How the Library can Help
On this page you will find links to Quimby Memorial Library's journal, ebook, and video databases, tutorials expressing effective practices for navigating and using those databases, and further supportive information and resources. In addition to what's offered here, the library is dedicated to building its collections in response to suggestions from its users, so please don't hesitate to click the email link and request access to any resources you believe will be useful to your research.
RELATED GUIDES
QML'S RESEARCH ASSISTANCE GUIDE
QML'S APA STYLE GUIDE
Academic Journals and Articles
At the link below, you will find all the information you need to access, navigate, and use the library's database of over 5 million academic articles, on a vivid spectrum of subjects and disciplines.
Ebooks
At the link below you will find everything you need to access, navigate, and use the library's ebooks database, containing greater than 200,000 ebooks and always expanding with user input and suggestions.
Exemplary Journals
This brief collection of searchable journals will demonstrate the scope of academic material on research methodology that is being published monthly or quarterly and give you a head start on locating relevant articles.
International Journal of Social Research Methodology
by
Qualitative Research in Psychology
by
The American Statistician
by
Exemplary Articles
Think of these example articles as entry points to the literature on research methodology that's being currently published. You might consult these articles to explore topics of interest, familiarize with contemporary authors, learn language that will inform your keyword searches, and discover a wealth of related articles, via references sections.
Decolonising Digital Media Research Methods: Positioning African Digital Experiences as Epistemic Sites of Knowledge Production
by
Every voice counts: exploring communication accessible research methods
by
Wayfinding in Children: A Descriptive Literature Review of Research Methods
by
Performing goodness in qualitative research methods
by
Feminist Research Methods and Intersectionality: An Introduction to the Focus Section
by
Transformative research methods: Research to nourish the spirit
by
On the importance of the dynamics of humour and comedy for constructionism and reflexivity in social science research methodology
by
The Better to Break and Bleed With: Research, Violence, and Trauma
by
Indigenous research methodology – weaving a research interface
by
Digital story grammar: a quantitative methodology for narrative analysis
by
Interaction of quantitative and qualitative methodology in mixed methods research: integration and/or combination
by
The book clearly illustrates the fundamental concepts related to the aspect of social research in the context of Extension Education. The book is divided into 4 parts Foundations of social research deals with universal and basic units of social research like scientific approach, meaning, process and development of scientific research problem. It also deals with defining and measurement of variables and testing of reliability and validity of measuring instruments.
This volume on arts-based research explores the transformative power of arts for qualitative inquiry and beyond. The chapters address multiple approaches from within arts-based research and suggest that art can be mobilized to reorient the political, especially when we find the political aim straying from its proper target of truth and justice. Artistic representation is never an end in itself, for the goal is to change the way we think about people and their lives. Arts-based research makes the world visible in new and different ways, in ways ordinary scholarly writing does not allow. The Arts develops a utopian idea of belonging, illustrating how moments of history, biography, culture, politics and lived experience come together in the aesthetic. Ultimately, the content of the book examines how artistic insights resonate in arts-based research, something that not only gives us criteria for assessing the quality of ethical engagement in arts-based research practice, but also provides a conceptual framework for living more just lives through art.
How do research students and their supervisors respond in a world of ‘fake news', the destabilisation of public institutions and the rise of populism? The very foundations of our liberal democracies seem to be under threat, and this implicates social inquiry. Postgraduate research remains one of the few information spaces which are still free of politicisation and committed to validation. This book focuses on democracy in inquiry, and on the role of inquiry in a democracy – how research helps us to deliberate over what counts as of public value. It is a research methods book, but methods shaped by political and ethical purposes, and by the challenge of making judgements about what, in the public sphere, is worthy.
The Theoretical Framework in Phenomenological Research: Development and Application is an introduction to phenomenology in which the authors overview its origin, main ideas and core concepts. They show the application and relevancy of phenomenological tenets in practical qualitative research, as well as demonstrate how aligning theory and method enhances research credibility. In this detailed but digestible explanation of phenomenological theories, the authors explore the ideas of the main founders pertaining to the meaning of perceived reality and the meaning of being, and how these founders articulated their methodologies. In doing so, The Theoretical Framework in Phenomenological Research fills the well-documented gap between theory and practice within phenomenology by providing a much-needed bridge between the foundational literature and applied research on the subject, focusing equally on theory and practice. The book includes practical demonstrations on how to create theoretical/conceptual frameworks in applied phenomenological research.
Applying Indigenous Research Methods focuses on the question of'How'Indigenous Research Methodologies (IRMs) can be used and taught across Indigenous studies and education. In this collection, Indigenous scholars address the importance of IRMs in their own scholarship, while focusing conversations on the application with others. Each chapter is co-authored to model methods rooted in the sharing of stories to strengthen relationships, such as yarning, storywork, and others. The chapters offer a wealth of specific examples, as told by researchers about their research methods in conversation with other scholars, teachers, and community members. Applying Indigenous Research Methods is an interdisciplinary showcase of the ways IRMs can enhance scholarship in fields including education, Indigenous studies, settler colonial studies, social work, qualitative methodologies, and beyond.
Research with children is an invaluable way to tell their story in their own words. Research documenting ideas about children from parent and teacher perspectives is valuable, but in itself, does not tell the story from the child’s point of view. Thus, the purpose of this book is to develop a book for those interested in conducting research with children, to document their voices and perceptions.
A comprehensive guide to conducting empirical research in dance Research Methods in the Dance Sciences introduces concepts and practices that support effective, empirical research in the dance sciences, including medical science. A valuable new resource for this growing field, this book provides foundational knowledge for anyone who wants to understand, apply, and conduct research with dancers and proposes ways to facilitate more collaboration between the many disciplines that often overlap in this area. In this volume, pioneers of dance medicine and science guide readers through the stages of the research process.
Rapid growth in the tourism and hospitality industry highlights the importance of applied and pure research to address the theoretical and practical problems and gaps facing the industry daily, from a multitude of perspectives – the economic, social, cultural, environmental, political, and technological. Advanced Research Methods in Hospitality and Tourism reviews traditional research methods, revising them to suit the contemporary problems and research agendas. Developing recent research strategies under the umbrella of quantitative and qualitative research methods – such as the mixed-methods designs, analysing archival materials, online databases, text mining, and scientific qualitative analysis of social media historical data– can offer promising solutions.
Digital Research Methods in Fashion and Textile Studies presents the reader with a variety of digital methodologies to help build skills in searching for, analyzing, and discussing vintage design, photography, and writing on fashion, as well as historic and ethnographic dress and textile objects themselves. Each chapter focuses upon a different method, problem, or research site, including: - Maximalism and mixed-methods approaches to research - Searching large databases effectively - Pattern recognition and visual searching. - Critical reading, use, and citation of social media texts - Digital ethnography and shopping as research - Data visualization and mapping - Images in the public domain.
Higher education research is a developing field internationally, which is attracting more and more researchers from a great variety of disciplinary backgrounds within and beyond higher education institutions. As such, it is an arena within which a wide range of theories, methods and methodologies is being applied. This volume of Theory and Method in Higher Education Research explores several timely topics including transnational approaches to higher education policy, universities contributions to society, data collection in higher education, virtual and blended research, and more.
Composed by international researchers, the Handbook of Narrative Inquiry: Mapping a Methodology is the first comprehensive and interdisciplinary overview of the developing methodology of narrative inquiry. The Handbook outlines the historical development and philosophical underpinnings of narrative inquiry as well as describes different forms of narrative inquiry. This one-of-a-kind volume offers an emerging map of the field and encourages further dialogue, discussion, and experimentation as the field continues to develop. Key Features: Offers coverage of various disciplines and viewpoints from around the world: Leading international contributors draw upon narrative inquiry as conceptualized in Anthropology, Sociology, Psychology, and Philosophy.Illustrates the range of forms of narrative inquiry: Both conceptual and practical in-depth descriptions of narrative inquiry are presented.
This edited collection unpacks the interactional dynamics of qualitative research interviews from studies conducted in education, second language acquisition, applied linguistics and disability studies from scholars in the UK, USA, Italy, Portugal and Korea. These studies explore the interactional details of how the identities of researchers and their participants matter for the generation of interview data, as well as the kinds of discursive resources and social actions that occur in tandem with the production of data for research projects. Given the widespread use of qualitative interviews for social research, this book provides a robust contribution to what Tim Rapley has called the “social studies of interviewing.” This book is relevant to audiences across disciplines who use the interview as a primary research method.
Videos, Dissertations, and Resources Outside of QML's Databases
Here are some tips for finding and adding to your guide resources not hosted in QML's databases.
Videos: QML does offer two video streaming services, both of which you may browse and request additions to. However, you will likely find what you need on popular sites like YouTube. In most case, those videos can be embedded onto your libguides page. Librarians can assist with that. We also have information on this site to assist in Creating Citations for Videos.
Dissertations: QML does not provide access to any dissertation databases. However, we are able to track down full texts of most dissertations upon request. The most popular dissertation database is ProQuest, most of whose holdings can be searched here. Once you've discovered metadata for a dissertation you would like to read, email the library to request access.
Any articles or chapters from anywhere: If you want to include an article, chapter, or whatever resource that is not openly accessible online, the library can help. First of all, we can secure a pdf of the resource for you. Secondly, we can host that file in Populi, so that any user of your guide who is an SWC student or community member can access the resource in a single click. Please don't hesitate to seek and find resources outside of the library's holdings, and when the time comes to integrate them into your guide, email us. And of course, if you want to link to any resource that is freely available online, link away.
Article Database Tutorials
If you're having issues accessing or navigating Taylor & Francis or would like tips on searching, finding related articles, and more, please review the info and video tutorials below.
Get help accessing QML's Taylor & Francis database
Not sure how to get started with accessing and searching our database of academic articles? This brief tutorial will help.
Learn how to find citations for articles
Need an APA formatted citation for an article to include in your paper or annotated bibliography? This video explains how to find it, in Taylor & Francis.
Learn about effective practices for using the Taylor & Francis Database
This video breaks down tips for effectively and efficiently utilizing the Taylor & Francis database for research. Topics such as narrowing and refining your search, locating related search terms, and accessing database functions are covered here. For additional help with the use of this or any other database, contact us at askthelibrary@swc.edu, to ask any questions or schedule a one-on-one help session.
This is an example of how you can build your search using the commands known as Boolean Operators.
The first part of running a successful search is to isolate the keywords from your question that you will need in your search.
Combining search terms with AND:
A search in PubMed for "art therapy" yields 2,500 results
A search in PubMed for "art therapy" AND cancer yields 340 results
Combining search terms with OR:
A search in PubMed for terminal yields 677,429 results
A search in PubMed for terminal OR hospice yields 712,005 results
Combining search terms with NOT
A search in PubMed for therapist yields 52,654 results
A search in PubMed for therapist NOT artist yields 52,570 results
Please keep in mind you usually don't want to start a search with NOT in it. You will most likely want to add NOT only in situations where you are finding an overwhelming amount of literature that specifically doesn't answer your questions because a term is being included too often.
Use Quotation Marks to:
This shows the search engine that you want the terms to be found together. The search will look for exactly what you place in the quotation marks, so be sure there are no mistakes.
A search in PubMed for art therapy yields 46,859 results
A search in PubMed for "art therapy" yields 2,590 results
Boolean operators are the commands that you can use in databases and search engines to specify exactly what you are looking for. These work so well because they are the coding language the developers use.
If you are having a hard time finding what you need, use the Boolean Operators outlined here to more efficiently search databases.
No matter where you are searching - the catalog, Google Scholar, a database you will want to use Boolearn Operators to refine your search to your specifications.
We are indebted to the Butler University Library's And/Or/Not box and to the Sarah Lawrence Create a Search Using Commands box for some of the content displayed here.
Ebook Database Tutorials
If you're having issues accessing or navigating EBSCOhost or would like tips on searching, saving pages, downloading, and more, please review the info and video tutorials below.
Get help accessing QML's EBSCOhost database
Need a hand getting started with using EBSCOhost? This tutorial will help.
Most ebooks we provide via EBSCOhost allow users to download to PDF between 30 and 100 pages per session. This is a great feature for retaining sections of ebooks for offline access, note-taking, sharing, and printing. The tutorial below will show you how to do this.
You can also download an ebook in its entirety (for temporary offline access). Here's how:
Need the APA style citation for an ebook? Here's how to get it, from EBSCOhost.
Learn how to access QML's online audiobooks
In addition to ebooks, QML offers remote access to a growing collection of audiobooks. This tutorial details how to access audiobooks and download them to your devices for anywhere listening: