss of salience at the institute as government funding priorities shifted, art therapy's reestablishment there as a clinical practice in palliative care, and possible directions for future research. A focus of the article is Hanna Kwiatkowska's work contributing to the foundation of art therapy with families in 1958.

Books

Art therapy in the United states by Elinor Ulman & Hanna Yaxa Kwiatkowska
Call Number: RC 489.A7 U45

ISBN: 0839111649

Publication Date: 1977

This book by Ulman and fellow pioneer Hanna Kwiatkowska provides a meaningful snapshot of art therapy's existential philosophy and application, in the earliest years of its practice in the U.S.
Family Therapy and Evaluation Through Art by Hanna Y. Kwiatkowska
Call Number: RC489.A7 K93

ISBN: 0398037299

Publication Date: 1978-10-01

Kwiatkowska's book is critical to understanding her approach to art therapy with families. She begins with an account of the origin and evolution of art therapy with families, then presents details of a family art session, followed by discussions of family art therapy as it relates to adjunctive verbal therapy. Kwiatkowska further explores the use of sculpture and delineates the possibilities inherent in employing family art therapy as a primary mode of treatment.

Websites

Much more than drawing a picture: For more than 50 years Mama Sarah has helped children grow, heal
Published in a New Jersey newspaper in 2002, this article features biographical information on McGee and anecdotes related to her work as an art therapist.

Articles

Art therapy as a means of fostering parental closeness in a migrant preschool. by Sarah McGee
Publication Date: 1979
The Black family-Culture specific therapeutic needs. by Sarah McGee
Publication Date: 1981
Intersections of traditional healing and art therapy, Legacy of Sarah E. McGee. by Cheryl Doby-Copeland
Publication Date: 2019

Sarah McGee’s major contribution to the profession of art therapy was her use of traditional African healing practices in her work with clients. Her immersive training as a ndeppkat (spiritual healer) and Lébou Ndepp rituals in Senegal offered a foundation for her approach to therapy. These rituals informed her work, even in secular settings, through attention to the whole client (bio-psychosocial) and community involvement. The significance and implications of McGee’s pioneering efforts for contemporary art therapists include adopting a holistic perspective, involving the community for treating individuals, incorporating drumming, and collaborating with spiritual healers.

Articles

Founding Mothers and Others by Alan R. Sadovnik (Editor); Susan F. Semel (Editor)
Chapter 3 from this text examines Margaret Naumburgs life and times, her educational philosophy and its implementation in the Children’s School (Walden School), as well as her leadership qualities and style.
The legacy of Margaret Naumburg by Patricia Allen
Publication Date: 1983

This tribute, by art therapist and author Patricia Allen, includes biographical information on Naumburg.
DAYENU, A tribute to Margaret Naumburg by Judith Rubin
Publication Date: 1983

Another tribute featuring biographical information on Naumburg, shared by author Judith Rubin.

Books

Dynamically Oriented Art Therapy by Margaret Naumburg
Call Number: RC 489 .A7 N29 1966

ISBN: 9780961330910

Publication Date: 1966

In this influential work by Naumburg, three case histories of emotionally disturbed clients are used to illustrate the various ways in which the process of dynamically oriented art therapy can function in the treatment of depression, ulcers and alcoholism. The pictures created by these patients illustrate the application of transference, identification and free association in relation to the spontaneous pictures created during treatment by means of dynamically oriented art therapy.
Introduction to Art Therapy by Judith A. Rubin
ISBN: 9780415960939

Publication Date: 2009-08-05

This link will take you to chapter 3 in Rubin’s landmark survey of art therapy practice. The chapter focuses not only on the history of art therapy but also its prehistory, tracing the healing capacity of art through ancient contexts. Later in the chapter, Rubin discusses pioneers such as Naumburg, Kramer, Ulman, and Jones.

Articles

Visionary Architects of Color in Art Therapy: Georgette Powell, Cliff Joseph, Lucille Venture, and Charles Anderson by Stella A. Stepney
Publication Date: 2019

Art therapy in the United States has historically failed to document the contributions of people of color in the foundation of the profession. The American Art Therapy Association sought to correct the record when it created the criteria for the Meritorious Contribution award. This honor was conferred on 4 Black art therapists—Georgette Powell, Cliff Joseph, Lucille Venture, and Charles Anderson—for their enduring involvement in the field through their commitment to multiculturalism, diversity, social justice, and advocacy. The visionary approaches of these 4 individuals set the foundation for art therapists to develop cultural competence and humility.
Georgette Seabrooke Powell
Biography - Digital Archive - Digital Library

Ebooks & Chapters

Envisioning Black Women’s Consciousness in Art Therapy by Leah Gipson
ISBN: 9781138909069

Publication Date: 2018

This chapter examines the contributions of three Black art therapists, all deceased: Georgette Seabrooke Powell (1916–2011), Sarah Pollard McGee (1930–2002), and Lucille D. Venture (1919–2006). she offers a brief historical analysis of their work, where she also explore ideas of womanism, place making, and the role of multiculturalism in art therapy. Art therapy education has not gone far enough to take advantage of the ideas of Black women and other people of color in the profession. Understanding Black women's corrective response to invisibility is a way to begin addressing problems in art therapy if it is to develop a social justice framework.

Videos

Janie Rhyne's Gestalt Art Therapy.wmv
Gestalt art experience by with Janie Rhyne ; Roy Nolan Films.
Publication Date: 2000

DVD

Books

Gestalt Art Experience by Janie Rhyne
ISBN: 9780818501029

Publication Date: 1973

What is the gestalt art experience? -- Therapeutic experiences with art -- Growing with art experience -- Being aware and giving attention -- Giving and receiving messages -- Doing what comes naturally -- Knowing yourself better -- Living with others -- Gestalt art experience groups -- Working together.
Gestalt Art Experience by Janie Rhyne
ISBN: 9780961330965

Publication Date: 1995

Articles

Psychological Growth and the Use of Art Materials : Small Group Experiments with Adults by Miles A. Vich and Janie Rhyne

Books

Art Therapy in Response to Natural Disasters, Mass Violence, and Crises by Joseph Scarce (Ed.)
ISBN: 9781787754065

Publication Date: 2021-12-21

Ramirez provides the foreword for this book, and in it he shares details of his experiences as an art therapist in the aftermath of two separate hurricanes, which destabilized his home territory of the Virgin Islands. His stories illuminate philosophies and motivations behind his practice.
Broadening History, Expanding Possibilities: Contributions of Wayne Ramirez to Art Therapy by Jordan Potash & Wayne Ramirez
Publication Date: 2013

A broad history of art therapy in the United States offers important perspectives on which to view contemporary art therapy practice and professional identity. This article provides descriptive research on the contributions of art therapist Wayne Ramirez, an active leader in the early days of the American Art Therapy Association whose attention turned in later years to his own expanded view of art therapy. Ramirez's achievements invite today's art therapists to broaden their views, embrace difference and inclusivity, and reconsider roles and practices that define the field.

Articles

Restoring Wisconsin Art Therapy Association in Art Therapy History: Implications for Professional Definition and Inclusivity by Wayne Ramirez, et al.
Publication Date: 2016

The Wisconsin Art Therapy Association (WATA), formally established in 1969, was the first incorporated organization of art therapists in the United States. Under the leadership of Wayne Ramirez, WATA lobbied the national association for an inclusive definition of art therapy that aimed to foster respect for psychiatric, educational, and community practices equally. In this viewpoint, we restore clarity about WATA's legacy and point out how the organization highlighted the important role of undergraduate art therapy education.

Articles

Polio and Cancer Survivor Mickie McGraw Channels the Power of Creative Arts to Heal Broken Bodies and Minds by Ronald Piana
In this edition of the Living a Full Life series, guest editor Jame Abraham, MD, FACP, spoke with pioneering art therapist Mickie McGraw, who, through her own experience as a survivor of both polio and cancer, made it her life’s work to share the life-enhancing role of creativity with people who are in some way confined by injury or illness.
The Art of Creating Community
Publication Date: 2007

Videos

Art Therapy Studio - Yes You Can! The Story of Mickie McGraw

Articles

Counselling and creativity: An interview with Natalie Rogers by Tony Merry
Publication Date: 1997

This interview includes biographical details and insight into Rogers's professional philosophies
Person-centered expressive arts therapy.. by Natalie Rogersa, Keith Tudorb, Louise Embleton Tudorc and Keemar Keemard
Publication Date: 2012

Books

The Creative Connection by Natalie. Rogers
Call Number: RC489.A72 R64 1993

ISBN: 0831400803

Publication Date: 1993-11-01

In this influential work, Rogers emphasizes the importance of psychological safety and freedom while using the creative arts. This reflects her extensive work with her father, Carl Rogers, and a deep belief in his person-centered approach to counseling.Photos and art help demystify this process, and various exercises range from the simple to the complex. Natalie's practical suggestions aid counselors who want to add expressive arts to their regular sessions.
The Creative Connection for Groups by Natalie Rogers
Call Number: C 489.A72 R643 2011

ISBN: 9780831400958

Publication Date: 2011

In The Creative Connection for Groups Dr. Natalie Rogers brings us a practical theoretical, and spiritual joining of the expressive arts and the person-centered approach for groups. Specific guidelines and explorations merge the values, purposes, and methods of both fields. Facilitators learn how to apply this work in a wide variety of situations. The powerful images illustrate case material and the extraordinary effects of this profound group process. Ultimately, this book is about courage, creative expression, compassion, cooperation, and raising the collective consciousness to heal the planet.
Emerging Woman by Natalie Rogers
Call Number: HQ 1075 .R63 1980

ISBN: 0960563407

Publication Date: 1980

Self published in 1980, this is a moving personal account of Natalie Rogers' quest for independence after 20 years of being immersed in marriage and motherhood. It is a journey of both pain and ecstasy told with courage, sensitivity and uncompromising honesty.

Articles

Art therapy, an introduction by Judith Rubin
Publication Date: 1998
Child art therapy by Judith Rubin
Publication Date: 2005
Introduction to art therapy, sources & resources by Judith Rubin
Publication Date: 2010

Videos

My Story - A Conversation with Art Therapy Icon Dr. Judy Rubin | Episode 43
Art Therapy in Action: Then and Now
Art therapy with blind children : we'll show you what we're gonna do!
Publication Date: 2008

DVD

Books

Approaches to Art Therapy by Judith Aron Rubin
ISBN: 9781138884564

Publication Date: 2016
Child Art Therapy by Judith Aron Rubin
ISBN: 0471679917

Publication Date: 2005

Books

Art Therapy for Social Justice by Savneet K. Talwar
ISBN: 9781138909069

Publication Date: 2019

Talwar's 2019 book seeks to open a conversation about the cultural turn in art therapy to explore the critical intersection of social change and social justice. By moving the practice of art therapy beyond standard individualized treatment models, the authors promote scholarship and dialogue that opens boundaries; they envision cross disciplinary approaches with a focus on intersectionality through the lens of black feminism, womanism, antiracism, queer theory, disability studies, and cultural theory.
An Intersectional Framework for Race, Class, Gender, and Sexuality in Art Therapy by Savneet Talwar
Publication Date: 2010

This article calls for an examination of identity and difference from a sociocultural perspective in art therapy theory and practice. Identity markers such as race, class, gender, and sexuality have tended to be seen in isolation and in ways that hamper the ability to understand and theorize difference. In constructing knowledge and in advancing more effective practices, art therapists need to examine identity and difference not only from a psychological perspective, but also from social and cultural ones. An intersectional framework that demands self-reflexivity is presented as important to research, scholarship, organizational policy making, and theorizing that shapes art therapy practice.

Articles

Is There a Need to Redefine Art Therapy? by Savneet Talwar
Publication Date: 2016

Talwar's introduction to a special issue of AATA's journal, which examines the changing contexts to which art therapy theory and practice must adapt

Videos

Books

Variations on a Freudian Theme: Three art therapy theorists by Elinor Ulman
ISBN: 9781138884564

Publication Date: 2016-03-01

This chapter offers insight into Ulman’s approach to art therapy, as well as the approaches of her peers Kramer and Naumburg. As Ulman herself signals, “I shall explore the connection between the theoretical ideas and the personal value systems of three writers on art therapy: Margaret Naumburg, Edith Kramer, and myself. All three of us claim intellectual descent from Freud, but differences among us have shaped the development of art therapy in several different directions.”
Art therapy in the United states by Elinor Ulman & Hanna Yaxa Kwiatkowska
Call Number: RC 489.A7 U45

ISBN: 0839111649

Publication Date: 1977

This book by Ulman and fellow pioneer Hanna Kwiatkowska provides a meaningful snapshot of art therapy's existential philosophy and application, in the earliest years of its practice in the U.S.

Articles

A Tribute to Elinor Ulman by Linda Gantt; Gladys Agell
Publication Date: 1992

Perspectives on Ulman's life and influence from two art therapists/authors, are filled with biographical information.
Art therapy: Problems of definition by Elinor Ulman
Publication Date: 2001

This 2001 re-print of Ulman's landmark essay offers great insight into the pioneer's philosophical approach, motivations, and concerns.
More Than an Image: Revisiting the Ulman Personality Assessment Procedure by Tally Tripp
Publication Date: 2019

The Ulman Personality Assessment Procedure (UPAP) is a historical art therapy tool based on a series of experiential directives that consists of 4 drawings completed in a single session. The UPAP provides multiple ways of viewing a client’s psychological state and symbolic expression. Despite its often marginalized and seemingly antiquated psychoanalytic roots, the UPAP has contemporary relevance when integrated with relational, somatic, and trauma-informed theory. Some benefits of the assessment include offering a series of images instead of a single drawing, including movement, providing a range of directives, and ensuring shared interpretation. The author describes learning the procedure as a student of Ulman in 1978 and presents a contemporary case study for an expanded use of this protocol.

History of Art Therapy Resource Guide

Overview

General Founder Information

Resources Specific to Individual Founders

Outside Resource Search Engine