Depression: Home

This text uses an integrative view to explore the etiology of depression, its development, and maintenance and highlights contemporary unified psychotherapy approaches. The text includes case examples that illustrate how to use integrated and unified psychotherapy approaches to help patients with depressive disorders. Dr. Koenigsberg demonstrates how research-based approaches may be used to treat individuals with different types of depressive disorders, such as major depressive disorder, persistent depressive disorder, bipolar disorder, cyclothymia, and adjustment disorder with depression. It encourages therapists to recognize that the complex themes of the depressive disorders may be more fully realized within the context of integrated and unified psychotherapy perspectives. This text is essential for early-career and seasoned therapists, graduate students, and psychotherapy researchers who wish to explore the past and contemporary history of psychotherapy approaches in order to understand the depressive disorders.

We all share identical properties that mark us out as human beings. Even so, every person is unique: we are not clones. It's the same with depression - or perhaps more properly the depressions (plural) - because they manifest in so many different ways and under different circumstances yet in essence remain the same. This is a simple enough observation, yet there appears to be little understanding of the condition - or conditions - among the general public, who tend to lump together all states of'feeling miserable'into something to be snapped out of, a disease category to be treated medically, or a feebleness of personality to be disapproved of and dismissed. In this book many different views on causation and treatment are explored. The emphasis is on real people's experiences from all aspects of the depressions - sufferers, helpers, family and friends - not a self-help work but an all-encompassing aid to understanding this common condition.

This book is a comprehensive compilation of expert knowledge on arts therapies'potential in successfully addressing depression. The book identifies ways of addressing the condition in therapy sessions, shares experience of tools and approaches which seem to work best and guides towards a conscious and confident evidence-based practice. Including contributions from international experts in the field of arts therapies, the book presents some of the most recent, high-profile and methodologically diverse research, whether in the form of clinical trials, surveys or case studies. The three sections of this volume correspond to particular life stages and explore major topics in arts therapies practice and the nature of depression in children, adults and in later life. Individual chapters within the three sections represent all four arts therapies disciplines. The book hopes to improve existing arts therapies practice and research, by encouraging researchers to use creativity in designing meaningful research projects and empowering practitioners to use evidence creatively for the benefit of their clients and the discipline.

In this book, depression is explored as a form of loss that manifests itself as an inability to connect with others, to narrate one's own existence, to derive meaning from life experiences, and ultimately, to symbolically represent one's inner world. This loss has the capacity to evolve into a chronic condition that can be seen as a form of subjective darkness. A hermeneutic, interpretative phenomenological approach is used that seeks to preserve the individual voices of each narrative, while embedding their stories in theoretical and current literature on depression. The clinical cases of five individuals are used to elucidate some common characteristics of depressive experience. Themes of loss, death, darkness, the intergenerational transmission of trauma, and unmetabolized pain are explored through a psychoanalytic lens that seeks to shed light on the underlying dynamics of chronic depression.

Based on cognitive behavioural psychotherapy, this resource book describes how to treat mild to moderate depression. Aimed at the professional with little or no experience of treating depression, it provides detailed instructions on recognising a client's profile of depression, identifying dysfunctional thinking patterns and following through the ten steps for treatment. The methods described can be used with clients exhibiting mild to moderate depression in most therapeutic situations and also for people suffering from severe depression if they are in an in-patient setting. This book is divided into three parts. Part 1 contains basic information about depression, cognitive therapy and other approaches to treatment; Part 2 gives practical guidance in 10 steps to help clients overcome depression; and Part 3 provides additional information about sub-types of depression, drug treatment and the management of suicide and self-harm. Each step has handouts that can be photocopied and given to the client. It is suitable for use with groups as well as individuals.

Postpartum depression (PPD) is a serious mental health condition referring to depressive episodes beginning after childbirth. Recognizing the importance of depression occurring both in pregnancy and postpartum, currently, the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual for Mental Disorders-Fifth Edition classifies a depression with a peripartum onset as a depressive episode beginning during pregnancy or within the first four weeks after birth. This book provides new research on the prevalence, risk factors and outcomes that postpartum depression has on birth-givers.

This is a philosophical exploration of what it is like to be depressed. Author Matthew Ratcliffe develops a detailed account of depression experiences by drawing on work in phenomenology, philosophy of mind, and several other disciplines. In so doing, he makes clear how phenomenological research can contribute to psychiatry, by helping us to better understand patients'experiences, as well as informing classification, diagnosis, and treatment. Throughout the book, Ratcliffe also emphasizes the relevance of depression to philosophical enquiry. He proposes that, by reflecting on how experiences of depression differ from'healthy'forms of experience, we can refine our understanding of both. Hence phenomenological research of this kind has much wider applicability. He further shows how the study of depression experiences can inform philosophical approaches to a range of topics, including interpersonal understanding and empathy, free will, the experience of time, the nature of emotion and feeling, what it is to believe something, and what it is to hope.

This book is the culmination of fifteen years of the author's research into dyslexia. As a dyslexic himself, the author grew up with many difficulties in dealing with both family and school life. As an adult he wanted to understand more about dyslexia, how it affects individuals and be better prepared if dyslexia affected his own children. So he began an academic study of the emotional effects, rather than educational interventions, based on the collection of the neurological deficit symptoms defined as dyslexia. The book begins by reviewing the cause and effects of depression, starting from anxiety and leading through defensive mechanisms to depression. Parallels were made to other learning disability groups who also suffer from depression, suggesting that groups that experience exclusion from mainstream society are at higher risk of depression. The book also investigates dyslexia, by reviewing past empirical research into its symptoms and diagnosis, into how it affects individuals at school, at home and lastly in the workplace.

Pediatric Collections offers what you need to know - original, focused research in a snapshot approach. Depression is a major health concern confronting children, teens, and young adults, and trends in suicidal ideation or attempts indicate worsening mental health problems for these age groups. With a shortage of mental health specialists, more pediatricians and allied health professionals find themselves on the front lines identifying depression and suicide risk. This collection provides evidence-based guidelines for identification, assessment, treatment and ongoing management of adolescent depression and outlines the importance of screening teens for depressive symptoms and suicide risk.

Interpersonal Psychotherapy-Adolescent Skills Training (IPT-AST) is a program that teaches communication and interpersonal problem-solving skills to improve relationships and prevent the development of depression in adolescents. IPT-AST was developed to be delivered in schools and other community settings where adolescents are most likely to receive services, with the hope that IPT-AST can help prevent depression and other problem behaviors before they become more severe. Preventing Adolescent Depression: Interpersonal Psychotherapy-Adolescent Skills Training provides a detailed description of the program to guide mental health practitioners to implement IPT-AST. Session-by-session descriptions specify the structure and content of each session. Examples of how group leaders can discuss specific topics are provided throughout the book, and the appendix includes session outlines, communication notecards, cue cards, and more.

This book addresses the use of psychodynamic psychotherapy, both alone and in combination with cognitive-behavioral, interpersonal, and medication treatments, as a method for reducing the psychological vulnerabilities that may predispose patients to persistent symptoms or recurrence of depression. Thoroughly revised and with new material, the second edition reflects changes codified in the DSM-5 classification and is intended for use by students, residents, or clinicians who are trained in the practice of psychotherapy. The authors'extensive clinical experience is thoroughly mined to provide techniques for tailoring the psychodynamic psychotherapeutic approach to patients with depression, and important topics such as narcissistic injury and vulnerability, guilt, defense mechanisms, and suicidality are addressed. The book is written in an accessible style and structured logically to support the acquisition and enhancement of psychotherapeutic skills through the systematic exploration of the psychodynamic model of depression.

Depression is second after heart disease as the most damaging health condition in the world. The NHS has devoted huge resources to training thousands of psychological therapists to work in'Improving Access to Psychological Therapies'services specifically to treat depression in adults and couple therapy has been identified as one of the effective ways of treating it. Couple Therapy for Depression is an integrative 20-session couple therapy designed to treat depression in couples where there is also relationship distress. Following the recommendations of the UK's National Institute for Clinical Excellence for a behaviourally-based couple therapy treatment, it draws on RCT studies of efficacy as well as'best practice'in behavioural, cognitive, emotionally-focused, systemic, and psychodynamic couple therapies. Sticking closely to the competencies identified for the treatment of depression and relationship distress in couples, it outlines the ways in which couple therapists can reduce damaging interactions between couples, build emotional openness and closeness, improve communication and behaviour, change unhelpful cognitions and perceptions, and help the couple cope with the ordinary and not-so ordinary stresses that arise in the course of everyday relating.

What if depression could lead to positive change? Written by acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT) cofounder Kirk Strosahl and Patricia Robinson, this revised edition of the best-selling classic, The Mindfulness and Acceptance Workbook for Depression includes updated research on self-compassion, mindfulness, and neuroscience to help you live a more meaningful life. If you suffer from depression, you may feel like you are living under a perpetual raincloud, even when it's sunny outside. If left untreated, clinical depression can damage relationships, cause problems at work, lead to substance abuse, and even make it more difficult to overcome physical illnesses. You may feel too tired and scared to reach out for help, or you may try to avoid your feelings altogether. But you should know that there are little, effective ways you can overcome your depression, one day at a time.This fully revised and updated second edition of The Mindfulness and Acceptance Workbook for Depression will show you how changing daily behaviors and practicing new mindfulness skills can literally reshape your brain.

This book examines theoretical aspects of depression, its symptoms and risk factors, ageing, old age and the elderly, the families of depressed old people, and practical aspects resulting from quantitative and qualitative research on a significant sample of old people from the point of view of the main psycho-social factors involved in depression in the elderly: sudden retirement, losses (of the partner, of the adult child, of social status, of health), poverty, loneliness, and social isolation. This book will appeal to a wide and diversified range of professionals, such as social workers, psychologists, doctors, academics, researchers, priests and students, as well as people aged over 50 and families willing to help their ageing relatives avoid depression. The book will be of use to both professionals in the field of social work and for people preparing to make a step forward in life.

Identifying risk factors for suicidal ideation (SI) is necessary for suicide prevention. Associations between self-reported physical activity (PA) and sedentary time and SI in the general population have been found. The current study examines these associations in adults with major depressive disorder (MDD) using objective measures of PA and sedentary time.

Suicide-loss survivors (SLSs) are recognised as an at-risk population for several psychiatric complications, including complicated grief (CG) and depression (SI). However, whereas shame is known as one of the characteristics of this population, knowledge about possible psychological processes which may moderate the contribution of shame levels to CG and depression in the aftermath of suicide loss is sparse. This study examines the role of self-disclosure – the inclination to share personal information with others – as a possible moderator of the associations of shame with CG and shame with depression over time.

Depression has a high prevalence throughout the world, and its management and recovery still constitute a challenge for mental health professionals. The aim of the study was to characterize the subjective experience of recovery from depression based on the perspective of those who suffer from it. Forty participants from two South American countries, who had been or were currently being treated for depression, took part in semi-structured and in-depth interviews. Most participants were female (78%), with ages ranging from 22 to 63 years. Interviews were analyzed using Grounded Theory, creating a hierarchy of categories that represent participants’ experience of recovery. The categories were subsequently organized around an emergent central phenomenon.

This research aims to illuminate health disparities between people with depression and those without. A sample of 27,164 people without depression and 3,797 people with self-reported depression were selected from the 2013 BRFSS. The results indicate that people with depression have higher odds of having chronic diseases and smoking but lower odds of eating fruits. Despite a higher insured rate of people with depression, more of them experienced financial barriers to health care due to the cost. People with depression had a higher odds of having health insurance, having a healthcare provider, and experiencing financial barriers to healthcare.

This study investigated the relationship between perceived parental vulnerable and grandiose narcissism and scapegoating, and the impact of these on the symptoms of anxiety and depression in emerging adults. Results indicated that higher perceived paternal grandiose narcissism had a direct effect on anxiety and depression, whereas perceived maternal vulnerable narcissism, perceived paternal vulnerable narcissism, and perceived maternal grandiose narcissism had indirect effects on anxiety and depression via scapegoating.

The COVID-19 pandemic has had a large impact on global mental health including anxiety and depression rates, many factors affected the vulnerability to these psychological conditions amongst university students. This article aimed to explore the level of anxiety and depression of university students living in Jordan. A cross-sectional study design was conducted in which an electronic survey was created and distributed, university students residing in Jordan participated in the study. With 46% and 24% of students suffering from abnormal anxiety and depression respectively, it is important for education policy makers to take immediate measures to allocate students in need of psychological assessment and help to deliver suitable interventions.

Appraisal theories predict that emotional experiences are tightly linked to context appraisals. However, depressed people tend to perceive a variety of emotional events more negatively and stressfully and their emotional experience has been described as context insensitive. This raises the question: how different is the intensity of context appraisals from related emotion experiences among depressed relative to healthy people? Surprisingly, we do not know how cohesive intensity of context appraisals and emotional experiences are in depression. In this study, we assessed differences in intensity of context appraisals and emotional experiences across 1634 daily events during three days within and between depressed participants (N = 41) and healthy controls (N = 33) using linear mixed models. Models compared intensities of stressfulness and unpleasantness appraisals to the intensity of negative affect, and intensity of pleasantness appraisals to the intensity of positive affect. Our findings partially supported our predictions of lower cohesiveness in depression: while intensities of pleasantness appraisals and positive affect were more alike among control participants, intensities of unpleasantness and stressfulness appraisals were more similar to the intensities of negative affect in the depressed group. Current work suggests that hedonic dysfunction in depression is possibly driven by a loosely tied positive context appraisal-emotion experience process.

This paper brings together concepts, tools, and case examples that provide guidance for ways to use process-oriented clinical hypnosis to shift perfectionistic tendencies to help resolve depression and enhance well-being. Perfectionism is a transdiagnostic risk factor for clinical and subclinical suffering of many types including depression. Over time, perfectionism is becoming more widespread. Perfectionism-related depression can be effectively treated when clinician attention is directed toward core skills and themes. Case examples illustrate how to help clients moderate overly extreme thinking, create and use realistic standards, and develop and apply a balanced self-evaluation. A variety of clinician styles and approaches, especially when tailored to individual client characteristics, preferences, and needs, are compatible with process-oriented hypnotic interventions for perfectionism and depression.

Adults with chronic pain have a lower quality of life (QOL) compared to the general population. Chronic pain requires specialized treatment to address the multitude of factors that contribute to an individual’s pain experience, and effectively managing pain requires a biopsychosocial approach to improve patients’ QOL. This study examined adults with chronic pain after a year of specialized treatment to determine the role of cognitive markers (i.e., pain catastrophizing, depression, pain self-efficacy) in predicting changes in QOL. Findings highlight the roles of cognitive and affective factors and their impact on QOL in adults with chronic pain. Understanding the psychological factors that predict increased mental QOL is clinically useful, because medical teams can optimize these positive changes in QOL through psychosocial interventions aimed at improving patients’ pain self-efficacy.

Manual-based phenomenological art therapy (PATd) was developed to facilitate recovery from depression. The study’s aim was to investigate whether improvements were maintained 6 months after PATd was completed. In a randomized controlled study design, persons diagnosed with moderate or severe depression (n = 85) were invited to take part; n = 79 participated and were allocated either to intervention (n = 43) or control (n = 36). The control group received treatment as usual, while the intervention received PATd in addition to treatment as usual. Wilcoxon Signed Rank tests, t-tests, and regression models were employed. Reduced depression, improvements in self-esteem, suicide ideation, and returning to work were sustained in the 6-month follow-up. This study indicates that PATd supports more rapid recovery, while improvement is sustained over time.

This study examined the impact of art-based life review on depression symptoms among older adults (N = 54). This is the first study to examine the impact of drawing among Iranian older adults. Participants were randomly assigned to either an experimental art group of 6 weekly sessions or a control group of the same duration; both groups participated in various leisure activities. Intervention goals focused on reducing depression symptoms. Short- and long-term effects of the drawing interventions were analyzed and compared with the controls. Participants were shown to have a decrease in depression symptoms after the art sessions, supporting the need for increased access to opportunties for arts engagement and access to art therapy services among older adults in Iran.

This book gives voice to women globally about the epidemic of depression and trauma women of color suffer in silence due to the continued stigma attached to seeking and receiving mental health treatment. As a psychotherapist and woman of color, Clack makes it her mission to create a space in this world where women can speak about vulnerabilities and fears without fear of judgement or emotional consequences; a place where generational curses are spoken and broken.

Every day, we’re bombarded with pressure to be positive. From “good vibes only” and “life is good” memes, to endless advice, to “look on the bright side,” we’re constantly told that the key to happiness is silencing negativity wherever it crops up, in ourselves and in others. Even when faced with illness, loss, breakups, and other challenges, there’s little space for talking about our real feelings—and processing them so that we can feel better and move forward. But if all this positivity is the answer, why are so many of us anxious, depressed, and burned out?

First conceptualized by D.W. Winnicott, holding in this book refers to a therapist’s capacity to respond to postpartum distress in a way that facilitates an immediate and successful therapeutic alliance. Readers will learn how to contain high levels of agitation, fear, and panic in a way that cultivates trust and the early stages of connectedness. Also addressed through vignettes are personality types that make holding difficult, styles of ineffective holding, and how to modify holding techniques to accommodate the individual woman. A must-read for postpartum professionals, the techniques learned in this book will help clients achieve meaningful and enduring recovery.

Here Rawley Silver draws on her years of experience using therapeutic art with hearing-impaired children, stroke patients, and others with learning disabilities or emotional disturbances. The book’s original art assessments use stimulus drawings to elicit responses that provide access to a patient’s emotions and attitudes toward themselves and others, while also testing for the ability to solve problems and convey ideas. Offering tools to assess cognitive skills that often escape detection on verbal tests of intelligence or achievement, the book helps in identifying those at risk for violent behavior or masked depression. Thoroughly updated from Silver’s earlier works, this book includes techniques to assess aggression and depression that may lead to violence in schools and suicide among children and adolescents.

This workbook includes: Exercises for healing and self-discovery—75 strategic art therapy activities offer new opportunities for self-expression and tools for coping with mood and personality disorders. Supportive prompts and interactions—Each exercise includes an explanation of its purpose and potential outcomes along with a series of insightful post-activity questions. Judgment-free guidance—Learn the basics of different artistic techniques and mediums, like drawing, painting, and sculpting—no previous art experience necessary. Helpful supply lists and tips—Includes a complete list of the art supplies you'll need for each art therapy project and advice on creating your own healing space.

This new mood management toolbox brings together the powers of mindfulness, CBT, and positive psychology for teens to take control of their distressing thoughts and over-the-top emotions. With over 30 years of clinical experience, Dr. Jeffrey Bernstein shares high-impact tools for teens' biggest demands -- school, social connections, body-image, and family dynamics. Inside you'll find 150 downloadable activities and worksheets to take control of:
-Confidence and self-esteem
-Overwhelming assignments
-Schedule demands
-Friend drama and pressure
-Body-image struggles
-Test anxiety
-Self-sabotaging behaviors
-Family frustration and conflicts

This is a guidebook for teenagers who are depressed or at risk for depression, full of useful information, helpful self-reflection quizzes, and easy-to-do exercises. This guide discusses depression and provides guidance on cognitive--behavioral therapy principles to help teens take a problem-solving, strategy-based approach to deal with depressed moods, thoughts, and behavior. Intended to serve as an adjunct to therapy, this is a very practical and easy-to-read book that is not overwhelming for teens.

This book features quick and highly accessible cognitive behavioral therapy strategies that can be used on an as-needed basis. Presented with simple and straightforward language, Cognitive Behavioral Therapy Made Simple encourages readers to succeed with practical explanations of 10 essential CBT principles―such as challenging negative thought patterns, behavioral activation, and overcoming procrastination.

This is a comic about dinosaurs navigating the complexities of life together. This wistful, honest and highly relatable account of modern life is a book of cartoons for grown-ups from the very successful web comic @dinosaurcouch. in each comic, dinosaur characters grapple with questions around the meaning of life and mental health, trying to make sense of the world and cope with their own place in it.

This book offers brief, practical guidance on the recognition and management of postpartum mental health disorders, including depression, anxiety disorders, obsessive compulsive disorder (OCD), psychotic disorders, bipolar disorders, posttraumatic stress disorders, personality disorders and eating disorders. Written by experienced clinicians, chapters are organized into collections of case examples and are designed to provide at-a-glance information about diagnoses, treatment, and outcomes with advice on when to refer to a specialist. Each chapter also includes an assessment tool to assist with diagnosis and a list of risk factors for developing postpartum disorders. An appendix of screening questionnaires is provided at the end of the book.